Sunday Share: Royalties are King #IARTG

BLESSING SHARE #4

Today we are going to talk about a taboo subject of sorts. As an author, the first question for most is, “How much will my royalties be?” The great thing about being indie is that you can set your own pricing for your books. Each site is different on their royalty structure and payment. As an indie, I have to front the cost of many things, but when it is all said and done, whatever I make off of my royalties is mine to keep. I’m not going to lie, it takes time to reap all of the cost you put out to get your work in the hands of readers, but the freedom to keep what’s yours is well worth it.

That is why Ozwind’s royalty structure is unlike other publishers. The writer gets 60% of their net royalties. That is huge when most companies want to give you as low as 20%. You put the time and effort into that book. Shouldn’t you get the money for it?

When I walked away from traditional publishing, I quickly realized I wasn’t getting compensated nearly what I deserved. When I got my final invoice for my cancellation, there were royalties there I didn’t even realize existed. Keep in mind it is normal for companies to charge a termination fee, but it is not normal for them to keep you in the dark about how much you have actually made. In fact, I tested this. I ordered one of my own books to see if it would show up in my royalties. It didn’t. As an indie, I don’t have to worry about that anymore.

There are many companies in the publishing business as well as other industries that preach ethics and honesty, but don’t actually stand by that. Then again there are publishers as well as other businesses that are truly ethical and transparent. They aren’t all bad, but for me, indie was the path I needed to take and it made the most sense financially as well as creatively.

The Independence Inventory Sale ends this week. I ran the sale to celebrate my personal independence from traditional publishing and to welcome readers to the world of Ozwind. I truly hope you enjoyed the Sunday Shares and that perhaps it helps you in your quest of creativity.

One response to “Sunday Share: Royalties are King #IARTG

Leave a Reply

