2ND ANNUAL SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: Maggie Thom

Me - 2014 4x4.6Maggie Thom’s Bio

 

Award winning author, Maggie Thom, took the challenge and leapt off, leaving a fulltime, twenty year career in management, to write full time. After publishing her first suspense/thriller book Captured Lies, October 2012, she published her second novel, Tainted Waters, April, 2013. Tainted Waters went on to win 2013 Suspense and Thriller Book of the Year through Turning the Pages Magazine. She is excited to publish her third novel, Deceitful Truths, March 2014. An avid reader and writer her whole life, she decided to break the monotony of wishing to be an author by making it happen. She is an avid nature lover and likes nothing better than to take a book, hike to a remote spot by a river or waterfalls and read. Married to her best friend, she is learning that humor, love and patience help her navigate her way through her twins’ teen years. Her motto: Escape to read and Read to escape. “Maggie Thom writes a fast paced thriller laced with romance that keeps the reader interested and on edge!” InDtale Magazine

 

She can be found at:

Website: www.maggiethom.com

Blog: http://maggiethom.wordpress.com/the-write-to-read/

Facebook: www.facebook.com/authormaggiethom

Twitter: www.twitter.com/maggiethom2

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6549592.Maggie_Thom

 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Tainted-Waters-Maggie-Thom-ebook/dp/B00CJGTSME/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393872627&sr=8-1&keywords=tainted+waters

 

TaintedWaters-newcover 800x1200How much time are you able to devote to writing?

This really varies throughout the year but honestly, I write every day, minus a weekend here or there. When I’m not writing a novel, which is usually only when I finish one and I am working on the marketing of it, I am writing something – a short story, a scene, plot ideas, articles, something. When I am writing a novel, I tend to write for longer periods of time during the day, anywhere from two to six hours or so. It all depends on how well the story is flowing and whether my hands, arms and body have had enough of sitting and being overused.

 

Tell me about one of your characters and how that character was born.

One of the most memorable characters, for me and for some of my readers, is Geoffrey. He came to life in Captured Lies but is also in the sequel Deceitful Truths. He is an evil, warped man. I think he really came about as the culmination of bad people out in the world. I wanted to know why he was so bad though, what made him so revengeful and angry. His back story started to come to life – born to a wealthy father who couldn’t keep his pants zipped, so he became an embarrassment for his step-mom who agreed to raise him. She never let him forget he wasn’t hers and was from lesser stock. He was abused mentally, physically, emotionally. Once I got the idea for him, he just came to life and really took on a life of his own. He’s a rather dark character with a very mean and devious streak in him.

 

Why do you write and what struggles have you had in publishing?

I think, way back when I started to write in my youth, writing was a go to place for something to do on those days when I wanted something different. Over the years as I’ve opened myself to getting more and more creative with my writing, I find that I have so many ideas for novels, for characters, for settings, for stories that I have to write them down. I now write because I love it. I love the whole process of inventing, creating, taking an idea and developing it into this full blown, intriguing, compelling story.

 

Some of the struggles with publishing have been many. As an Indie author everything falls on me to get done. There is a lot to keep track of, from formatting the books, to how to upload them – doing them a little different for each book seller, pricing them and making sure that the public finds out I have ebooks out there. So there have been steps missed, there is the feeling of overwhelm at times and the feeling of needing to be everywhere at once.

 

What is the biggest reward you’ve gotten as a published author (i.e., personal satisfaction, monetary gain, networking)?

I think the greatest gift I’ve been given is the connections I’ve made. The people who I know are there if I need help with something, the people who support me, encourage me, share with me. It’s awesome.  I have met some incredible people, some are authors, some are bloggers, some are readers, some are reviewers, some have nothing to do with the book world at all. I have been so impressed with the willingness of others to help by giving advice, reading, reviewing, voting, hosting or as in your case Tracee by hosting authors on your blog. I think the other big part for me is that I get to pay it forward, I can help others out as well.

Thank you very much for hosting me on your blog today, Tracee, I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

