Work In Progress Wednesday: Robin Hillard, Gregory #IARTG

10885489_703402503106356_4397742600589805002_nTHE FINE LINE

(2nd Edition Published by Ozwind Publishing, March 2015. 1st edition winner of a Reader’s Choice award in 2013)

*all photographs were obtained through free stock photos and modified per copyright regulations

Today you are going to meet a character from one of my published works. Robin Hillard, Gregory is the primary female character in THE FINE LINE. I’m going to let her tell you about who she is:

I came from a stable home with a caring mother and spiritual stepfather. I grew up in Southern Ohio with my brother and much younger sister. As a victim of sexual abuse, I rose above my victimization and became extremely well accomplished. My high school career consisted of many honors and achievements. I kept my abuse to myself, but set my goals high to overcome my circumstances.

I attended college at the University of Dayton, majoring in social work. Once I obtained my LISW, I went to work for a local children service agency. It was a refreshing change of pace from my graveyard shift internship at Miami Valley Hospital. I moved into different departments at the county agency, starting out in ongoing, then investigations, and I was finally promoted to supervisor of the intake department.

As a child, my life was simple. My father died when I was very, very young, so Richard, my stepdad, was the only father I really knew. He was kind to me and to my brother. As a Pentecostal preacher, he raised us to believe in all of the miracles of God and the authentic truth of the Bible. However, I was too much of a free spirit, I guess. I just couldn’t sell out and I started asking questions about my own spirituality.Robin This lead me to research the answers myself because no one liked my questions. In fact, at one point I was told I was going to Hell for asking those questions. Still, there was something deep inside of me urging me forward. I couldn’t ignore it. My quest caused me to become more spiritual than religious and I began a routine of meditation and prayer.

Even with all of my education, I had really bad luck with men. My picker was broken for sure. I ended up in a situation of domestic violence. He even held me hostage. I didn’t think I would live through it. But, I did and after that, I knew dating was not in my best interest. Too many liars, cheaters, and players out there. I didn’t want any part of it.

So, I focused totally on work. However, I still socialized with friends and co-workers. In fact, I was convinced to sign up for the agency softball team, despite the fact that I am totally graceless. I trip on carpet at work. Seriously, it’s totally not funny. But, I thought being physically active would help me find great release from such a stressful job. I had no idea that my decision would lead me to my future husband.

Once I met Dr. Matthew Gregory, there was no holding back, in spite of my best efforts. I not only fell in love with him, but also his daughter, Olivia. I quickly found myself in a whirlwind romance and when Haunted HouseMatthew proposed, I hesitated. I didn’t feel like I knew him well enough to marry him. Still, something kept pulling me toward him. That man’s love and sincerity overcame any doubts I had. Along with becoming a new wife and a stepmother, I became a home owner. Matt and I restored and moved into Pikeview Manor, an historical home just outside of town. I absolutely fell in love with the place, even before it was finished. But, then strange things started happening. I didn’t realize I’d need my spirituality more than ever before.

When I look back on all of the challenges and all of the things the house took from me, I realize that it was all part of a bigger plan. I had to learn my own strength and I had to fortify and integrate my own faith with other faiths. I still had to rely on the miracles of Christ and still maintain my spiritual truths. And, I could do that even though I didn’t think I could. I always knew there was something different about me, even as a child, but Pikeview brought on so much darkness that, for a time, I wasn’t sure I’d Abstract backgroundever see the light. Thankfully, I did. Still, when I think about all of the things that happened, it doesn’t seem real. Such a scary time in my life. I’m certainly glad it’s behind me.

So much has taken place since then. I’m older now. I have two beautiful children and one exceptional stepdaughter, and two precious grandchildren. My love for my husband has grown and I know I was meant to be right where I am; right by Matt’s side. I have had my fair share of heartbreak, but I came through the fire as gold, as my stepdad used to say, God rest his soul. Matthew Gregory taught me that I could be loved and that I was worth more than I ever believed. He has stood by my side all of these years and I can’t thank him enough for that.

I still live at Pikeview, despite it’s tragic history. I feel like we have given life to that old house. Even though it hated us at first, it has grown just like we have. It’s all been worth it!

 

One response to “Work In Progress Wednesday: Robin Hillard, Gregory #IARTG

Leave a Reply

