Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Jim Henry

I am pleased to welcome Jim Henry, a fellow PDMI author, this evening.  He is a scifi/fantasy writer and I am so glad he participated in the tour.  Thank you so much Jim!  Enjoy the interview everyone!

mypicTitle: Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus
Author: Jim Henry

Genre: Scifi/Fantasy
Website: http://jimhenry.webs.com

Blog: http://blogspot.authorjimhenry

Release Date: June 22, 2011
Where to buy:  http://www.amazon.com/Antiquity-Calais-Ascending-Olympus-Henry/dp/1453706453/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363862854&sr=8-1&keywords=antiquity+calais+ascending+olympus
Reviews:

 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars A though provoking and compelling read…, August 22, 2012

By

Daniel Cooney (San Francisco, CA) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

This review is from: Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus (Paperback)

A thought provoking and compelling read is what I came away with after reaching the end of author Jim Henry’s Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus. A well-written story that would ascend Mt. Olympus itself while keeping the reader intimately engaged with the characters. Highly recommended.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Report abuse | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction Fantasy with a Strong Backbone!, August 8, 2012

By

V. Kimball (Texas) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

This review is from: Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus (Paperback)

When Jim Henry wrote this book, he wanted to give it backbone, a story behind each of his fantasy driven characters. This is what good fantasy is made of…the whole picture, not just the main characters. Immediately, you are thrown into a whirlwind of activity with Antiquity Calias. And Leviathan Avalon is one bad guy! Jim Henry builds the story carefully, detailing the events that lead up to the ultimate battle of good vs. evil!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Report abuse | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Good vs Evil!, August 8, 2012

By

PamelaSee all my reviews

This review is from: Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus (Paperback)

If you love a good vs evil story that keeps you enthralled all the way through, this is a book for you! Highly recommend
Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Report abuse | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, August 4, 2012

By

thoughtshowerSee all my reviews

This review is from: Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus (Paperback)

Fantastic book. Kept the readers interest at all times. Although not a particular fan of the whole science fiction/fantasy genre, i found this to be a real triumph. Looking forward to reading future works by this author

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Report abuse | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love a good bad vs evil story, August 4, 2012

By

Bruce Goldwell “Author” (Florida) – See all my reviews

This review is from: Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus (Paperback)

I don’t know about other people, but I always love a good story of good vs evil. So if you are like me and want to enjoy a good scifi fantasy end of times mythological novel then I recommend this one. Be warned.. don’t start reading this if you have a hard time putting books down that get your blood pumping.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Report abuse | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Antiquity Calais, October 16, 2011

By

Wendy MarionSee all my reviews

This review is from: Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus (Paperback)

2 very enjoyable books. Kept me wanting to read more and more and of course … I must now wait for the third installment. I think the idea of astral projection, the chariot, Satan and Avalon, Mundoo Asquith, the Coffee Shack, Hecatoncheires, all come together with the gods of Olympus Mons to create a great adventure.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Report abuse | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

Other Work:

 

Antiquity Calais: Standing at Armageddon

Antiquity Calais Christmas: How the Liberator Saved Christmas

Stories from the Trunk – Breaking All Thy Rules

Star Lovers

 

OlympuscoverPlease provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

Chapter One: Heaven Doesn’t Want Me and Hell Is Afraid I’ll Take Over

            If there had been blood in Leviathan Avalon’s body, it all would have been in his head; if there had been hair on Avalon’s head, it would have been on fire; if Antiquity Calais had been right next to him, Avalon would have paid him no attention. Leviathan Avalon, for 1,000 years, had served the Prince of Darkness as his most prolific Destroyer. But as the Lake of Fire in the entrance chamber to Hell boiled and churned below, Leviathan Avalon hung from tethers suspended from his ankles to the roof of the chamber. His arms dangling below him, tethers that had previously held him standing upright were, at that moment, a matter of inches above the flames in the Lake of Fire.

Just the slightest increase in the waves of flame would light those tethers like wicks, a fact that was not lost on either Satan or Avalon.

“Satan! You are a no good, lying, deceitful bastard!”

Avalon screamed, as Satan sat upon his throne overlooking the Lake of Fire. This was Satan’s favorite place in Hell, because it afforded him the perfect location to view damned souls going through their final transformation. As the souls entered Hell, they still more or less looked human. That condition would last only moments, though, as they plunged into the Lake of Fire. Engulfed in flames, these souls learned firsthand what pure pain felt like. Writhing, thrashing and gasping as they emerged on the other side of the lake, these creatures no longer resembled anything remotely human. And as they had for most of their lives on Earth, they cursed the Creator for their lot in life.

