Spiritus Walking with Tracee Ford: Healers

Tonight’s blog, in preparation for tomorrow night’s episode of Spiritus Walking on YouTube, is about a specific kind of healing: Reiki. Tomorrow’s episode will touch not only on this type of healing but also on other kinds of healing.

Bennie Blevins, a close friend of mine, assisted me in preparing for tonight’s blog. In fact, he wrote the blog. He is a Reiki Master. So, the words you are reading are completely to his credit.

Enjoy the read and tune in tomorrow night for Spiritus Walking.

Me (2)REIKI HEALING BY BENNIE BLEVINS

I discovered Reiki during a period of spiritual uncertainty in my life. A few years before my first experience with the ancient Asian healing practice of Reiki I had come out of the closet as a gay man which caused quite a rumble in the United Methodist Church I attended. I had attended the church for years, taught Sunday school, and was a leader in the youth ministry program. After coming out I found myself being rejected and ignored by the people that I had come to know as a second family, and I was at a spiritual crossroads.

I had questions that Christianity simply wasn’t answering. I began studying other religions, specifically Wicca. I also began having more intense psychic experiences and so I began studying psychic abilities in general and came across information on psychic and spiritual healing. That study took me to the doors of a little shop in Portsmouth, Ohio named Journey’s Within. It at this little shop that I met Aloma, the lady who would become my Reiki Master and teacher. I began my lessons, and for five years I began studying the art of spiritual healing.

Reiki is an ancient Asian hands-on healing technique and spiritual practice. The practice was brought in the United States by Japanese Buddhist Mikao Usui. The practice has since been adapted by various teachers and varying traditions. But the Usui tradition is the original tradition and my tradition, it is the tradition that I practice and teach to my students. Regardless of the traditions, they all for the most part have a three-tiered hierarchy of degree beginning with the First, Second, and finally the Third which will give the student the level of Master, thus giving them the ability to teach the practice to others. The spiritual connection is presented through a process called an Attunement, in which the Master spiritually connects with the students aura opening them to the Reiki energy. The attunement is done during each of the three levels. The term Reiki is made up of two Japanese words. Rei which means “God’s Wisdom or Higher Power” and Ki which means “Life Force Energy”. The Reiki energy is thus spiritually guided life force energy shared by the laying on of hands.

If someone’s life force energy is low they may be more likely to get sick, anxious, and stress. If the person’s energy level is high, then they are more likely to be happy, focused, and healthy. The Reiki treatment feels like a wonderful radiant warmth that flows through and around you. Reiki treats the whole person physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually creating positive effects that include relaxation, peacefulness, and many patients have reported miraculous healing.

Reiki also opens one up psychically allowing the person to develop psychic gifts that they may have been unaware of or enhancing the gifts they have used in the past. When I began studying Reiki my natural psychic abilities began to grow and I learned my gift of psychomotry. Psychomotry is a psychic ability in which a psychic touches an object owned by a person such as jewelry, a picture of a subject, or the person themselves. It was during this time that I discovered that I had the ability to see the past lives of others by touching them, a direct connection to my ability to see past events. An ability that has come in handy during paranormal investigations.

Reiki may sound very complicated but it is actually a simple, natural and safe method of spiritual healing. It has been effective in helping every known illness and malady. I have actually treated patients with arthritis, cancer, HIV, to a simple common cold and seen them have positive results. I along with others in my Reiki class worked with a man who was diagnosed with cancer. After many Reiki treatments in conjunction with his chemotherapy, the man found that his cancer had went into remission leaving his doctors baffled.

For many years Reiki was considered to be either a form of alternative medicine or New Age mumbo jumbo, but many Reiki practitioners actually have jobs in spas and chiropractors offices. It has even started to be taught in some nursing programs and encouraged as treatment in hospitals.

The Usui Reiki Tradition is taught with spiritual Ideals that create a spiritual balance to the tradition. These ideals teach that healing the spirit begins by deciding to improve oneself , which is a necessary part of the Reiki healing experience. The client thus, must accept the responsibility to take an active part in his or her own healing. These Ideals are both guidelines for living a gracious life and virtues for healing. The following are the Usui Reiki Ideals:
The secret art of inviting happiness.
The miraculous medicine of all diseases. 
Just for today, do not anger. 
Do not worry and be filled with gratitude. 
Devote yourself to your work. Be kind to people. 
Every morning and evening, join your hands in prayer. 
Pray these words to your heart. 
and chant these words with your mouth. 
Usui Reiki Treatment for the improvement of body and mind.

Leave a Reply

