SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: No more PDMI

Hello everyone. I am blogging today to make a formal statement about a very important change that has happened within the last several days. As most of you know, my books have been published by PDMI Publishing, LLC since April 2013. That relationship ended Thursday, February 19, 2015. Due to irreconcilable differences, I am venturing out on my own as an author and possibly a publisher. This means that the books that were published under PDMI, THE FINE LINE and IDOLUM, are coming down off of Amazon and various other purchase sites. Because all rights are back in my hands, thankfully, the books will be reworked, redone, and re-covered. They will be released as 2nd editions very soon.

I am currently working with a very competent and creative company (I will not name names yet). Our first production meeting showed great promise. The books will be an official trilogy. They will continue to be the BETWEEN WORLDS SERIES, but some titles will change. However, due to the nature of the extreme content (i.e., haunted houses, demons, psychic abilities, serial killers, heroin addiction, adult situations, language, sexual references, and near death experiences), they will stay in the eighteen and over age range for readers. It would take months, if not a year, for me to revamp and rewrite each and every book to make them teen/YA friendly. The plots themselves are adult and very dark in nature. So, once THROUGH GLASS DARKLY (TGD hereafter) is published, it will be the last of the series and readers won’t have to wait another year to read it. It will be done sooner rather than later.

sinkin3To give you a bit of insight as to how I came to this decision, I think it’s important to understand that while with PDMI, I made some wonderful friends. No situation is all bad. My work with them up until the last year has been solid and they delivered on the two books that I put out with them. However, TGD was taking quite a bit of time in the process. October to February was nothing but waiting on edits. There were several passes of edits and I just happened to start reading through the “final pass” to find 130 errors. They were careless mistakes and things that would have caused devastation to my credibility as an author. In fact, the most glaring mistake that comes to mind is parentheses within the actual text manuscript with suggestions for edits. I can’t imagine if that would have remained in the copy. So, I addressed my issues with the publisher, and in doing so, here I am. It takes a strong person to smile as they take the blame for someone else’s mistakes. But, all in all, I was happy to be leaving PDMI, so as I said, no situation is all bad.

I won’t do a formal review of the company today. In fact, I would encouraged you to do your own research. The other night, as I waited for a response to my complaint, my business partner and I started finding horrible, gut-wrenching reviews of PDMI and their business practices. So, if you’re interested, you might want to check out what the BBB (Better Business Bureau) has to say as well as other review sites.

What I will say is that they started out on the right track. They were personalized in their approach and I think they genuinely cared. However, I feel that has been replaced with the desire to grow fast and we all know that growing too fast can cause growing pains.

logo.bigThe truth is, I hold no ill-will toward them. They did a huge favor for me. They gave me a lifeboat so I could get off of a sinking ship. I called them out on something and they disagreed. Happens all of the time. I count myself blessed to be able to go out on my own, still maintaining my creative works and freedom, and get those works back out there for readers. The publishing world has changed so much that a traditional publisher isn’t always the answer. At first, for me, the idea fit like a glove and then the glove got to small.

Even while with the publisher, I was marketing my own work, especially in the beginning. They currently have a very capable marketing volunteer that does a wonderful job. But, when I first started with them, I was the front woman for my own books. So, really, I’m not new to that. Now I have allies in the writing world that can help with marketing as well as other things necessary to help me become successful and most of all, to teach me. I have an editor that I am now free to use because I am not under contract with anyone. I have a talented web designer and web manager. I have a formatting person and a cover designer. What more do I need?

I am not the greatest writer on the planet. I am not a best seller. However, I do know that my writing is important to me. If the people who are reading my books or those that are following me would have gotten TGD with those sorts of atrocities in it, it would have been career suicide. I would have been more than ashamed. I will say this: the situation regarding the errors and the complaint was completely turned around on me as if it were my fault. I guess I was supposed to be quiet about it. That’s not who I am, especially when a fourth grader could hemorrhage all over the manuscript with a red ink pen. Like I said, all is well and I start this morning with hope and a new direction (and the possibility for at least 70% of my royalties when the books sell). It is an opportunity for me to learn and grow as well as to make new friends and find new allies. For that, I am grateful.

 

downloadA PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT

**Libel: a published false statement that is damaging to a person’s reputation; a written defamation.

In this blog, I have presented nothing that is false as I have the appropriate documentation to substantiate my claims. Freedom of speech is alive and well.  For anyone that is offended by my opinions, I recommend that you quit following my blog. Keep in mind this isn’t a formal review yet.

2 responses to “SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: No more PDMI

Leave a Reply

