Teaser Tuesday

11039514_10153108166348959_639178523_o (2)Olivia felt comfortable enough with Lauren to explain about her past. She spoke of her abuse growing up, how wonderful her parents were, her siblings, the darkness she lived through, and her near death experience.

“Besides my friend Sarah,” Olivia said, “the instant connect with you gives me confidence that there are still people out there that can accept me.”

“Daniel accepts you.”

“He is a good partner and a good friend.”

“Does he know what you can do?”

“No. I can’t tell him. It’s too soon, and he’ll probably ask for me to be transferred to the psych unit at OSU,” she said with a smile.

“You’d be surprised at what a man can accept when he cares about you. Nick surprised me.”

“But you were in love.”

“We weren’t always. I hated him when I first met him. He was annoying and brash and pompous. He didn’t like me very much either, but we connected when we let those walls fall. You still have them built up quite high.”

“They keep me safe, I guess. And they keep Amelia safe.”
“Someday, you’ll have to lower those walls, you know. Take it from someone who knows firsthand.”

“I’m not sure I know how to.”

“You will when the right person comes along. You have to be brave enough to let someone behind that wall. Then you have to be braver still to let them take each brick in the wall down, seeing exactly who you are.”

Her eyes filled with tears. “I don’t know if I can ever do that, Lauren.”

“I believe you can and you will. I think you’ll do great things and I think you’ll find someone to share in those things with you.”

2 responses to “Teaser Tuesday

Leave a Reply

