Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Christina Mobley

Hi everyone.  It’s the eve of the end of this tour.  Tonight’s featured author is Christina Mobley, an author of young adult fiction.  Thanks so much for being a part of the tour Christina!  Enjoy the read folks!

529791_551645054859995_1711974407_nTitle: Elementris
Author: Christina Mobley

Genre: YA
Website: http://www.facebook.com/ChristinaMobleyAuthor

Social Media connections: https://twitter.com/chrissy3680

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6439800.Christina_Mobley

Release Date: Elementris is available now, and Exposure will be available March 20th
Where to buy:  Amazon and B&N http://www.amazon.com/Elementris-The-Vangeretta-Curse-ebook/dp/B008IFNX3U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361059558&sr=8-1&keywords=elementris
Reviews:

First of all, I would like to say thank you to Christina Mobley for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review!

In the expanding market of Fantasy and Paranormal fiction, it’s becoming more difficult to find fresh, original stories that stand out from the others. I believe that Christina Mobley has etched out a place for herself in this genre of writing and her first book Elementris is a pleasure to read.

At seventeen-years-old, Ava Vangeretta blames her gift for everything that’s wrong in her life. In fact, it’s the very reason why her own mother abandoned her. Once submerged into her world of magic and mystery, the reader is allowed a glimpse at both the good and bad that comes with the gifts of the element. The good: Ava’s able to perform magic that can help others and conjure up a rain cloud when she needs one. The bad: Learning her magic and accepting her role as True Elementris is a deadly undertaking. I would have to say that Ava’s character is more true to real-life teenagers than most fictional heroines we come across in YA fiction. Though not your cliché, self-sacrificing heroine, she’s very brave in the face of tremendous pressure and danger.

I love strong female characters like the ones in this book. Ava and her Aunt Avalene are both forces to be reckoned with; forces of nature, that is! The dynamic between Ava and her aunt was fun and add a lot to the story. There are some interesting sub-plots going on with Ava’s best friend Brea, as well. This book packs major “girl power”, as even the primary antagonist is a female! I thought this was a fresh approach to this time of book and enjoyed that aspect very much,.

***********

 

This is the first book that I have read by Christina Mobley, but it definitely won’t be my last. 🙂

This was a very unique story and I absolutely LOVED it. Christina has a way of telling a story that pulls you right in, and you will find it impossible to stop. I can’t wait to read book 2 in the series, to see how the story continues.

Thanks again Christina for writing an amazing book, and for creating a fan for life. 🙂

Book back for book Exposure (Release date March 20th <first day of spring)

Hidden behind a continuous storm, in the heart of the Bermuda Triangle, there is a secret and powerful place. Element Island’s mysteries are as great as its beauty. Ava Vangeretta’s life changed forever after she arrived on the island; she became the True Elementris.

Now Ava is faced with a new challenge. The powerful gifts protected by those born of the element could be revealed. Temptation gives new life to an old curse, danger draws near, and the lines between friend and enemy are blurred as secrets are revealed. Ava will do whatever it takes to protect those she loves, but can she prevent exposure?

Little excerpt from book two, Exposure.

Ava glanced at the world map on her wall; the one matching the giant one in her office. There was work to be done. She felt the power of the elements begin to surge through her as she looked at the maps. There had been an awful drought in Georgia for weeks now and it looked as if her help was needed. She closed her eyes and instantly her throat went dry and she felt the heat rising from the parched earth. With her eyes still closed she could see the blinding sun and cloudless sky. She let the magic of the element work its way through her body as she thought of rain. She smiled as the blue sky darkened and she sent a rumble of thunder as a warning to those who might not be paying attention. She could feel the relief of the earth as it began to absorb the soothing rain. She was careful to make sure the rain would provide a slow soaking—the earth was so dry that anything heavier would cause flooding. She opened her eyes, feeling a little dizzy as her energy level returned to normal, and sighed. If only she could really be there. Element Island was amazing, but she longed to be able to visit all the places her mind took her.

