Muddy Waters Confuse Folks, So Let Me Be Clear

First of all, I want to set the record straight. I have in no way offered anyone anything for voting. If anyone has followed this blog you know that THE FINE LINE has been up on Smashwords almost the entire month of January. I started an event to bring awareness to the voting process I’ve been posting about all week long. Inside that event, I made folks aware of the freebie on Smashwords. I gave box sets away to close friends, whether they voted or not. It didn’t matter to me. It doesn’t matter to me.

I am saying all of this because someone complained that I was giving gifts in return for votes. First of all, I’m not a politician. I don’t do bribes. If you want to do something, do it. If not, that’s okay, too. It doesn’t matter to me. But, if you show support I am going to be kind to you, whether that’s giving you a free bookmark or a free book. That’s just who I am.

I have over 80 students that I teach. I have quite a few from last semester. I have relatives and friends. I even have other authors who lend support. If I am leading, it’s not because I offered anyone anything. I can’t help it.

So, as a PSA, if at any time you felt you were being asked to do something just to get something in return, erase that from your mind. That’s not how I roll. I don’t appreciate jealousy and hypocrisy. It is very offensive and it hurts. If you don’t support me, kindly leave. If you do support me, stay. Because, I’ll be real honest with ya… I don’t know who is out there trying to bury me. Call me paranoid, but anytime you’re pulled out of line, it has to start somewhere.

2 responses to “Muddy Waters Confuse Folks, So Let Me Be Clear

  1. I am so sorry your kindness and generosity has resulted in jealousy somewhere out there. Many authors I know give freebies. They are listed as yours was – on a public site somewhere – and they let folks know how to access it. This is known as being wonderful. I’ve loved being able to get to read new authors or access my favorite authors for free. I have a very limited budget so this helps me tremendously. I despise people who mistake kindness for some type of nefariousness. Of course, these people are only seeing what THEY would do. These folks would probably never consider giving anything of value away – they would only give something away when they could GET something of more value (to them) in return. They don’t recognize true kindness when they see it because it doesn’t exist in themselves. Thank you for being a good person. I, for one, understand the gesture for what it was. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for commenting. I am so appreciative. I have since walked away from the associations responsible for the drama over the weekend. I just cannot deal with it. I simply don’t have the time, patience, or tolerance.

Leave a Reply

