Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Cindy Sprigg

I’d like to welcome tonight’s guest, Cindy Sprigg.  She is an author and illustrator.  The title she’s featuring tonight is Composed in Blood.  Thank you so much Cindy for joining the blog tour.  Enjoy the interview everyone!

Composed in Blood new coverTitle: Composed in Blood

Author: Cindy Sprigg

Genre: Horror

Website: cindyspriggsfanpages.weebly.com

Blog:  cindyspriggbooks.blogspot.ca

Social Media connections: Author/Illustrator Cindy Sprigg

Release Date: June2011

Amazon Reviews: Most Helpful Customer Reviews 5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. Seriously disturbed and amazing horror. January 25, 2013

By Kamilah S. Bryant

Format: Kindle Edition

This book was gifted to me by the author for an honest review. Thank You. It has been awhile since I have read any Horror. My interest in books spans all genres. I used to read only Fantasy and Science Fiction, then I read only Stephen King, then I started reading Romance, but only Paranormal Romance, recently I started reading more Contemporary Romance. I also like reading YA, especially YA Dystopian. So now I feel like my reading interests have gone full circle back to Horror. I should pick up some Science Fiction/Fantasy while I am it. I used to be a fan of scary movies too, and I guess I still am though I haven’t watched any in awhile. Slasher movies aren’t something you can watch too many of with a small child in the house. I think a good horror tale should have just enough of the creepy and macabre to draw you in and keep you there quivering in terror until it’s over. A good horror story makes you jump at strange noises in the night. A good horror story is something you remember long after you’ve finished reading it. Cindy Sprigg’s book drew me in with the very first line and didn’t let go. The son of an incestuous relationship, Tommy lives in a shack surrounded by the bodies of his dead grandparents. Tommy was horribly abused by his grandmother and he grows up to be a crazed killer. A down on his luck writer, Jake, finds a body and thinks he may be on the verge of finding a really great, scary story. Jake is drawn into Tommy’s madness. “The novel was now telling him he must supply victims to feed the boy, to feed it. The novel was everything; the story was his soul.” The writing in this book is amazing. It is descriptive and full of tension. The pacing is perfect. “A tale designed to make the reader both afraid to turn the page, but at the same time afraid not to.” The story is twisted, messed up, bloody and scary. But it is also kind of sad. I feel sympathetic towards poor, crazy, killer Tommy. If you like Silence of the Lambs, Dexter, Psycho, or Saw than you will appreciate Composed in Blood. The dynamic between Jake and Tommy also reminded me of the 2006 movie Bug with Ashley Judd, based on a play, about the disorder where one person is drawn into another person’s delusion. The book is amazingly terrifying and after reading it you may need to sleep with a light on. Tommy and Max’s story is one full of pain, blood and death. And Jake’s descent into madness is seriously twisted. There is so much going on in this book. Sprigg seamlessly collects several fragments and weaves them into a whole. Thank you for this amazingly, disturbed, twisted tale, oh Mistress of the Macabre. After reading it all I could think was ‘Wow’.

Other Work: many short stories.

Sometimes They Get Big!

The Sentinel

Has Anyone Seen Susan?

Changes

Is it a Ghost Story You Want?

Man’s Best Friend

Ice Dreams

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

As he looked at his Grandmother, a movement on her arm caught his attention. A mass of flies buzzed on the decaying limb. A large fat worm-like creature drew his eye. He picked up a carving fork and poked at it. There was a slight popping feeling as its flesh yielded to the fork’s pressure and he brought it nearer to his face for closer inspection. He wondered if he could use these as bait to catch a fat catfish for his dinner.

Mini Interview:

logoWhen did you first start writing?

In 2007. My son bet me that I could not write a story.

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

Empress of the Universe. Until that came to pass, I wanted to be a vet. but settled for balloon bursting. Writing is something I have no choice about.

What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?

I just transcribe the stories: I have no idea where they come from, but when they do, they fit into one class or another. I just want them out of my head.

Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

I have no idea. It took me over and made me take it down over a period of a few weeks, and would not be opposed.

What has your publishing experience been like?

