Teaser Tuesday Guest Post: Irene Monique

A true story. Cancer is real. Be aware. Be honest with yourself. Your health matters.
Part 1
It became real for me in October 2014.
I’m 34 and I have cancer. I’ve never been married or had a child. But I’m facing my mortality through this diagnosis. I haven’t lived yet. There are so many unfulfilled dreams and successes unrealized. Maybe they will never be…
OK, maybe I’m being a bit dramatic. Cancer is no longer a death sentence right? Yet during the time of my diagnosis I notice in the headlines that a young woman in her 30’s and a man in his 50’s have been taken by this disease.
Sure there have been a lot of great advancements in the past 10 to 20 years when it comes to fighting cancer but it’s risky. The treatments alone, deadly chemicals and radiation contact are required in most cases, let alone a surgical procedure to remove it, if needed.
When I found out I had cancer, in the back of my mind I knew I had it. A lump showed up and it wasn’t looking good. My biggest challenge was trying to get medical help. I went to a free clinic and applied for health care twice. The second time I was accepted. But this whole process took over two months. By then my tumor had become very large, very fast. My breast had deceived me. I had lumps in that breast already. I had become accustomed to them. Getting a mammogram a year earlier I was told there was no cancer but I should keep an eye on it. So  I thought I was in the clear. The last thing I needed or wanted was cancer. There is the devastating worry, plus the fact I had no insurance to provide me with care. It seemed like an automatic death sentence for me.
You don’t know how much I thanked God for that letter in the mail, telling me I was accepted for the Healthy Michigan Plan through President Obama’s administration. There was a chance for me to end this cancer, a chance for me to live.
Leave a Reply

