Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Lavinia Urban

FOR SOME ODD REASON THIS DID NOT POST LAST NIGHT. I APOLOGIZE, SO I’M POSTING IT TODAY. TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES I GUESS? It still isn’t posting to twitter, so here goes another try.

Tonight I am interviewing Lavinia Urban.  She was one of the first people who took a personal interest in me and interviewed me about my work.  So, tonight, I’m giving the spotlight to her.  Thank you so much Lavinia for interviewing me and thank you for being a part of this blog tour!  Enjoy the interview everyone!

pic of meBIO

Lavinia grew up in a small town in Cheshire, England, before moving to Scotland in 2000.

She now lives just outside Edinburgh with her husband Ian and their two daughters Erin and Kasey-ray.

Lavinia has been writing since an early age, something that both her children have inherited. She started with writing poetry, one of which was turned into lyrics for a song. By the age of 14, Lavinia had written seven books in an unpublished series.

After moving to Scotland she stopped writing for a while, it was only after writing a short story for her eldest daughters school about anti bullying and how you should stay in school and learn, that Lavinia felt the yearning to write again; this was also helped by her eldest daughters thirst for literature when she asked her mother to write her another story. This was how this book series came about.

      eRINFireG_Book1Cover copy         

Title: Erin the Fire Goddess: The Beginning  & Betrayal
Author: Lavinia Urban

Genre: YA Fantasy

Blog: http://laviniaurban.blogspot.co.uk/

Social Media connections:

https://www.facebook.com/ErinTheFireGoddess

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lavinia-Urban/155524154584975

Release Date: Book 3, Erin the Fire Goddess: Torment, will hopefully be released in April
Where to buy:  Amazon, smashwords, barnes & noble, kobo, and many more
Reviews:

Review for Erin the Fire Goddess: The Beginning

http://www.amazon.com/review/R11RPA0MTUO2EI/ref=cm_cr_pr_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0085L3SDC&linkCode=&nodeID=&tag=

eRINFireG_Book2Cover copy

Review for Erin the Fire Goddess: Betrayal:

http://www.amazon.com/review/R25EP4GS6SCX3H/ref=cm_cr_pr_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B009WWIXWY&linkCode=&nodeID=&tag=

 

 

urban verse coverOther Work: Urban Verse

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

Here is a unedited sneak peek at Erin the Fire Goddess: Torment:

 

For the first week, after that awful incident, I stayed at the cottage and cried. Just when I thought I was all cried out and my body couldn’t take any more fresh tears ripped through me, leaving me feeling drained; both emotionally and physically.

The feeling of helplessness ripped through me as I would drift in and out of consciousness. Everything swirled around me in a blur. Only one thing I was sure of……………….the rain. It beat down heavily, not letting up in the slightest. It seemed to echo my sorrow. However, I knew the cause of the rain and this brought fresh waves of sadness, humiliation and anger. How dare he be sad!

Towards the end of the week was when the fire inside me began to grow. It was unlike anything I had ever felt before. It started in my heart; the flames building with every pulsating beat. Then slowly it spread, causing me both pain and anguish. I would scream in horror as the feeling of being cooked from the inside out took hold of me.

My parents looked on helplessly, unsure of what was happening or how to stop it. Dr Hammersmith arrived and concern was etched on his face as he watched me squirm in unprecedented torture.

“Help me” I begged of him one day as he sat beside my bed “Please. Help me” The fire was burning my throat, making it difficult for me to talk.

Often I would catch glimpses of my body as I tried to see any of the flames, but my skin remained untainted. To an outsider I just looked like someone with a slight fever. Oh how I wished that was true.

“Here. Take this” Dr Hammersmith told me one morning as he burst into the cottage carrying a bottle of orange liquid.

Not waiting for a response he lifted me up and placed the bottle to my lips as he urged me to drink.

The liquid was thick and slimy and at first I was repulsed and tried to break away “You must drink” He urged as he tilted the bottle to my lips once more. I relented and drank deeply, finishing the whole bottle.

At first nothing happened as my panic stricken eyes stared at Dr Hammersmith. But just as I was about to ask him what it was he had given me and why it wasn’t working, when something strange started to happen.

“Oh” I gasped as the feeling of ice coursed through my veins, slowly dispersing the fire within and making it recede back to where it had come from as it slowly shrank and retracted back to my heart; where it faded with a fizzle and a hiss. Like the sound when someone throws water over a fire. “Wow” I leaned my head back down on my pillow and closed my eyes.

