2ND ANNUAL SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: MIKE HARTNER

1014027_10152037637414882_2079711721_n (2)Mike Hartner (1965-) was born in Florida and lives in British Columbia with his family. His interests include: Skiing, surfing, scuba diving, writing, soccer, and cheerleading his son’s teams.
Facebook link facebook.com/MhartnerAuthor
Twitter link @MHartnerAuthor
Blog link  http://goo.gl/DI0iGZ    and   http://goo.gl/eXZu5p
Website link www.mikehartner.com
Buy link  http://goo.gl/qiXO5S

    • How much time are you able to devote to writing?
      • I devote evenings and sometimes weekends to writing.  My first priority is, and always has been, my family.  So, after the doctor’s appointments are done, after the sports practices, and the evening cleanups, after the house programs, and all else, THEN I can devote some time to my writing.  It’s a good thing that my writing is the stress-relief for the day, since by that point I certainly need it.
    • Tell me about one of your characters and how that character was born.
      • Walter Crofter was the second surviving son of a London merchant.  He was born into a lower middle-class family, just as the family’s downward slide was getting started. Older brother Gerald left when Walter was six, and Walter left at 11.   The difference would be the attitudes and mores of the two boys.
    • Why do you write and what struggles have you had in publishing?
      •  I write Romantic Historical Fiction.   I, Walter is historical romance, and that is the genre that is bringing him the most attention.  I have self-published.  Because of that, my biggest challenge is getting sales and exposure.   This has been a daily challenge especially getting reviews.
    • cover-hartnerWhat is the biggest reward you’ve gotten as a published author (i.e., personal satisfaction, monetary gain, networking)?
      • The biggest reward I’ve received is personal satisfaction.  A very close sister of mine described I, Walter as helping her to escape from her daily stress. To me, that is the greatest compliment. For what is a story if we can’t wrap others in another world, and let them become a part of it, even for a short time?
Leave a Reply

