2nd Annual Spring Fever Blog Tour: DIANNE GARDNER

me cut (2)Dianne Gardner, an award winning author, is also an illustrator living in the Pacific Northwest, USA. She’s an active member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, and the National League of American Pen Women. Her Ian’s Realm series is published by PDMI Publishing LLC along with four short stories in the A Tale of the Four Wizards series. Her most recent book Altered will be published this year by Master Koda Publishing. She writes for middle grade and young adults targeting boys and adventure loving girls, and the young at heart.

You can see more of Dianne’s work on her website http://gardnersart.com

https://www.facebook.com/DianneLynnGardner

http://www.twitter/@DianneGardner

http://diendrial.wordpress.com/

http://gardnersart.com

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FCZ32MG

Because I have a wonderful husband who pays the bills, my children are grown, and I have a quiet home in the country, I’m very fortunate to be able to devote my time to my work. Not a day goes by that I’m either writing, or thinking about my stories. I probably spend more time the worlds I create, than in reality.

Ian Wilson is the main character of the first three books of the Ian’s Realm Saga. There are several more sequels written and in the publishing queue. Ian was born out of the desire to paint a dragon. It sounds odd, but it’s true. In fact the whole series was more or less birthed by my desire to paint a dragon. Stenhjeart is a three panel oil painting 4ft by 9 ft. In the process of creating this leviathan, I found Ian talking to me telling me he’s going to take on the ‘dude’. I have sixteen grandchildren, nine of whom are boys. And when I started my first novel, Deception Peak, I wanted a tale for young teens who aren’t avid readers. I resolved to make this story so exciting that the reader can’t put the book down. I’ve since been told some boys have read under the covers with a flashlight!

Deception Cover-1-1 (2)I write because I love story telling. I used to story tell with my art but found that my audience didn’t always understand what I was trying to say. So I set the brushes down temporarily and began using words. I love it. When I’m not writing I crave it. As far as publishing goes, I tried querying agents but after about five rejection letters, and listening to people tell me to hang in there, some authors get hundreds of rejection letters before they sign, I thought I didn’t really want to wait that long. So I began visiting writers forums and made friends with people who were published and posted excerpts and lured interest in my work. I was soon referred by a friend to Hydra Publications, my first publisher, and from then on it hasn’t been hard at all.

My biggest reward as a publish author has been publication. Honest. Seeing my book in print or on Kindle and having people I don’t even know tell me they enjoyed my stories, that is a wonderful reward! Networking and the world of authors that I find myself surrounded by is also a lasting reward. I’ve made so many friends since I started writing. Monetary gain? Well not yet at anyway.

3 responses to “2nd Annual Spring Fever Blog Tour: DIANNE GARDNER

Leave a Reply