Everywhere and everyone went quiet as everything seemed to wait with bated breath to see if the drink had worked and what were the effects. The only sound that could be heard was the sound of the rain that was lashing at the windows.

“That’s it!” My mum, Kate, seethed. “I’ve had enough!” Anger ripped through her as she stood riveted to the floor near the doorway. “We have to make him stop” Her eyes closed, her head tilted up and her arms outstretched, with palms facing up, just as tiny sparks started to leave her fingertips. My dad, John, quickly followed suit. His eyes closed as his head tilted up. He then grabbed my mums hand as I watched in awe just as thunder and lightning ripped through the skies, just outside the cottage, making me jump. I had never seen them do this before and it was truly breath-taking.

No sooner had it started then my mums mobile phone started to ring. Silently, Dr Hammersmith stood up and retrieved the phone from the night stand.

“Hello Kelly” I could hear the panic in Kelly’s voice as she spoke, in what sounded like, at supersonic speed. “Alright dear. Yes, yes. It will stop” He nodded before saying goodbye and replacing the phone back down. “Time to stop” His voice soothed as he looked at my parents. “The rain will cease”

I watched as my parents eyes slowly opened and their arms fell to their sides. They gave each other a triumphant smile just as someone knocked on the front door.

“Can I come in?” I heard Scott call as he opened the door

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

I was about 11 or 12. By 14 I had written 7 books and hundreds of poems.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

At first yes but I was a young girl and I had no idea how to get into the publishing world. I sent of my work to numerous publishers only to receive them back with a little note telling me that they do not accept unsolicited documents. So I decided I would train to be a lawyer instead lol

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? 

My main book series is YA fantasy genre. But I also writing, what I plan to be, a thriller. However time will tell, as I have had school children asking if I can make it a YA fiction book lol. I just don’t want to be stuck in that genre.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

My eldest daughter Erin inspired me to write my current series. She was getting bullied and I wanted to show her that she could rise above it and believe in herself

5      What has your publishing experience been like? 

After I wrote the first book in my ETFG series I tried to go through a publisher. However after 5 rejections I was on the Harper Collins author website and someone told me how to self publish. It is the best thing I have done. The only downside is marketing, promoting etc. I am awful at it.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

No I do not have a routine, but when it is late and everyone is in bed I tend to stick the music channels on.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

The main character and her sister are named after my two daughters. All the other names I either tend to grab from thin air, or I name them after my readers 😉

As for place names, I remember when I was doing an author talk at my childrens school and I asked if they recognized any of the place names. It was the teacher who put her hand up and asked if they are named after street names in the next village over

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

I would say my main character, Erin. She is a young girl who is bullied for how she looks. She finds strength from inside her to overcome the bullying and the surprise when she discovers she has special powers.

I am the writer but it does not stop me from rooting for Erin. I often have conversations with myself and say ‘Oh I hope Erin will be okay’ etc. But I already know what’s coming lol

 

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

I have a wild imagination lol.

I remember showing one of my best friends my first published book and her reaction was ‘When the heck did you become so talented?’ That certainly made me laugh

 

10   How did you/do you market your work?

I struggle to market. I am in the UK and I am getting a good fan base here. I give author talks etc. But in other countries it is a slow progress, but I hope I will eventually get there

 

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Oh My God. It was truly amazing. I remember bouncing around the school playground, when I went to pick up my youngest, and telling everyone I saw. It is such an amazing feeling. And when you get that first sale…… wow.

I am still waiting my first royalty cheque though lol

12   Favorite authors? 

Oh there are so many. I love Stephen King, Danielle Steel and Isla Dewar.

I also love a lot of true life stories about bad childhood experiences.

Then there are my  author friends. I love Alexia Purdy and Kristie Haigwood, they are both such talented ladies.

 

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

 I have honestly never had writer’s block. I never write from A to Z. I write what is in my head, then when that runs dry I will leave that alone and work on a different part of the book, then go back and fill in the gaps. I tend to write the middle, beginning, end, then fill in the gaps.

 

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

 Never ever write from A to Z. Write what you feel. Have fun with it. If you are not enjoying writing then why are you doing it?

 

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?  I am currently writing the third book in my ETFG series, called ‘Torment’, plus a bonus book for it called ‘The Diary of Elizabeth Tait’ and also a zombie book. But with the zombie book there is a lot of research going into that so I do not know when that will be complete.

Leave a Reply

