Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Diane Rinella

Only a few more days left and the blog tour will reach it’s conclusion!  Tonight the spotlight is on writer Diane Rinella.  Thank you so much Diane for sharing this with us and readers, enjoy!

DianeRinella-1

BIO

Diane Rinella – About the Author

 

 

Enjoying San Francisco as a backdrop, the ghosts in Diane’s 150-year old Victorian home augment the chorus in her head. With insomnia as their catalyst, these voices have become multifarious characters that haunt her well into the sun’s crowning hours, refusing to let go until they have manipulated her into succumbing to their whims. Her experiences as an actress, business owner, artisan cake designer, software project manager, Internet radio disc jockey, vintage rock n’ roll journalist/fan girl, and lover of dark and quirky personalities influence her idiosyncratic writing.

 

She is currently completing the sequel to Love’s Forbidden Flower. You can visit her website at www.dianerinellaauthor.com.

 

 emailgraphic2

 

 

Love’s Forbidden Flower Back Cover copy

 

 

The heart cares not what society forbids.

 

Lily nurtures a secret love for a flawless man—the one who is her soul mate. Donovan is gorgeous, charismatic, and delights in all of Lily’s talents and quirks. Their innate knowledge of each other is almost telepathic. Together they interlock like fine threads creating luxurious silk.

 

But society dictates this picture-perfect adoration is the ghastliest of all possibilities.

As Lily embarks on a quest for the romance the heavens intended, her suitor turns reluctant. Desperate to uncover why Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hiding decayed from a tender-hearted gentleman into a ferociously self-serving, cocky bastard, Lily is prepared for battle when it comes to the salvation of her soul mate. However, Donovan traps Lily in a mental game of chess, leaving her to question his sanity. When Lily’s revelations about Donovan’s destructive alter ego lead to an unconceivable truth, can she help Donovan survive fate’s cruel joke?

Impassioned, witty, and deeply moving, Love’s Forbidden Flower is filled with stunning controversies that will forever haunt your heart.

 

Love's_Forbidden_Flo_Cover_smallTitle: Love’s Forbidden Flower
Author: Diane Rinella

Genre: contemporary romance with a civil rights message
Website: http://www.dianerinellaauthor.com

Blog: http://www.dianerinellaauthor.com/blog-2

Social Media connections: https://www.facebook.com/DianeRinellaAuthor, @DianeRinella, http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6592108.Diane_Rinella

Release Date: November 29, 2012
Where to buy:  Amazon
Reviews: http://www.amazon.com/product-reviews/B00AFHTK4U/ref=cm_cr_dp_syn_footer?k=Love’s%20Forbidden%20Flower&showViewpoints=1

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16181908-love-s-forbidden-flower

Other Work:

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

His hold on me tightens, more so for me than for himself. The heat of our bodies, down coats, and wool blankets is barely enough to keep us from shivering. But the warmth from his heart gives me hope for the real Donovan. We stare at the lights of the town below for a long time before he speaks, “I needed this.”

“Yeah, I kind of figured.”

“Lily, how is it you’re always so strong and sure of things?”

“I’m strong because I decided a long time ago that I had to be, else I would wind up like Mom and I’m subservient to no one. As for being sure of things… There are some things I’m not so sure of, but when my inner voice controls my lips I know it’s right, so I don’t question it.”

Putting his chin on my shoulder he pulls me a little closer. His tone is sincere, but his actions claim territory. “You’re lucky to be in love with Christopher. He’s exactly what you need right now.”

“I never told you that. How do you know I’m in love with Christopher?”

He tucks my hair behind my ear and leans in as if fearing someone may hear his confession. “You and I still know each other better than anyone. I see how you look at him. I’ve seen that look before.”

How truly pathetic is this moment?

“You know, you’re pretty tight-lipped, but when you do say something you really go for the gut, yet you don’t admit anything, so I’m never completely sure if you’re saying what I think you are. Is that what last night was about?”

“Last night’s upset was a drop in the old bucket. But I mean it; you’re both very lucky. He loves you more than I think you realize.”

“I’m very much in love with Christopher, but let’s face it, there’s something going on here with us. Like it or not—admit it or not—it’s there, it’s real, and it’s strong. And it’s not just some passing physical thing. It’s buried deep in my soul and rips at me constantly. So for now, I just take each day as it comes.”

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

It’s something I’ve frequently done on whims. A littler over a year ago I became serious about it.

 

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

My first love is acting. I’ve done it for ages. Since acting teaches you how to become absorbed in a character or a situation, writing is a natural extension.