This was ultimately to be Avalon’s fate, according to Satan’s plan, but instead of allowing Avalon to plunge into the Lake of Fire immediately, Satan wanted to prolong his agony as long as possible. For it no longer mattered that Avalon had destroyed countless lives over the past millennium. All that mattered was that Avalon had failed so miserably in the battle against the Creator at Avalon’s ancestral home, the Castle of Armageddon. At the conclusion of that battle, Avalon was blasted with a barrage of energy when his own mighty blast rebounded off the protective aura surrounding Antiquity Calais. Before he knew what was happening, Avalon was falling into a black hole, at the bottom of which was a portal that led directly to Hell. Satan knew Avalon was returning home, and at the moment he emerged into the entrance chamber, Satan conjured the tethers and bound them to Avalon’s ankles and wrists.

As Avalon continued to utter insult after insult at Satan, the Dark Lord only seemed to enjoy it more. Satan was legitimately enjoying blasting the helpless Avalon with a barrage of energy bursts, sapping the once great Destroyer of his enormous reserve of power. The pain Avalon was experiencing was unendurable. In time, Avalon began to try to separate his consciousness from his soul, to diminish the pain. If only he could access some solar energy, Avalon reasoned, he could retaliate in some way. Even if he could not hope to defeat the Prince of Darkness, he would have relished the chance to see the expression on Satan’s face, just as he realized that Avalon would not go quietly. Satan laughed mirthlessly and maniacally at Avalon’s protests and promises of vengeance, which only enraged Avalon more. Satan reveled in the fact that Avalon was providing so much more entertainment than he had expected.

Then something curious happened. It was unclear even to Avalon why he should be gifted with a moment of clarity. But much to Avalon’s elation, he was so-gifted, and even though that moment of clarity passed as quickly as it arrived, Avalon knew what he must do. It may have been the shock, panic, and fear that engulfed Avalon, but suddenly he realized the answer to his problems was all around him.

Everywhere he looked, there was energy. There was energy in the lake, energy creeping up the tethers, which had finally caught on fire, and even energy blasted at him by Satan himself. Plus, he knew how to access these sources of energy, and once procured, he knew what to do with it. Avalon closed his eyes and stretched his arms as far as they could go. Even though the flames continued to move up the tethers toward his wrists, Avalon kept his eyes closed. Inch by inch the flames crept closer to his wrists, but Avalon did not flinch, and instead kept his arms straight out, trying to come as close as he could to the flames in the lake.

Satan could not have had a sense what Avalon had planned. If he had even the slightest inkling, he would have blasted the remaining tethers attached to the ceiling, dispatching Avalon into the Lake of Fire immediately. Satan must have thought the glow he could discern growing in Avalon must have been a side-effect of the energy blasts he had been dispatching. He must not have noticed that Avalon seemed to be reaching to come closer to the Lake of Fire.

Instead, Avalon engaged in a series of actions so rapidly that Satan had no chance to respond. First, by virtue of drawing energy directly from the Lake of Fire, Avalon dispatched two blasts in rapid succession, directly toward Satan. The first landed squarely in Satan’s face, and caused him and the throne on which he sat to fall backward. Just as the throne fell, a second blast arrived, landing forcefully into Satan’s groin, sending him hurtling backward until he stopped when his head hit the rock wall behind him. Then Avalon turned his sights on the tethers holding his ankles, and he sent a much smaller amount of energy at them, to release them from his body. This, of course, caused Avalon to plunge down toward the Lake of Fire. Fortunately for him, he still had plenty of energy in reserve to fly away from the lake, though if he had any hair on his body, it certainly would have burned by the time he began to ascend away from the lake.

Rapidly, he began flying against the grain toward what was usually the entrance to Hell, but would serve his purposes quite nicely as an escape route. Before he reached it, however, he turned and faced his former master, who was just trying to get up to retaliate. Before he could, however, Avalon unleashed one more major blast of energy. This one, however, was not aimed at Satan, but instead into the Lake of Fire itself. The confluence with Avalon’s blast and the energy already present in the lake caused a sudden surge in the flames, causing a veritable tidal wave of flames that rose up and thoroughly engulfed the Prince of Darkness in fire.

Avalon did not stay to see the flames engulf Satan. He did not need to see such carnage. For the first time since Satan and the fallen angels left Heaven, Satan’s pain was 1,000 times as great as that Avalon endured just minutes before.

Content with the level of havoc he raised, Avalon flew out of the chamber and began his journey to resume his war against the Creator and his Liberator, Antiquity Calais. To do this, Avalon knew he had help he needed to recruit.

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

Age seven, writing stories about my annoying neighbors.

 

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

 

I self-identified as a writer as soon as I learned to read. However, early on I was also fascinated by astronomy, particularly after fourth grade when I did an astronomy project for my Science Fair project. Once I learned you had to be good at math to be an astronomer, I started writing about characters who went into space. I’m still doing it!

 

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? 

