Piercing Journal: Entry 5

Okay, so I’m going to share with you things that DID NOT work for me when treating this stupid scar tissue on my nose. Perhaps someone out there is frustrated, just like me, and wondering if there is an end to this madness.

WHAT DIDN’T WORK:

  • LITHA: In case you don’t know what this means, it stands for “leave it the hell alone.” Every time I looked up a “bump” or “scar” solution post, that is what I saw. That doesn’t work for me. When I left it the hell alone, didn’t clean under the jewelry, and didn’t touch it, things didn’t go so well. The bump arrived and got bigger.
  • SEA SALT SOAKS ALONE: SSS are the #1 recommendation for healing piercings. In fact the big shots at the Association of Professional Piercers swear by this method. Here’s the problem. Salt is extremely drying, which is wonderful for people with oily skin. However, if your piercing becomes too dry, you’re going to have some serious problems. Making your own SSS mix is really a great way to save cash. I realized that I couldn’t use the recommended recipe and had to add a little more distilled water to the solution.
  • CHAMOMILE TEA ALONE: Although this worked wonders for reducing the size of the bump, the scar tissue still didn’t go completely away. That’s what my “bump” was and is. It isn’t an infection. It is stubborn hypertrophic scarring. The other thing I noticed is that when I used this, my nose got a little runny, which tells me I have a slight allergy to ragweed. If you have a severe allergy, this method will be bad all the way around.
  • SCAR CREAM: My skin flared up like Rudolph.
  • SALINE WOUND WASH: This was the recommendation of my piercer, and I totally trust and respect him. However, this wasn’t enough for me either. It did great for a while, but it just didn’t do the trick.
  • SIMPLE RINSING IN THE SHOWER: Nope. Not a chance this worked. Bump came and didn’t leave.

Do you want to know what scar development feels like? At first it burns and itches. Then it is just this abnormal, strange sensation. You can tell when your skin is in rebellion just because of the weird feeling in the place the “bump” has been causing issues.

If you read my previous post, you know I started using Vitamin E oil. I have been putting it on at bedtime and sometimes during the day if I know I don’t have to go anywhere. It is SLOW going. The little piece of tissue seems to be smaller and then about halfway through the day it seems to pop its pink, little, ugly head back up. I think it is a reaction to the fact that the “object” is still in my nostril. My body keeps telling my skin, “Hey, get rid of that thing, no matter what it takes.” Shut up body! J/K

On Tuesday night I added some Tea Tree Oil to the Vitamin E mask mix. I have read article after article about TTO and the benefits of shrinking and destroying scar tissue. When I woke up Wednesday, I did notice that the tissue has diminished a bunch, but by afternoon my body was at it again with, “Come on! Let’s over produce collagen!” Although, I must admit, the overproduction wasn’t as bad.

There are mixed reviews on the benefits of TTO and Vitamin E, especially in piercing forums. Everyone there just says, “Leave it alone and it will go away,” “Give it some time, it will shrink.” People, a scar is a scar. That means it stays around long after the wound is healed. It’s a reminder that you did something to your body to make it hate you. I have scars from surgeries, cuts, scraps, and all sorts of things. I even have a cat scratch scar that I got when I was a junior in high school. It’s still on my skin and I’m 40 now.

TTO is said to be too harsh to use straight. I believe that, which is why I use Vitamin E as a carrier. And Vitamin E is very nourishing, and no matter what’s going on with the skin, it has healing properties. Someone in a forum said, “It’s oil. It’s not going to do a damn thing.” Well, let’s give it a try rather than yanking my piercing out.

I’ve come to two conclusions with the battle of the scar…

By August, I will have had the piercing for 4 full months. Most aftercare sheets indicate that it takes 4 to 6 months for full-fledged healing to happen. Like I said, since I’m diabetic, it will probably be 6 freakin’ months. You are supposed to continue with Sea Salt Soaks, or other recommended aftercare, the entire time due to risk of infection and to simply irrigate the area, removing any impurities.

If I am still dealing with the scar by August, I am going to monitor it without doing any extra care. Simply washing it in the morning and at night with Dr. Bronner’s soap. No more SSS. No more anything. I will probably continue with the Vitamin E oil just because it is so beneficial to the skin. If the scar gets bigger or doesn’t disappear, I’m not going to have a choice but to take out the titanium stud. I can’t keep doing this. I don’t want to keep doing this. I can live with a small scar, no problem. But if it gets bigger, as it often does if I DO NOT do sea salt soaks at least once a day, I’m done with it. I’m not a quitter, but this is insane. As I said, most of the articles I’ve read say that the scar eventually goes away if you just “leave it alone.” Who the hell knows if that is true? Personally and from a medical standpoint, I’m not sure there is any truth to that.

Aspirin paste and silicon gel would be my next experiment. After I’ve exhausted all remedies, there’s not much else I can do. Like I said, I am okay with a tiny, microscopic scar that can be covered by make-up, but if it gets angry and big, I’m so done.

So, there you have it. I’m super frustrated and losing my patience. I’ll keep updating this blog if for no other reason than to help some poor soul who types in “nose piercing bump” in a general search engine.

 

2 responses to “Piercing Journal: Entry 5

  1. Hi Tracee,
    kudos for perseverance. Vitamin E oil is great, great for skin and for scaring. Tea tree oil is another good one to add. Becca had a very bad toe nail infection which docs said, oh it will go away on it`s own, i put tea tree oil on it and guess what it went away without pain.

    • TTO is very good for fungal infections. There are certain topical body washes and such that folks use to treat those sorts of issues. I just hope it will work in concert with the SSS and vitamin E oil to get the hell rid of this crap! LOL!

Leave a Reply

