Thankful Challenge: Day 29

A Higher Power

diana-goddess-of-the-huntI can’t end this month without giving thanks to my higher power. I honor all of the unseen hands working my life each day. I give an offering of thanks to the wisdom and knowledge imparted upon me every day. Each day is a gift and I will honor that with my thoughts, my prayers, and my voice.

Whether you are a Christian, a Buddhist, Hindu, a Muslim, or a Pagan, it’s my personal belief that there is something sacred in every religion. That’s why I fall under the “eclectic” category. I believe there’s value in all faiths and I take pieces of those faiths to live my life; to seek my truth.

It’s time to stop being bigoted and narrow-minded. All that does is cause division. If we can truly embrace religious freedom, then we have to realize that in doing so we have to embrace ALL faiths. That doesn’t seem to be something that’s possible.

Wars are started for two primary reasons: money and religion. They serve as a foundation for uniting people against one another. That’s not how it’s supposed to be. We’re supposed to be living in harmony. Now I sound like a hippie, but it’s true. You may not see eye-to-eye with me on my views, but that doesn’t mean that I deserve to be persecuted.

Many religions rule through fear. That is a very effective tool for controlling the masses. I’ve never been one to appreciate control, so I usually end up rebelling. However, there are some faiths that do not use that tool. There are some viewpoints that use love of earth, love of life, and love of humanity to call people in.

So, today is a day for me to be humbled by the powers that I do not understand, yet they welcome me and educate me. Today is the day I offer up thanks to guiding hands and caring spirits. So mote it be!

Leave a Reply

