Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Solease M. Barner

The spotlight is shining on Solease M. Barner tonight!  Solease is also presenting some character photos and bios for us to enjoy.  Those will be featured at the end of her interview.  I am so glad she joined us for the blog tour.  Thank you so much Solease!  Enjoy her interview folks!

IMG_1495 copyBIO

Solease has used writing as an outlet since grade school. While at the University of Michigan she was forced to take literary classes and her love for writing increased even more. Solease graduated from the University of Michigan with a Bachelors in Sociology. She then went on to graduate from Kaplan University with a Master’s in Criminal Justice. During her time in higher education she continued to write with a deeper passion for writing. Her career passion is Criminal Justice, but her first love is writing poetry and short stories. This love lead her to write her first novel ‘The Sleeper’, the first book in the Secrets of the Ghosts trilogy.

Title: Secrets of the Ghosts-The Sleeper
Author: Solease M. Barner

Genre: Mystery/Fantasy
Website: http://www.soleasembarner.com

Blog: http://www.soleasembarner.com/news

Social Media connections: https://twitter.com/

https://www.facebook.com/TheSecretsOfTheGhostsTrilogy

https://www.facebook.com/solease.marksbarner

https://plus.google.com/u/0/101571444440721172399/posts

Release Date: July 2012
Where to buy:  Amazon, B&N, Smashwords, OmniLit, Kobo, Kindle, Nook, Powells, FriesenPress and many more places. All eReaders including iTunes.

Reviews: In Solease M. Barner’s intriguing debut novel…
Barner breathes new life into the common trope of a protagonist
leading a double life by having Holiday narrate the
novel in a matter-of-fact tone. Readers cannot
distance themselves from Holiday’s affectionate
family moments or from her emotionless
murders because she recounts her own actions,
making the sex scenes steamier and the killings more shuddersome.

~Jill Allen, Clarion Reviews

Other Work: Secrets of the Ghosts-AWAKENS book 2

552920_256734457773154_1481636210_nPlease provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

I hang up the phone. There is nothing left to talk about. Either he will get me some hard information, or there is no need to talk again. I walk around the beautiful courtyard when another sister shows up.

“Hello, my name is Sister Ruby. It looks as though there is trouble on your mind, daughter.”

She is a young nun, not over forty, and very pretty even with all those clothes on. She smiles and sits on a bench. Sister Ruby pats next to her for me to come and sit. What the hell? I’ve got nothing to lose, so I sit next to her.

“It really is beautiful out here. It shows what life can be. I’m sure you didn’t expect this from looking at the outside of the temple.” She smiles at me as though for me to agree. I don’t speak. I don’t know this lady. Nun or not, I trust no one right now. She could be dangerous for all I know. So I just let her talk and I listen as I think about where to take Joe and Evey for safety until this is over.

“Sometimes the outside may be all beat up and can deceive the eye, but within there could be much beauty to discover.” Sister Ruby smiles and places her hand on my shoulder.

I really listen then, placing my other thoughts aside. What is this nun talking about?

I have no time for this. I know she may think she can find some good in me, but that was gone a long time ago. I am a killer that is what I do best. I can’t even remember the last time I shed a tear for my crimes. I know what I am and beauty is for someone else. I am a beast, inside and out. The feelings I have are for a very select few.

“That sounds really good, Sister, but what does this have to do with me?”

“I just want you to know that being one way on the outside is not always what you are on the inside. You can allow the beauty to come forth from the inner part by peeling away the outer,” She says with concern. Her face is so warm and friendly.

I’m not getting into a deep convo with this lady; not now. I have too much on my plate. I am sure she knows what I do because these are Orenda’s connections and they tend to keep her secrets very well. Orenda is just that good.

“I see what you’re saying and it sounds really good. Maybe that will work…for someone else, but let’s not play games. I kill people all the time. Women, children, and even a nun or two, so I will not even think of beauty right now. For what I plan on doing, Sister, the only beauty will be how well-planned the slayings of my enemies will be. I have to go, but you pray for my husband and my daughter. For me, there is no prayer you can pray. I am a killer and will leave here and kill more and that is a fact. Have a good day enjoying the beauty,” I say with hostility.

“I am sure you know the dangers of telling our secrets?” I ask, realizing all I have said.

“I never heard a thing.” She smiles.

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing? I started writing pretty young. I wrote poetry first and still do to this day.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? No absolutely not, I never thought about being a writer until a few years ago maybe 4years. I was going to be an attorney. In fact I have a Masters in Criminal Justice and was accepted in law school. Then things happen and now I can’t see myself doing nothing but writing.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?   I think I have to say it will be a mix up with me. I like mystery with fantasy and I just recently started a new series that is in another genre J . I will always mix it up.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

For this particular story Holiday and her sisters developed really from a poem I created. The poem or characters came alive to me and the story began to live in my head and that is where book one came from. This book “The Sleeper” is special to me it got me through a really tough time in my life and so it was a world that I created from my mind and I really enjoyed living there.

 269263_10151288343777982_1420518546_n

5      What has your publishing experience been like?  LOL. I didn’t know anything about publishing a book. I had to learn everything and in fact I’m still learning.  

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? When I write I usually listen to music before I write a certain scene. Once I’m writing I like complete silence and I usually write in same outfit J and have water on screen on breaks. It’s relaxing for me.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? The characters decide the names lol No really I usually pick names that is fitting for that character. The name should fit the character to me. I really let the personality of the character decide the name it may not make sense but it makes perfect sense to me.

 

8      How did you/do you market your work? I use all avenues to market my book, social media, word of mouth, book signings, giveaways All ways that could get my name out there. I do interview also J

 

9      Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? The feeling was very emotional for me. I was laughing and crying at the same time. I was proud of myself that I actually had did it.

10   Favourite authors?  I have too many to name J

 

11   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? Yes, I have suffered from the “writer’s block” and I pick up a genre that I’m not writing and read a book, go for a drive, go get a drink something to relax and then come back and try again.

 

12   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? Never give up on writing if this is what you want. Keep writing no matter what.

 

13   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it? In the fall the final book in the trilogy will be out. I will also be introducing this summer two new books of a new series in paranormal romance. That I will keep a secret for now.

ziva_david_by_ever_winchester-d5dq3ft          ziva_david_by_loveedelric-d4m0p4f         ziva-david-cote-de-pablo-free-and-screensaver-321937

Holiday Mary Jones-Towley is the Main Character and she is Jewish. The story is told from her point of view in Novi, MI.

Holiday is married to Joseph John Towley. Holiday is 24 years old she is one of six girls. Holiday holds a very

special gift. She loves her family very much. She works as a wedding planner Oh so it seems!!

452d129030641910b99858f6cbd73119

This is David. His last name is not revealed, yet. David is Holiday’s ex-lover. David moves around and comes back into Holiday life to help her. David also has a nickname for her and her only. David wants Holiday and will stop at nothing to see her in his bed again. David is a great dancer and can Speak 10 different languages. David is also good at charming the ladies. David is 25 years old. David Blue eyes are Holiday down fall they are simply Irresistible!

865bd32958ec8a64a07bd8ec02fd8640

This is not an exact, but very close when I write about Joe. This is Joseph John Towley (Joe) and he is 26 years old married to Holiday.

He loves Holiday very much and would do anything for her. He works in marketing. He is lean muscular, piercing green bedroom eyes.

He is very romantic and such a great father. An awesome lover and is very attentive to his wife and his daughter needs.

Leave a Reply

