TEASER TUESDAY

SNIPPET FROM THE FINE LINE

Abstract background“Dr. Gregory, how good to see you,” the man said.

“Hello Jack. I have a reservation for two,” Matt answered politely.

“Right this way, sir.”

Robin took more from the short greeting than just common courtesy. Obviously, it wasn’t the first time Matt had been at the restaurant. She followed the tall man up a set of winding stairs. Behind her, Matt followed. At the top of the stairs a large room opened up with windows of glass on three sides. A chandelier hung in the middle of the room with a ballroom open for dancing. Candlelit tables peppered the room. The elegance overwhelmed her.

“My goodness.” she whispered,

She felt Matt’s hand on the small of her back.

“My brother, my sister-in-law, and I bring my mother here for every birthday. It’s her favorite restaurant.”

Robin nodded, relieved by his words. Fear and uncertainty always lurked in the dark recesses of her mind as she constantly questioned her worth. For so long she had looked for and needed someone like Matt to whisper positive words in her ear; to offer encouragement. She felt weak sometimes because of her need for Matt’s emotional support, but she also appreciated him. She realized he could possibly be the other half she searched for. The thought frightened her to her very core.

The gentleman seated them at a table overlooking the river. Quiet chatter throughout the room sounded like sweet music in Robin’s ears. Some patrons twirled on the dance floor.

Champagne arrived at the table first. Matt reached across the table to take Robin’s hands into his.

“I’m so proud of you,” he said with a brilliant smile, his eyes filled with light.

Her cheeks warmed. “Thanks.”

He reached up and gently touched her cheek.

“Do you know how beautiful you are when you blush? And you do it all of the time. I figured after a couple of months, the newness would wear off.”

“I’m blushing? I’m sorry,” she said as she dropped her head.

couple-dancing-0510-lg“Don’t be. It’s so becoming.” With his finger, he tilted her chin up. “You are worth complimenting, Robin. I know you have trouble believing that. And I understand why. You have so much to be proud of.”

After the exquisite meal, Robin looked around at the others in the large dining room. She admired the brave souls on the ballroom floor as they danced effortlessly. The orchestra music soothed her. She felt as if she were in an old film like the ones she had watched with her mother. All of this felt like a dream.

She continued watching the couples swirl about and only wished she could be so graceful. She had tried so many times to learn ballroom dancing, but she had always failed miserably.

“Dance with me,” Matt said as he patted his lips with the linen napkin.

Shock covered her face as she frowned. Shaking her head, she answered, “Oh, no, Matt, I can’t. You know I can’t.”

“It’s in the leading,” he said leaning over to her. “That’s my job, so as long as I don’t mess up, you should be fine.”

“Really, Matt, this is a bad idea.”

“Let’s live dangerously,” as his eyebrows raised and his eyes opened wider.

“Me dancing; that is dangerous.”

Her head dropped and when she looked up he stood beside her with his hand outstretched.

“M’Lady, will you do me the distinguished honor of dancing with me?”

She stood and took his hand.

“Don’t say I didn’t warn you. It’s your feet.”

One response to “TEASER TUESDAY

Leave a Reply

