Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: M.R. Joseph

Tonight M.R. Joseph’s interview is being posted for the Spring Fever Blog Tour.  She writes romance and is talking about her experiences as an author.  Thank you so much for joining the tour and enjoy the read everyone!

MR_Joseph_photo

Title: “You Belong With Me” Reunion Series, Book 2

Author: M.R. Joseph

Genre: Romance

Website: authormr.joseph@facebook.com

Social Media connections: Facebook

Release Date: March 18, 2013

Where to buy: amazon.com for Kindle & paperback

Reviews:

Other Work: Reunion By M.R. Joseph, November, 2012 ( Also Available on

amazon.com )

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

He swore if he tried hard enough he could smell her, feel her, and hear her laugh. He often closed his eyes and imagined her touching him and the endless shivers he felt when flesh came in contact with flesh. Carter craved it like a drug. He missed her smile. The brightness it gave her eyes. The warmth it gave his heart. It made his soul feel complete but now he felt like his soul was empty. Many nights he laid there feeling a tear drift down his cheek. Gazing up at the ceiling and missing seeing her face above his. Her blonde waves flowing over her shoulders and her bronzed skin shimmering against his. It was nothing more than a hallucination.

Carter London- You Belong With Me, Reunion Series, Book 2

REUNION_2_FRONT

Mini Interview:

 

1. When did you first start writing? I first started my writing experience back in

July of 2012. I read all the time as a child and a teenager, then I grew up, attended college, met a great guy, got married and had babies. Reading was temporarily put on hold. My sister convinced me to read the 50 Shades series.

After that, I fell back in love with reading. I kept my book a secret until Christmas Eve of 2012, where I announced it in front of my entire family and gave all thirty members a signed copy of the book. Only my husband and my closest cousin knew my secret. It was one of the best days of my life. Seeing their reactions was priceless.

2. Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I always wrote short stories when I attended college for several of my communications courses, but that was as far as it got. I think I have always been creative, but to put pen to paper was something that didn’t intrigue me.

I originally went to college for Musical Theater. I attended The University of the Arts in Philadelphia for a short time. I wound up becoming a dance instructorfor several years and continued to sing for weddings.

3. What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? I am very much into the Y/A and Romance genre. It’s my passion. I would very much like to someday write a Biography. I know so many people who have fantastic stories to tell and I would love to create their story and put them stories to paper.

4. Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

Music. The story in “You Belong With Me” came to me in three songs. I was

listening to internet radio one day and I heard this song called Falling by

Iration. It’s a cool, beachy type song. It set the stage for the location of the

story and I picked the location based on one of my favorite vacation spots in

Florida where I spent many a summer visiting. The second, a friend of mine

brought to my attention and it’s actually how I came up with the title. The song You Belong To Me by The Dupree’s is an oldie and just so happens to be my parents wedding song. That song holds a special place in my heart so it was a given to use it. The third is the song Ho Hey by The Lumineers. I love the

words and it popped in my head while driving in my car one day. I needed to

use it as an inspiration.

5. What has your publishing experience been like? It has been great. When the first book went live on Amazon for the Kindle, I found a few things that I need to double check on before submitting, but all around it’s such a great experience for independent authors who are looking to self publish.

6. Do you have a certain routine you have for writing?

I do! And It’s fantastic for me! Ha, Ha. My husband bought me my very first writing desk in January. It’s located in my bedroom which I now call my writing lair. When I put my kids to bed at night, I make a cup of tea, or on the weekends it’s another kind of beverage of the adult kind, stick on my P.J’s and slippers( smiley face), put on my internet radio for inspiration and write till the wee hours of the morning. Sometimes if I have an idea that wakes me up early enough to write about, I may start to write before the sun comes up. It’s so quiet in my room and I feel like it’s my time.

7. How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I am a big lover of having the same first initials. The characters in my

first book were Savannah and Sam, the names for book two are Carter and

Casey, and for book three which is in the works, is Luca and Leighton. The

places I write about are based on my some of my favorite places I have

visited. The first book took place in Philadelphia where I live, the second takes place in Indian Shores, Florida which is on the Gulf of Mexico. It is located very close to Clearwater, Florida. I vacationed there as a kid and a young adult. One specific beach I write about in the book, is my favorite! I like to write about places I love and have created memories at.

8. In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

I would have to say Carter London is my favorite. He is a hopeless romantic

like myself and wears his heart on his sleeve, which I do as well. I’m always

wondering how guys really see girls. Are they as love sick at times as we are?

So when I create a male character in love, this is how I’d like to imagine him

and hope that there is some truth to it.

REUNION_2_BACK

9. Did you learn anything from writing your book? What was it? I have to

tell you truthfully that I learn something new every time I write a word. In this

particular book I learned about taking chances in life. I took a chance nine

months ago when I decided to write the first book and to have it self

published. I now think if you don’t take a chance on something, you may

always have that regret in the back of your mind. I decided I did not want to

live my life that way.

10. How did you/do you market your work? I am a big fan of Social Media so that is the route I am going at this moment, but I have learned a lot more marketing tools with this book and many indie authors who I have made

friends with have given me so much wonderful advice on how to market it

better. I plan on creating a blog and a website in time for the next installment

of the series. I am learning new things day by day and it’s fantastic.

11. Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? Well, I cried when the shipment of the paperbacks came in the week before Christmas, and went live on Amazon, I jumped up and down and my kids thought I was nuts. Ha, Ha. Honestly, It was like when I found out I was pregnant with my kids. Not on the same level of course, but I kind of considered it my baby of some sort. I held it in my hand and realized I made this, I accomplished it. I took the chance.

12. Favorite authors? Oh good Lord where do I begin??? The long or short

list? Ok, well I’ll give you a few of my inspirations and they are mostly all Indie authors. Here goes: Nicholas Sparks, Kristen Hannah, S.C. Stephens, Julie Prestsater, Kristen Proby, Jade C. Jamison, Katie Ashley, Monica Murphy, Georgia Cates, Colleen Hoover. That’s the short list. They are all so super talented and becoming friendly with some of them has left me a little star struck.

13. Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? I did at one point during the writing of this book and to be honest with you, it was the writing of the sex scenes that had me stumped. I never wrote one before intensely, so when It came time to, one took me six hours. It was the most difficult thing about the process. Believe it or not. The next night I went to dinner with my best girlfriends and the next day, the scenes were flowing like a river! I let off some steam and it allowed me to focus on the task at hand.

14. What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? TAKE CHANCES!!!

That’s all we have. Have no fear when taking them either. Let your creativity

flow and don’t be afraid to try new things. I’m still learning so much and by

allowing yourself to try new things, you get to see what works best, what’s

most affective, and most of all have fun with it!!!!

15. Are you working on anything new? If so, can you tell me about it? I sure am! Book three in the reunion series is in the works and God willing will be ready in July of this year! It is the story of Leighton Parks. Smart girl in high school who is kind of nerdish and not a part of the popular crowd. She pines away for star Baseball player Luca Ferro, the most popular guy in school. She loves him from a far, but he has no idea she exists. Luca starts to receive love letters from a secret admirer in high school all the way up through the end of college, they affect him in a way that he never imagines, then it stops. When their high school reunion quickly approaches, the letters begin again. Leighton returns after living in New York and she is the only one that holds the secrets of the love letters that have turned Luca’s world upside down for years. That’s it for now! Look for “At Last” Reunion Series Book 3 in July of 2013!

Leave a Reply

