2ND ANNUAL SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: LINDSEY GRAY

Lindsey GrayLindsey Gray dreamed of several different careers as a child. On the short list were doctor, chef, and actress. None held her attention as much as putting pen to paper and creating her own world through words. Since 2010, she has published three novels and one short story with The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House. In 2013, she went on her first self-­publishing adventure to produce her novella, “Fireworks”, and joined the ranks of Renaissance Romance Publishing with her novella, “Holiday Cure for the Cursed.”

 

A mid-­west native, Lindsey enjoys spending time with her husband and two children, rooting for the Green Bay Packers, reading whatever she can get her hands on, and making life interesting at every turn.

 

Works include:

Lies Inside Published December 2010

Redemption: The Redemption Series Book One Published May 2011

Revisited: The Redemption Series Book Two Published August 2012

Fireworks Published June 2013

Not the Same Season Published November 2013

Holiday Cure for the Cursed Published December 2013

 

FireworksFinalFullSizeSocial Media Links:

Facebook

Twitter

Blog

Fireworks Amazon

Fireworks Smashwords

Fireworks Barnes & Noble

Kobo

 

Questions:

 

How much time are you able to devote to writing?

 

Not as much as I would like. Right now I’m working without a deadline, so I write when I can. I like it that way. My writing seems to flow better without a date looming near. I think this is how I will work from now on.

 

Tell me about one of your characters and how that character was born.

 

I will preface my answer by letting you all know that many of my ideas come from my dreams. I am not often a player in my own dream world, but more of a spectator. Fireworks came to be as I dreamed of two people getting to know each other again after years apart. I saw Sam and Sophie sitting in a booth at a diner, catching up over bacon cheeseburgers. The whole aspect of Sophie being a nurse was because she was wearing scrubs in my dream.

 

Why do you write and what struggles have you had in publishing?

 

I write because the characters come to me until I get the story out, sometimes even after that. I still have “conversations” with one of my first characters.

 

Some writers spend years upon years trying to get published. I spent years upon years writing and not ever thinking about getting published. I believe it was because I hadn’t connected with the right people yet. I spent over a year, close to two, working on getting my first novel published. I had a contract in my hands just waiting for my signature, but something didn’t feel right. That was when I found Amanda Hayward and The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House. The house was just starting out and had the attitude I was looking for. I contacted TWCS and submitted my manuscript. I ended up tearing up the other contract and taking a leap with TWCS. I’m very grateful I did. It has been an interesting journey, but very rewarding. I just had to find where I belong and I feel in good company with all the authors in the TWCS family.

 

What is the biggest reward you’ve gotten as a published author (i.e., personal satisfaction, monetary gain, networking)?

 

Since TWCS is an international company, we network mostly online and over Skype. I felt like the people I worked with were more than colleagues, but not seeing them face to face, it was hard to call them friends. In October of 2012, authors and staff from TWCS descended on the Texas Book Festival in Austin, Texas. I got to meet people I had spent so many hours Skyping with and emailing. It was like the pieces finally came together. I remember meeting Amanda Hayward for the first time. We just ended up standing next to each other, gave each other a side hug, and we started talking like we’d known each other for years. Then I met my editor, Jenine, who I had worked with on two of my three novels. I remember hugging her and tearing up. Meeting all those people and getting to interact with thousands of readers was the greatest reward so far. I hope we are all able to get back together soon.

 

2 responses to “2ND ANNUAL SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: LINDSEY GRAY

    • It is a challenge at times since my four-year-old son seems to wake me when I’m having some good ones. I took the advice of one of my fellow authors and jot things down when I wake up. That seems to help.

Leave a Reply

