2ND ANNUAL SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: KATIE SALIDAS

KatieSmallKatie Salidas is a Super Woman! Endowed with special powers and abilities, beyond those of mortal women, She can get the munchkins off to gymnastics, cheerleading, Girl Scouts, and swim lessons.  She can put hot food on the table for dinner while assisting with homework, baths, and bedtime… And, She still finds the time to keep the hubby happy (nudge nudge wink wink). She can do all of this and still have time to write.

And if you can believe all of those lies, there is some beautiful swamp land in Florida for sale…

Katie Salidas resides in Las Vegas, Nevada. Mother of three, wife, and author, she does try to do it all, often causing sleep deprivation and many nights passed out at the computer. Writing is her passion, and she hopes that her passion will bring you hours of entertainment.
Blog
http://www.katiesalidas.com/

Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Katie-Salidas-Author/214780936916

LinkedIn
http://www.linkedin.com/profile?viewProfile=&key=58814031&trk=tab_pro

Twitter
http://twitter.com/QuixoticKatie

Publisher
http://www.risingsignbooks.net

Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Katie-Salidas/e/B003APXXWO

Amazon UK:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Katie-Salidas/e/B003APXXWO

Barnes & Noble:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/katie-salidas?keyword=katie+salidas&store=allproducts

Smashwords:
http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/KatieSalidas

All Romance Ebooks:
http://www.allromanceebooks.com/storeSearch.html?searchBy=author&qString=Katie+Salidas

 

Peaceful beach sceneHow much time are you able to devote to writing?

 

Back when I began writing my first book, all those years ago, I was able to devote as many hours as I could stand. I only had one child at the time. She was in school and I had the house to myself for a glorious 6 hours a day. No interruptions, no other demands. I was able to just focus and write. Words like rushing water flowed freely pouring from a unending stream.  During those heady days I was able to churn out three full length novels, and 3 shorts: Immortalis Carpe Noctem, Hunter’s & Prey, Karma & Melodies, House of Immortal Pleasures, Halloween fantasies, and Pandora’s Box.

Then came child number two. Things slowed a bit then. Sleepless nights do not make for the most coherent writing, but I pushed through with what few moments of writing I could steal. Soulstone, Moonlight, Dark Salvation, and a few joint stories with my Erotica writing partner Willsin Rowe were completed during those hazy days.

Now that number three is here time is extremely short in supply. I’m lucky to have two, maybe three hours a night to complete any non-kid related tasks before I pass out at the computer.

Though time is short, writing is my passion so I take advantage of what I can. Just recently, I released Dissension, the first book in a new series for me.

 

Tell me about one of your characters and how that character was born.

 

Alyssa is near and dear to my heart. I’ve watch this character transform over the years. She came to me way back before I had the idea to write and publish a novel.

Spunky, headstrong, and a little naïve, she demanded to have her story written. As close to me as any of my real life friends, Alyssa has become a staple in my life, and her character has grown throughout the years we’ve known each other.

When I first chronicled her transformation in Immortalis Carpe Noctem, she was annoyingly stubborn and headstrong. I’ve gotten quite a bit of flack over the years for choosing to write her this way. She’s not entirely likeable as a main character for these qualities, however, as a character, she is ripe with real flaws, something that makes her very real. Sure she’s annoying at times, but she’s also got plenty of room to grow as a character. And grow she has, through 6 books in her series. Not only has she learned the ways of being a vampire, but she’s become a good friend, a good lover, and even a leader among her small coven of vampires.

It has been so much fun to chronicle her journey and her growth as a character. She can be found in Immortalis Carpe Noctem, Hunters & Prey, Pandora’s Box, Soulstone, Moonlight, and Dark Salvation.

 

Why do you write and what struggles have you had in publishing?

 

It’s really not a question of “why” I write. As a writer, it is part of me. Writing is something I just do. Stories form and play out like movies in my mind. I see the characters. They beg for their chance in the spotlight. I can’t help it, writing happens.

That said, it is not always easy. Sure, it sounds it. Sit your butt in the chair and start typing, right? Not really. If you only knew the amount of time I spend staring blankly at my computer screen, you’d laugh. Actually, I am pretty sure my husband has gotten many a good laugh at me, especially when I am talking to myself… running character dialogue out loud.  Nothing like walking in on a conversation about disposing a dead body. If you didn’t know me, you might think I was a serial killer. I have been known to be very quick to kill off characters. No one is safe in my books. I’ve broken a few reader hearts with my choice in character death. But, back on topic. A lot of the actual writing time is spent in the preparation of writing.

Now, to the topic of publishing troubles… I have to knock on wood before I say this. After about 5 years of trial and error, I think I might have worked out the kinks in publishing books. Marketing still baffles me, but I can get my books in print and in ebook retailers fairly quickly. I even wrote a book on that very topic: Go Publish Yourself!

The putting the book on sale bit is pretty straight forward, but as I said, the marketing is the hard part. Without spamming, without begging, without being a non-stop “hey I published a book,” cheerleader, how does one get new readers? It’s a fine line that I, after 5 years of practicing, is a skill I’ve yet to master. But I’m willing to learn from my betters. I’m always watching authors, learning from what they do, and constantly putting new methods into practice.

 

What is the biggest reward you’ve gotten as a published author (i.e., personal satisfaction, monetary gain, networking)?

Honestly. As cliché as it sounds, the biggest reward I think any author can receive is praise from their readers. Putting your work out there to the public is akin to walking out bare bottomed to your graduation. Like the old frightful dream of suddenly being there, in front of your peers in the nude. Rather than being laughed at. You get a standing ovation. That is a little of what reading a good review is like.

So, when I’ve put myself out there, naked and raw to the world with a new book, the moments drag on in crushing anticipation until I finally see a review. Good or bad, I’m happy that people are reading, but to receive a happy note from a reader saying they understood, appreciated, and even liked my work, is pure heaven.

One response to “2ND ANNUAL SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: KATIE SALIDAS

Leave a Reply

