2nd Annual SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: Brenda Perlin

scan0001-2 (2)Author Bio

Brenda Perlin is an independent adult contemporary fiction author.   Brenda evokes emotional responses in her readers by using a provocatively unique writing style.   Her latest book in the Brooklyn and Bo Chronicles, captures the soul-wrenching conflicts of a personal struggle for emotional fulfillment.

Facebook link

https://www.facebook.com/BrooklynandBoChronicles

Twitter link

https://twitter.com/BrooklynandBo

Blog link

https:///www.brendaperlin.com

Website link

https://www.brooklynandbo.com

Buy link

myBook.to/ShatteredReality

How much time are you able to devote to your writing?

I go on phases. Sometimes I write from morning until night when I have the gumption. Right now I am in between projects so I am less inspired to work on something new. I spend more of my time marketing my books. Social Media has really taken over my life and I do need to find a better balance. That is for sure.

 

▪  Tell me about one of your characters and how that character was born.

My main character, Brooklyn is from the San Fernando Valley. She is a pretty ordinary girl that gets herself into some extraordinary situations. Her birth is less unusual than her years of living.

Shattered Reality-cover-2-FINAL (2) ▪  Why do you write and what struggles have you had in publishing?

I started writing years ago in coffee shops on paper napkins. That was the one thing I was passionate about. Now it seems I write because it seems anytime I am going through something big in my life I need to get words on paper just as much as eating and sleeping. It is more of a need than anything else. It is probably the most fulfilling thing that I do or have ever done.

I was going to do whatever it took to have this book read. My original publisher was a very disappointing company. They acted more like a corporation where I was treated like a number rather than a person. They were extremely disrespectful and rarely responded to my messages. I paid for some services that I never received, though my biggest complaint was the price they set for my book. Even though I was a first time author they were asking $27.95 for a paperback and (are you sitting down?) $27.95 for the Ebook. When I tried to reason with them about the price hurting my sales they got nasty and were unavailable for comment. Sometimes they would respond in a rude manner. I never received a dime on sales and I know there were plenty of books sold. It was disheartening and really ruined my experience all together.

For a period of time I kept contacting them asking to be released from my seven year agreement. Yes, you read that correctly. Seven long years! I blame myself for signing such a miserable contract but I didn’t know any better. I had high hopes and was flattered that someone actually wanted to publish my story. If they would have said hang from the highest chandelier, I might have done so. I was naive and didn’t realize they were a company that published books not because they thought they were good but because they thought they could make money off of a inexperienced first time author.

▪  What is the biggest reward you’ve gotten as a published author (i.e., personal satisfaction, monetary gain, networking)?

After I was released from my contract, I considered self- publishing since my book was part of a trilogy and book two was nearly completed. When my acceptance note came from Master Koda Select I knew it was meant to be. Kim Mutch Emerson and Rebbekah White are the owners of the company. I love what these people stand for and I like how easy it is to communicate with them. It is an entirely different experience from what I went through during the first go around. It has been so rewarding working with a publisher that I could communicate with. It is a team effort which works so good for me. I love meeting authors from all over the world. Some of the nicest people I have ever met are authors. It’s been a real uplift because I am now doing something that I am really passionate about and with people who support me. It’s a real give and take.

2 responses to “2nd Annual SPRING FEVER BLOG TOUR: Brenda Perlin

Leave a Reply