Book back for book one, Elementris

There are people born in this world with a powerful connection to the earth itself…

They have an unbreakable and extraordinary bond. Every seven years, five people are born on the same day, at the exact same time. The elements bind them; earth, fire, wind, water, and spirit. They call them, Elementris.
Ava Vangeretta is seventeen years old and different. Unlike most born of the element, she was born alone. She has the power of all five elements. Ava is the first True Elementris to be born in many years. As her eighteenth birthday approaches she is faced with a choice. Give up this rare gift and live the normal life she has always craved or accept it and challenge the current True Elementris in a battle to the death!

Ava’s past haunts her as she struggles to decide. In her present, the seasons are colliding together, storms are destroying lives, and love is a dangerous curse. The current True Elementris is behind it all and she will do whatever necessary to keep Ava from making it to her eighteenth birthday. Ava’s decision threatens the lives of the two people she cares about most. Can you choose between love and friendship?

0.99 on Kindle and Nook

Amazon link http://www.amazon.com/Elementris-The-Vangeretta-Curse-ebook/dp/B008IFNX3U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361059558&sr=8-1&keywords=elementris

From Amazon

I can not WAIT till the next book. Stef  |  7 reviewers made a similar statement

I literally read the entire book in less than three days. Summer  |  6 reviewers made a similar statement

Christina has a way of telling a story that pulls you right in, and you will find it impossible to stop. l

Barnes and Noble link http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/elementris-christina-mobley/1114070257?ean=2940016098616

287b2833e9b20ac1d188d5.L._V143414227_SX200_-1Author Bio

Christina Mobley is a married, mother of four, who spends her days caring for her children. She grew up in Florida, living on the banks of the St.Mary’s river, and as a child always had a fascination for storms and the power they wield. The Vangeretta Curse series was inspired by that fascination.

FB linkhttp://www.facebook.com/ChristinaMobleyAuthor?ref=stream

Twitter https://twitter.com/chrissy3680

Goodreadshttp://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17370750-elementris

Link for FB release party http://www.facebook.com/events/101331153383862/

Other Work: Exposure (Coming March 20th)

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

 

Ava turned sure she might see her, but behind her a whole new scene took her dreams hostage. People were running, floodwaters burst from a ruined dam and surged relentlessly towards a dark town while sirens screamed out a warning…

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing? About six years ago.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? No I wanted to be an artist. I’ve been drawing pictures for as long as I can remember. About six years ago, my husband and I decided I would stay home with our four children. We were having a lot of trouble finding child care for my oldest son who has special needs. I started writing about him and the issues involved with having a child with special needs. Sharing something so personal was hard for me, so I started writing fiction. I fell in love and have been writing since.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?    YA. I have always been drawn to the YA genre. When I walk into the library that’s where I go first. I do want to explore other genres in the future.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from? I grew up on the St Mary’s river. When I was little I loved to sit on the dock and watch a storm roll in. When I started writing fiction, Elementris just came naturally. It was like that story had been there waiting, even before I knew I was a writer.

5      What has your publishing experience been like?  It’s been wonderful. I love the connection to readers that comes with being and Indie author.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? I write every morning after I get the kids off to school. I usually sit in my big recliner and have a big glass of Dr. Pepper next to me. Music is a big part of my writing. I love to turn the music all the way up and let the words come.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?  I don’t plan the names or places ahead of time. I come up with them as the story goes. Usually I come up with a character’s name as I write the first scene they are in.

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

Aunt Avalene. She is like my grandmother. She has a caring temperament, but she is also blunt and not scared to kick your butt in gear.

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it? I learned to look at the small things of the world. To write a book about a Mother Nature-like character, I had to look closer at the world around me.

 

10   How did you/do you market your work? Mostly word of mouth. It started slow, but lately it seems to be getting around pretty good.

 

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? I wanted to jump up and down. It was unbelievable! It’s still amazing to me that something I thought up in my living room is being read and enjoyed by so many different people.

12   Favorite authors?  Nora Roberts. Ann Rice.

 

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? Music always helps me. Sometimes you just have to walk away for a day or so. I think telling myself that I cannot touch it for a while kicks my brain into action.

 

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? Read everything! Also, don’t worry about what anyone is going to think about your book while you are writing it. Just write the story you want to read. You cannot force it.

 

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it? I’m working on book three for The Vangeretta Curse series, a vampire/fallen angel novel, a children’s book, and re-working a novel I wrote a few years ago.

Leave a Reply

