Aspiring Authors Autumn Blog Tour: K.L. Ruse

Author PictureK.L. Ruse was a middle school teacher who recently traded in her chalk for a laptop to follow her dream of writing Contemporary Romance novels. She lives with her husband and two daughters in the suburbs of Philadelphia.  When she’s not writing, she spends her time reading and relaxing with her family at her home-away-from-home, the Jersey shore.

Excerpt from Found in You by K.L. Ruse…

“I first saw you in the cafeteria. You were sitting at the table closest to the doors… the one I’d watch you at every day after… wearing a pink sweater that made your skin glow. At that second, you became the center of my thoughts… the one who would save me from myself. You picked at your food, but never brought the fork to your lips. But you never noticed anyone around you, except the one who had his arm around you. I was never jealous of him; I just wanted to be him… be the one who made you laugh, or the one who held your gaze.”

Trying to grasp what he had confessed to me, I squeezed his hands tighter and asked, “You knew me before I left here?”

“After that first day in the cafeteria, I had to know everything about you. So I took in every inch of you, every single day. You didn’t know me, you never even noticed me, but you owned me, and I wanted you… I needed you.”

Contact info E-mail:  krusso1008@gmail.com

Book Title (s)  Found in You

Available at:  Release date of December 2013

Blog/website URL:  coming soon

 

Q: What is your latest work? Title, Genre

A:  Found in You, Contemporary Romance/New Adult

 

Q: What draws you to your genre(s)? Why?

A:  I was definitely that little girl who would dream about her wedding and meeting her own Prince Charming.  With this genre, I’m able to recreate those very girly moments of my childhood on an adult female level.  I can live through my characters as they journey to find their own “moments.”

 

Q: How do you get from start to finish with a novel? Or are you still working on your novel?

A:  I carry my writing journal everywhere I go and jot down notes throughout my day because most of my writing is done at night.  I tend to write my final chapters or Epilogue, if it has one, first and the Prologue last.  This helps me to move my story, having the end in mind.

 

Q: What kind of research was involved?

A:  With this book, I had to research East Coast surfing in order to realistically portray one of my main characters.  Many trips to the beach and talking with surf instructors helped me portray this sport accurately through the story.

 

Q: Tell me about one of your characters ?

A:  Camryn is the main character and the story is told from her POV.  She has faced so many hardships in her life – death, abandonment being a few.  The story begins with Camryn returning to her hometown, a place of pain and loss, after she promises her dying mom that she would go back.  This story is Camryn’s journey where she is forced to face her loss head on in order to move on from the past.

 

Q: How do you balance your time?

A:  I’m not sure if I’ve actually mastered this yet!  I have a dedicated husband and two young daughters, so writing time is scheduled around the times they are at work, school or sleeping.  Outside of writing, I’m also a teacher who recently traded my full time position for a part time teaching job in order to focus more on writing.

 

Q: Are there other authors that inspired you to write?

A:  Too many to count.  But here are a few… Colleen Hoover, A.L. Jackson, Jessica Sorenson, S.C. Stephens, Jamie McGuire.  They all, at one point, were where I am now and they managed to catapult their careers to new heights at the same time as staying true to their amazing stories.

 

Q: What is your perception of being published?

A:  I would be honored to have the opportunity to be traditionally published, however I am more than willing to travel the independent road in order to prove myself and become known in this particular genre.

 

Q: Tell me about any other projects in the works?

A:  Found in You is actually the first in a series of four books.  Each book in the series will be from a different character’s POV and will advance the story from where the previous one ended.

 

Q: What are your marketing strategies?

A:  At this point I am still planning this, but I have already done the following to support my marketing strategy:  1.) Hired the wonderful Regina Wamba from Mae I Design to design the cover, develop a book trailer, and create marketing images. 2.) Introduced myself and secured myself with romance bloggers to review my novel once editing is complete.  3) Set up facebook and twitter accounts to use as marketing vehicles.  4.) Will be building an author website soon.

 

Q: How many years have you been writing? How did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

A:  This is a tricky question because ever since I could write sentences I created stories.  One memory that stands out was in third grade I had to create a children’s story.  I worked so hard on it that I even gave up recess to stay in and write.  My story was chosen to be “published” in our school library.  My teacher wrote me a letter that year that said she saw my future as a writer.  While helping my parents move out of their house a few years ago, I came across that letter and saw it as a sign to finally make my dream become a reality.

 

Q: If you had one wish for your work what would it be?

A: That my readers can see themselves in one or more of the characters in my story.

 

Q: Do you support any charities? If so, which ones?

A:  I was in Kappa Kappa Gamma sorority at Villanova University and we supported Susan B. Komen Foundation.  I still support this charity today and hope to somehow support it through my writing.

 

Q: Please list your social networking information.

A:  Facebook and Twitter: KL Ruse

Coming soon to facebook – author community page

 

Q: How do you come up with the ideas for your work?

A:  My husband tells me I have a very over-active imagination, so that comes into play with ideas for writing.  But also, I am a people watcher.  Even as a child, I was in tune to everything around me, creating stories in my head.  Many of my characters are based off of my own family and friends.

 

Q: What is your vision?

A:  Wow!  This is a very wide open question!  My vision as an author?  Well, I know I want to continue writing and my mind is jumbled with so many ideas that should keep me busy for a very long time.  But overall, I think I just want to paint the picture as I go – it makes for an adventure every day!

 

Q: What is the most important thing you want people to know about you and your work?

A:  That I pour my heart into every chapter, every sentence, and every word I write.  However, I have so much fun doing it!

 

Format is a little different tonight, but I like to spice things up 🙂 Thanks for following!

6 responses to “Aspiring Authors Autumn Blog Tour: K.L. Ruse

Leave a Reply