 

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? 

My head dances with characters and scenarios. So far the ones that have gripped me the most have been unconventional romances. I can’t see ever writing something that isn’t off-beat or doesn’t contain taboo subject matter.

 

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

While watching a film, The Buttercup Chain, I became frustrated by a subplot that was tucked into the background. Two cousins, who were raised as siblings, have a very strong attraction. The girl is fine with the situation while the guy is freaked. Every time he came close to acting on his feelings he would back off with no explanation as to why. I kept hoping for some kind of gratification, but in the end I almost threw the remote at the television in frustration. Then I let my mind wander with “What if?” Before I knew it I was writing.

 

5      What has your publishing experience been like? 

Mostly, it has been incredible. Naturally there are frustrating aspects. Finding my audience has been the most challenging, but when I find members, the rewards have been high. I choose to see the positive. No matter where this road takes me, I am meeting incredible people along the way, be they fellow writers or fans. (I never dreamed my writing would bring genuine fans!) I try to see only the good of the journey.

 

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

It depends on my mood and what I am writing. One of the character’s in the book, Christopher, is very much like the people who raised and influenced him musically. He is actually an amalgamation of many 60’s British rock stars. I listened to a lot of Hollies and Small Faces when I wrote his scenes.

 

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I had a definite system for this book. The characters that I want pulled into the foreground all have three to four syllable names. Background characters have only one or two syllable names. It was an intentional way to guide the reader.

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

It depends on my mood. I have huge book boyfriend crushes on both Donovan and Christopher. Lily and I share a lot of personality traits—self-reliance, advanced in culinary skills at a young age, liberal views, and internal snarkiness. I totally get her. In choosing one though, it would be Donovan. So many women want to run off with that man!

 

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

I learned several things. First, I got a lot of negativity from the industry for writing an honest love story about a transgressive couple, making me question my own sanity. Then I published and started talking about my work. People’s eyes bugged out. When asked if they wanted ARCs they practically screamed, “YES!” Now those ARCs are spawning sales. Going with your gut is invaluable. Second, my compassion deepened immensely while writing Love’s Forbidden Flower. I knew the situation was not exactly rare, but I had no idea how common it is. 10-15% of all collage age people have had some type of romantic relation with a sibling. Just because you choose not to see something, it does not mean it isn’t there.

 

10   How did you/do you market your work?

That has been very difficult. Not only do I fall in a grey area with genres, I wrote a novel that is highly controversial, yet I want to downplay that fact and focus on the hearts of the characters. The two don’t mix. Publishers either wanted the relationship of the characters to change or to switch the genre to erotica. Either of those moves would kill the story and the civil rights message. After a lot of trial, error, and review reading, I am finally getting it narrowed down. Basically, my audience is open-minded people who like emotional novels. How do you classify that? It was a risky move for a debut novel, but I’ve no regrets.

 

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

I forced myself to take a moment to really appreciate and take pride in the accomplishment. At first I was so nervous that I didn’t want to look at it, but then I reminded myself of how much work went into it and how many times I have heard people say they want to write a book, yet they never have. I did it, and I let myself be proud.

 

12   Favorite authors? 

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton has always been a favorite. I love how I can get into Ponyboy’s head. (Or does he get into mine?) I love the story line of Second Sight by David Williams, where a woman is haunted by her past life and gets drawn back into it. I also own a totally battered set of Jacqueline Susann novels. Valley of the Dolls is the most brilliant rubbish I’ve ever read.

 

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

With me it is brought on by a lack of confidence, either about myself or my work. Once I find the source, I just need to work my way through it. Life then falls back into place.

 

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Write the story you want to tell. We live in a wonderful era of a publishing revolution. There is no one out there who can stop you from writing and distributing your work. However, don’t just write and hit the publish button. Get as many people as you can to read your story and give honest opinions. Make the improvements you feel are needed and edit, edit, edit! Hire an editor. Do the best you can to catch every tiny misuse of a comma, but respect that even major publishers miss a lot or errors. Hit the publish button with pride. Know that bad reviews are inevitable. (Even the greatest classics get bad reviews.) Celebrate that you have done what so few others dare.

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?

While Love’s Forbidden Flower can be read as a standalone book, there is so much more to tell. You can’t have two soul mates and end their story when they are 20. Lily and Donovan made life-altering decisions that will result in life-long consequences. Time’s Forbidden Flower will be released in late 2013.

3 responses to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Diane Rinella

Leave a Reply

