Piercing Journal Entry 4

Hiya! Well, I got inked again yesterday. I think I am now addicted. 13406870_10208805604531281_2540888256613998122_nI chose the wolf because Oakoe is my spirit animal. If you read one of my earlier posts, you know about my experience with meditation and Reiki. Well, I couldn’t think of a better way to symbolize my spirit animal. The blue represents the Dark Mistress from my book, BLESSING OF THE ELEMENTS, and how the moon gave the main character unlimited spiritual and physical power. AND this also is a great way to represent my own dog. He isn’t wolf-like (he is lab/German Shepherd mix), but he is my baby and I wanted something to show how much I love him. When he passes, I will put the date with this somehow. As most of you know he has cancer, but you wouldn’t know it by the way he acts.

The other thing is that one of the piercers at this particular shop advised me to use Vitamin E oil for the tiny piece of scar tissue around my piercing. I am using it along with chamomile soaks. They explained that the Sea Salt Soaks is so that the body won’t reject the piercing (who knew?).

I tried the scar cream and my piecing didn’t like it. It just goes to show you the difference in people and skin types. What some piercings will tolerate, others won’t. So, that’s a work in progress.

I am getting my last tattoo for the summer soon. I’ll start again next summer with fre13406868_10208788523984278_3563157704827550700_nsh ideas and things that symbolize things dearest to me. I’m trying to think of something to symbolize my husband, but I tread lightly there. I have heard horror stories surrounding names being tattooed and then break-ups occurring. I do have a photo of the tat I got to symbolize my son, though, and wanted to share it with you, too.

I have an album of Facebook as well as Pinterest filled with ideas about tats. Some of them are unbelievable with the detail and artistry. I absolutely love the raw talent of a tat artist. I’ve never seen anything quite like it.

I have been asked this by several people: “Are you having a midlife crisis?” The answer is “no.” My therapist was even worried until I explained it to her like this:

I’m 40, that’s true, and had never been inked before. I tried to get my nose pierced 4 other times and this is the first time it’s taken without serious complications. I wanted to get tattooed as a teenager, but wasn’t allowed to and was really heavily into church (as most of you here know by now), so that was a no-no. Then all of the jobs I had didn’t exactly like them, except for a few places I worked. The diabetes has held me back from doing so much, but it is well controlled without insulin. It’s time I started being who I am and quit trying to play the part of someone I’m not. I have always wanted piercings, tats, and my hair in more non-conventional shades. Dark make-up was also something I liked, but I didn’t do it because I was afraid. I had always been told that dark make-up “makes you look hard,” whatever the hell that is supposed to mean. (smh…) I’m not afraid anymore. I’m done with prim and proper. Inside I’ve always been a free spirit. It’s time to let that shine. I write adult horror after all. Maybe it’s time to let some of the darkness out; get some sunlight on it.

13325592_10208725097158647_8765301369317144491_nSo, to conclude, I’m sharing with you the Wonder Woman tat I’m getting in a few weeks.

Here’s the thing… I feel like WordPress is a positive community. I love reading your shares and your stories. So, I feel like I can share here as well. This is a safe place for me to show my true feelings and reveal myself, so I am thankful for that. Anyway, here’s my next and final tat for Summer 2016.

2 responses to “Piercing Journal Entry 4

Leave a Reply

