Helping Hands: Authors Helping Authors

I am disturbed by some of the things I have felt and witnessed recently. It is hard for me to understand how any author can sabotage another. It is weak and sad in my honest opinion, so I’m speaking out on my blog about it.

Being an author is about helping one another. Yes, we are in competition with one another, so to speak, but putting one down to bring yourself up is a direct display of poor character. We are all striving to succeed. I am a firm believer that if you show support, pure and genuine support, it will come back to you.

I also a disturbed by some of the reports I’ve received from fellow authors about their public speaking events. Someone told me recently that they were giving a presentation to a small group and was asked about local library support. He explained that a few libraries were supportive but also spoke about the ones that had not been. He told me that less than two weeks later he was told that there was an author in the audience that that author made a point of zoning in on the libraries that hadn’t shown him support. He told me that there is an event surrounding the competitor and he felt like it was a slap in the face. This saddened me.

Another complaint I’ve received recently from authors is that when they are speaking at engagements, other authors who have read their book give away too much and then it turns the spectators off. A friend of mine had this very thing happen and she lost sales as a result.

It is just a shame! Not only is the savage competition hurting these authors, but it can cause discouragement that is beyond repair. When this happens, the author can loose so much heart that they can make a conscious decision not to write anymore. The friend of mine that I mentioned with the library incident said exactly that. They are quitting! I have done what I can to talk to the close friend and convince them that there’s another way, but when someone’s mind is made up, it’s hard to evoke change.

If you are a published author and you have a publisher and you’re experiencing similar problems, talk to your publisher. Explain to them what’s happening. If they are concerned and supportive, you will see them step up to the plate and contact people on your behalf. If you are self published, hit local media and local libraries hard. Don’t be arrogant about it, but let them know that your work is worthy. Be confident.

I recently completed a blog tour to show my followers how wonderful the author world is. I wanted to help other authors as much as I could. I will be doing another tour in the fall of authors that are aspiring and are still reaching out to spread their work to the world. For now, if you are one of the authors that are finding challenges with other authors, don’t give up. Look at it this way. When someone (in any situation) offers to put you down, they are so unsure of themselves that they have to chop you off at the knees. It’s their own weakness that makes them who they are. Pity them and keep on going. Don’t let their problems become your problems.

 

10 responses to “Helping Hands: Authors Helping Authors

  1. Tracee, I’m a reader. I love to read, it’s my passion. I’ve recently begun reviewing books for authors, but I DO NOT give any of the story away. That is for the book to do. I tell other readers what I like/don’t like/love about the book, and hopefully they decide to read that book. I cannot stand when people give away the story. This brings to mind the whole debaucle that happened with Charlaine Harris’s last Sookie Stackhouse novel. I knew the ending was out there and that people were talking about it – but I avoided it until I had the chance to read it for myself. That’s my job – to read and enjoy what the author has presented to me, and I love it!

    Like

    • I appreciate the comment. I am so saddened by what I have seen some authors go through lately, I felt I had to blog about this. I will spread the word that there are many who still have the integrity to do what is right.

      Like

  2. This article really caught my eye. Although I am nor an author (yet…im in the process) I didn’t recognize that this was a problem among authors of all people. At least I’ll know what I’m up against. But it’s kind of sad.. Maybe I’ll have to find a way to to change that. Thanks for the article šŸ˜€

    Like

  3. LOVED this post. Support, kindheartedness, and unselfishness are always admirable in any aspect of life. And in the author field they definitely come back to us.

    I’ve never understood the competition. It’s not as though people only read one book in their lifetimes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

