2ND ANNUAL SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: Belle Whittington

Belle Whittington_author photoBio:

Belle resides somewhere north of Houston, Texas in a small inconsequential town with the smallest most inconsequential name. There in the shady reaches of the pines, elms, and oaks, she daydreams of adventures and secrets that she weaves throughout her stories.  She studied literature at University of Houston and is quite sure that she has the best readers and fans in the whole wide world.

Links to Belle Whittington’s social networking sites:

Inspiration Playlists:

Where my books are sold:

Paperback & eBook:

E-book:

Where to find out more about my books:

  • Book Trailers:

○     CICADA:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WF2fd2GxVKo

FIREFLY:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pa5I9JH0OBk

FireflyCoverFINALBNsmallFIREFLY

Part Two of the Cicada Trilogy

by Belle Whittington

“The darkest days are ahead of us,” Andrew whispered as the drape of shadows slipped away, allowing Blair to awaken. And in her heart of hearts she knew it was true. The unmistakable signs were all around her, growing within her. She was becoming something more than human. All she could do was accept the inevitable.

“I’ve become a freak … an alien. I no longer belong to the human world,” Blair told her true love, and he held her close, determined never to give her up. “I’d stay in this darkness forever as long as I could be with you.  Wherever you are … that’s my home.” Everett meant every word. In fact, he’d willingly give up his own life to protect the girl he’d always loved.

But there was a storm brewing … a firestorm so strong and catastrophic that it could keep them apart forever.

That storm roared into town wearing a brown leather bomber jacket and riding a motorcycle.

Ash was like a secret in human clothing … a dangerous secret. Everything about him was mesmerizing – right down to the swirls of ink that flowed over the smooth muscles across his chest and around his arms. Being with him was like playing with fire.

Blair knew all about playing with fire.

She knew something else, too. A small quiet voice deep within whispered that she really would be separated from everyone and everything she’d known and loved.

Because some secrets run too deep

How much time are you able to devote to writing?

Sometimes, it’s difficult to fit writing into my schedule.  But, I’ve gotten so close to finishing my book, MONARCH, that I’ve devoted time in my daily schedule for writing.  One of the ways that I’m able to maintain that commitment is that I have a group of author friends who do timed writing sprints every evening with me.  It helps us all to have someone to whom I am accountable for daily writing.

Tell me about one of your characters and how that character was born.

Why do you write and what struggles have you had in publishing?

I write because it’s part of me!  I cannot help it … the urge is too strong, and the only way to silence the voices in my head is to put them onto paper.  I cannot say that I’ve had any struggles in publishing.  Initially, I’d thought I’d try to get my first book, CICADA, traditionally published.  So, I queried several agents.  I heard back from some, but most of those responses were form letters via email.  I suppose it was about that time that I’d discovered the wonder of Indie Publishing and learned a great deal from the likes of JA Konrath and Barry Eisler.

What is the biggest reward you’ve gotten as a published author (i.e., personal satisfaction, monetary gain, networking)?

The biggest reward I’ve gotten since publication of my first book, CICADA, is that I’ve met so many wonderful bloggers, readers, and fans.  Indeed, I’m convinced that my readers and fans are the best in the whole wide Universe!

Second to that is the personal satisfaction and freedom of having my works published.

3 responses to “2ND ANNUAL SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: Belle Whittington

  1. I love the idea of having writing partners. It truly makes one accountable for one’s failure to thrive. This was a terrific interview. Thank you for sharing with us. michelle_willms at yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

