Teaser Tuesday

Abstract backgroundHalloween approached. Robin and Matt decided to let Olivia throw a Halloween Party at the house for her friends at school. In preparation for such a grand occasion, Robin took Olivia to the local party supply store.

As Olivia stood in the aisle, Robin observed her closely. She talked to herself. Quietly, she listened as she hid on the other side of the aisle.

“I can’t help you right now. I’m shopping,” she whispered. She paused.
“I don’t know. I’m kind of new at this. Yes, I see you, but I’m in a store.” She paused again. “I can’t help you right now.”

Robin didn’t say anything to Olivia. From what she read in books about such things, however, she believed she understood what was happening. The trauma of the sexual abuse opened up a pathway for Olivia; a part of her brain and her soul that lay dormant until now. Robin believed Olivia possessed special abilities. She knew Olivia could see and communicate with the dead and she also knew Matt would never understand.

As they made their way home in the Jeep, Robin knew the subject needed discussion.

“Who were you talking to back there in the store?” she asked.

Olivia’s face grew pale.

“Oh, I was just talking to myself; trying to decide what color balloons I wanted.”

“Olly, you don’t have to lie to me,” she assured her.

Silence fell between them. Robin didn’t want to push her. She knew in time Olivia would open up and start asking questions.

One response to “Teaser Tuesday

Leave a Reply

