Teaser Tuesday: Voice of the Dead

VOD 3-d“What happened to you in the woods today? Not just today, but at every crime scene we’ve been to, something happens to you. You go off by yourself, and then when you return, you look like you’ve had the life sucked right out of you. You told me you would tell me.”

“You want to talk about this now?”

“I want to know.”

She heaved a sigh and then stood and walked to the bed, sitting down beside him with her back resting against the headboard. Inside of her, the defenses began flying up.

She hadn’t talked about her abilities with anyone outside her family. Her mother talked about it with her a lot and then once she died, Annie encouraged it. She never told Chelsey or Selina–or anyone else. Visions and voices meant emotional instability and for a nationally respected forensic psychologist, it meant sure destruction of a career and credibility.

Nick’s tone became angry. “You’re shutting down. I can see it in your face.” He paused. “Why do you do this, Doc? I still don’t understand you sometimes.” He watched for a response, but she didn’t say anything. “I’ve talked to you about things that happened to me in the Gulf more than I’ve ever talked to anyone–even Jillian. I’ve trusted you with thoughts that I’ve never trusted anyone with, but you still shut me out.”

She sighed as tears brimmed in her eyes.

“Please, Lauren, let me in. I won’t hurt or betray you or judge you. Tell me what’s going on.”

Dropping her head, she looked down at her hands as they began trembling. “I don’t really know where to start.”

“The beginning is always a good place,” he encouraged as he took one of her hands into his.

Leave a Reply