 

My novels have been scifi fantasy, but I am beginning to diversify. Star Lovers is an adult scifi short story. Stories from the Trunk – Breaking All Thy Rules is a fantasy spoof/comedy short story. Even Antiquity Calais Christmas: How the Liberator Save Christmas is more of a children’s story than the other Antiquity Calais books.

 

I am really pleased, however, to have a whole new series of non-fiction humor books coming out from PDMI Direct publishing. The series is collectively called The World According to Crash and the first installment is subtitled Miscellaneous Stuff & Stuff. That book is scheduled to come out in April.

 

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

 

The opening scene of Antiquity Calais: Standing at Armageddon actually came to me in the form of a vision I received while receiving an energy therapy treatment, as I recovered from a traumatic injury I had sustained. The villain of the series, Leviathan Avalon, is loosely based on the man who injured me, and writing that book literally opened the floodgates for the rest of that series. Once I started writing the first book, more and more ideas would come to me, so I used Armageddon as a launching point, introducing different elements that would be featured later in the series.

 

The World According to Crash: Miscellaneous Stuff & Stuff, as well as the other future books in that series, is a collection of articles I have written over the past five years, many of them on hubpages.com, although some will also come from postings on Facebook as well. So there will not be chapters per se, but individual articles.

 

5      What has your publishing experience been like? 

 

Let’s put it this way. I am not ready to quit my day job, if that is what you mean, but I am happy that joining the writers’ community online has opened doors for me. For example, because of contacts I have had among authors, I have been able to establish an editing business named What the Heck is a Bunganut Editing that in the first four months in operation I already have more contracts for paying customers than I have ever had in sales for my books.

 

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

 

Actually, both of your examples are part of my routine. I am seated in my green recliner in my living room listening to Youtube videos. Sometimes I share the videos I listen to on my Facebook wall and let people make requests. It’s like the good old days being on the radio.

 

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

 

A lot of online research when it comes to names of places. Names come from different places. The name Antiquity came to me out of the blue. Calais is the name of a town in northern Maine (as well as France), and as a French Canadian by descent, I wanted a name with a French sound to it.

 

Gillian, my female lead, as I envisioned her character I thought she bore a striking resemblance to the actress Gillian Anderson, so I gave her that first name. Her last name is a bit of a mystery why I chose it. Her last name is Usha (at least until she and Antiquity formally hook up), and I once had a doctor whose first name was Usha. The curious thing about it is that my doctor was from India, but Gillian is a southern belle, so it is a bit of an odd combination.

 

I do not recall where I came up with the name Sherman Yazu, but Mundoo Asquith I do recall, at least the first name. Initially Mundoo’s character was going to be like a Professor Snape type whose heart was essentially in the right place, but still did some nasty things. In time, I decided I did not like Snape for those character issues, so why should I create a character like him? However, when I chose the name, I was looking for a character name that had similar split personality characteristics.

 

Mundoo is actually the name of a god in the Algonquin Indian lore. He was both feared and loved, which fit the type, and there was a question about whether he was good or bad at any given moment. In my books, Mundoo comes from a planet named Algonquin, and the tribe of Indians on Earth took their name from his planet in his honor when they began to worship him as a god.

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

 

If I had to choose, I would say Antiquity, because I have put that guy through more hell (literally) than any of the other characters. And it’s only going to get worse as this series progresses.

 

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

 

I learned that I could still write books after many years away from this type of writing. I wrote fiction all through my teen years, but once I got into college and began work as a journalist, all my creative juices just stopped flowing.

 

10   How did you/do you market your work?

 

Anything. Everything. I’m constantly thinking up new ideas. For example, if you go to my books’ kindle pages on Amazon, click on the Look Inside feature. In the front of each book, there is a screen shot of a youtube video. If you click on that link it will take you to a youtube video I did advertising all my works. Since I did that, sales have been up across the board.

 

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

 

You want to know what? I was prouder when I first finished the book than when I held it in my hands for the first time. It was kind of a solemn moment for me when I decided I had done enough to perfect the book, and decided to self-publish it through CreateSpace.

 

12   Favorite authors? 

 

Big name authors, J.K. Rowling, Richard Bach. I also have many indie authors whom I like on a personal level who are also very talented writers. At the risk of missing names, I will refrain from mentioning anyone specifically. Just know that I love you all!

 

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

 

Yeah, for 12 years! How did I get out? I was assaulted and nearly killed by a drunken neighbor who bears a striking resemblance to Leviathan Avalon from my books. How’s that for irony?

 

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

 

Do not expect overnight success. If it happens, don’t forget us little guys, but most people who come into this expecting their first book to go on anyone’s best seller list will never write or publish a second book.

 

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?

 

I already mentioned about the World According to Crash books, but I am also working on the next two installments in the Universal Life Force Series. The next book out will be Antiquity Calais & the Children of Light, followed by Antiquity Calais & the Wrath of the Cryptids.

Leave a Reply

