Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Mimi Tulane

Welcome to Mimi Tulane! She write contemporary erotic romance and she is interviewing with me this evening! I want to thank her for participating in this exciting event! Thanks so much everyone for keeping up and enjoy the interview!

Profile Picture Me (2)Title: Curiously Curious
Author: Mimi Tulane

Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance, African-American, BDSM
Website: http://www.mimitulane.com

Blog: same

Social Media connections: www.facebook.com/authormimitulane

www.goodreads.com/author/show/6979633.Mimi_Tulane

https://twitter.com/MimiTulane

Release Date: March 6, 2013
Where to buy:  http://www.bookstrand.com/curiously-curious
Reviews: http://www.myearnestreviews.com/

Other Work:  None

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

Imani Stuart is a thirty-year-old secretary with what she feels is a cushy job. She has the hours she loves, the pay is top notch, and when the days are slow she is content to fantasize about her sexy boss Mac to pass away the time…until she stumbles upon a curious find within his desk drawer, a find that blurs the lines between private longings and untold desires.

Jonathan “Mac” Mackenzie is a man that knows what he wants and gets it. At thirty-three, he seems to have it all. When he sets his sights on his hot little secretary, he knows he wants to be more than just her boss. Despite his charm, good looks, and success, one part of his life, a hidden lifestyle, threatens to unhinge the perfect working relationship.

Can they each find what they truly desire, or will the journey ruin the friendship they hold dear?

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?  

I’ve written short stories for friends and family since about the age of 12. I didn’t get serious about it until three years ago when I started a hobby I continue today role playing. I started off with a blog and posted short stories I’d written. From there I thought maybe I should try to submit something, worse case I’m told no!

 

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I had several dreams but writing has always been the foremost. At one time, I wanted to make films namely screen plays and direct but never pursued it.

 

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? 

I’ve written several stories ranging from contemporary romance, erotica, paranormal and even fantasy. To answer your question, I do indeed love to mix it up!

 

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

When I wrote Curiously Curious, I was inspired by people I’d met in “the life”. I   found it intriguing enough to want to create a fictitious world that uniquely included African-American lifestylers. For the most part, however, my stories stem from my imagination. I dream up worlds, different scenarios and see them vividly like a motion picture in my mind, from beginning to end. Once I “see” it I try to translate the imagery into words that allows the reader to visualize what they are reading, hopefully as vividly as I see it in my mind. I am also inspired by people I meet, music I listen to, my hopes, fears and dreams.

 

5      What has your publishing experience been like? 

Like a Cinderella Fairy Tale. I had hopes of becoming an author but to finally have that dream realized is beyond words. However I had no idea how in depth the business ends of things went from start to finished product! The edits, the approvals, the book cover! It has been a step by step learning experience for me and I love every minute of it!

 mt-curiouslycurious (2)

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I don’t know if it’s a routine but I can be a bit OCD about how I get down to business. For the most part it starts with what I see in my mind. I make an outline more like a script with scene this or scene that. I give a back story or bio for each of my characters then sit down to write it all out. Time of day doesn’t matter since I am now a stay at home mom. I try to write when it’s quiet which generally means after my children are off to school; But not always. Sometimes scenes become so demanding they wake me up out of my sleep. I’ve been known to “get in my zone” and write for hours at a stretch. I lose track of time because I get so into the stories I write. I become one, if you will, with the world I’m creating. Like a voyeur, I am seeing the action even as I write it. I also use soundtracks! I have to have sexy music playing when I write a love scene or dramatic music for tense encounters! Depending on the scene is how I tailor my soundtrack. I think I even give each character a theme song! Yeah I’m weird like that!

 

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

Well most of my stories are set in cities where I have lived. I’m ex-military so I travelled quite a bit. Curiously Curious is set in my home town of St. Louis, Missouri. I weave a bit of my personal life into my characters, personality traits of different family members and friends. As for names I have this thing where the name must have a certain “flow”, meaning they have to roll off the tongue and make an impression. I love strong dominant sounding names for men and soft sensual sounding names for women. Did I mention I was weird like that?

8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

Oh wow, I love both my hero and heroine equally but if I was forced to choose between the two Mac would be the one. He’s a sexy paradox that makes for the total package in my book. He’s dominant but not domineering. He’s firm yet gentle. He’s strong but not overbearing. Above all he respects the fairer sex and isn’t threatened by an unconventional woman. At least that’s how I see him. The kind of man every woman should have!

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

I learned so much. I learned about a lifestyle that is not openly discussed among African –Americans even if they do subscribe to it. I learned how to respect the process of trial and error, researching and interviewing knowledgeable parties. Above all I learned how to use the review function in Microsoft Word!

10   How did you/do you market your work?

I mostly use word of mouth since I have a big one! I use social media like Facebook and recently Twitter. I even made a book trailer for Youtube! I’ve been fortunate to meet other Authors (Like yourself) that offer avenues such as blog tours or networking opportunities that help me share my stories with others. I also owe a lot of my fan base to role playing, a hobby I became involved in several years back. I’ve collaborated with some of the most unsung writing talent out there! Writing with them has honed my skills, impacting my personal life with the beautiful friendships and adopted family I’ve gained along the way. Some of whom have also gone on to be published writers themselves!

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Shock. I kept staring at the book cover for hours thinking: That’s my story! Those are my babies! They have an official voice! I cried for an hour with tears of joy. I felt blessed and humbled by the chance to share my passion.

 

12   Favorite authors? 

I have several so forgive me if the list is too long. The late L.A. Banks is at the top of my list. She was the first African-American writer I had come in contact with that wrote stories featuring people of color that were shape shifters, vampires etc. I was fortunate to have spoken with her via Facebook a few times and she turned me on to other writers such as Brandon Massey, Steven Barnes and Tananarive Due. They inspired me to dream up worlds with heroes and heroines that I could identify with. Not to exclude or have a racial bias but as a way to showcase the richness and diversity of my people, in settings other than the hood!  My writing reflects my taste in genres. I hope to see even more black vampires, shape shifters and aliens! I hope to see more leading men and women of color, in all genres, written by all writers. I’ve come across a misconception that you have to have a certain voice to write a black character. True you may not have a firm grasp of things culturally or environmentally significant to the African-American community if you are a non African-American writer but that’s where your research comes in!  I think you just have to have the right story to let your characters shine! My other favorites are J.R Ward, Zane, Joey W. Hill, Keri Author, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, James Patterson, Lora Leigh, Beverly Jenkins and Mrs. Francis Ray. 

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I don’t know that I’ve had a really hard writers block. What happens with me is writing is an emotional thing for me. Because I am Manic Depressive, I tend to write according to how I feel. If I’m up and going strong, in the zone, the ideas are flowing like a river. If I’m down or in a low, it’s hard for me to find the motivation to even handle the home front, let alone write. I’ve learned to keep ideas “on tap” I have note book where I scribble my ideas for WIP and future stories. That way they are close at hand when I seem to lack the motivation to create.

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Who Me? I am a new writer! My advice is to love what you do no matter what. Good reviews or Bad, indie published or self published, blogger or napkin writer!  Just enjoy the process and cherish your journey. And never ever give up!

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?

I have plans for maybe two more books to go along with Curiously Curious and a few other stand alone works in progress. My notebook is filled with possibilities so who knows?

 

 

Leave a Reply