I have had negative experience with a POD company, otherwise all my stories have been published as ebooks. I am trying constantly to find a traditional publisher, but so far no luck.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I have old movies plying in the background, that I know well, which minimizes interruption.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

They are walking around and talking in my head. The writing is the way to exorcize them.

In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

A story I am working on right now features Satan; he has a great sense of humor, and I find him very attractive as a character.

Did you learn anything from writing your book? What was it?

I learned a deal about aberrant psychological behavior. A well known author commented to me that certain background factors rang true as to the actions of psychotic killers.

How did you/do you market your work?

I put it for sale as an ebook on Amazon. The promotion takes up a deal of my time, getting my name known both to the public and in the business.

Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

It is very hard to describe the feeling that you get, somewhere between relief that it is finished and pride in your latest baby.

Favorite authors?

Amongst the modern masters, I like Stephen King, Peter Straub, Clive Barker and Neil Gaiman as well as James Herbert. Amongst older writers, I like Ray Bradbury, H.P. Lovecraft and Mervyn Peake.

Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I find that I get blocked on a particular story: I just put it away in the “Oh Christ” file, and try on a different story. Works for me, so far.

What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Reach for your dreams, and make it happen. There are always good reasons for settling for something less.

Are you working on anything new? If so, can you tell me about it?

Several things;

A MEDIEVAL ROMANCE NOVELLA:

UPON THE FINS OF THE UNICORN

Prologue

Gone are the lush forests of my youth. The trees now stand bare of leaves as if locked within winters spell and the clear running streams that once meandered their way through the kingdom have long since dried up. I myself spent many a lazy day frittering away the hot summer hours, lost in dreams at the edge of one of these streams, as a worm at the end of my line teased a trout into biting.

Through the eyes of an old and dying man, I look out over fields once ablaze with a rainbow of colours of the many flowers and wild grasses, now brown and overgrown with scrub brush and brambles. A land where wildlife once abound and unicorns could frequently be seen, frolicking carelessly on a hill side, grazing at forest’s edge or drinking from the nearby stream.

A land where the sounds of children’s laughter at play was mixed with cheerful sounds of the songbirds above, was now a land where only the cries brought about by hollow bellies permeated through the stone fortress and its out buildings.

As the morning sun burned the mist off the hill tops, that surrounded the castle walls, I could hear the sound of hooves on the cobblestones of the court yard below. It was the King and his men, readying themselves for the morning hunt. I knew that they would return empty handed, as they had every morning for many years now, ever since the unicorns left.

And so, without further ado, myself being one of the older members of the castle’s inhabitants, I have taken it upon myself to record the story, before it is forgotten to all, of how a once thriving kingdom, one of the richest in the region, now lies in distress.

An account of a Heterosexual man with A.I.D.S as a time-line of what was happening on the planet as the epidemic took over

Before I being the story, or rather the telling of Joe’s story, I’d like to explain how this book became and why I felt I was the right one tell it.

When the idea first hit me, I thought how would I, an author that had only produced fiction in the form of, horror, Science fiction, and Children’s stories ever expect to respectfully produce the memoirs of a man with such a deadly and controversial disease.

Then I thought, who better, for aren’t Aids and the virus that causes it, HIV, the very elements one looks for in a good story. The Virus itself is the very element for a science fiction. A virus that has a long incubation time, and one that can be past from one carrier to another so easily, mutates constantly, effects the entire immune system, and thus far the host never survives. It is so horrible and revolting, it causes us to run away in fear. And so as little children trembling in the dark, afraid of the unknown, unless we learn to concur it with knowledge and understanding, until such time, I give you THE BOGGEY MAN!

PROLOGUE

“Step right up! Step right up folks! This way to the freakish sideshow displays of the century!

In this cage you’ll see one of our biggest attractions, one of society’s outcasts. Yes here standing before you is a heterosexual, HIV positive male. Oh sure you all are interested, but no one really wants to see, unless at a “safe” distance” His chains are public opinion and shame, his bars Social ignorance and fear.

I give you, THE BOOGEY MAN!”

As well as several short stories…that are always on the go

Leave a Reply

