Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Jessica Roscoe

Tonight I’d like to introduce Jessica Roscoe.  I would also like to thank her for her participation in this blog tour and for her interview.  Enjoy the read folks!

Author photoTitle:  Wombstone (A Vampireland Novel)
Author:  Jessica Roscoe

Genre: YA paranormal
Website: jessicaroscoe.net

Blog: jessicaroscoe.net

Social Media connections:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Wombstone-A-Vampireland-novel/119054381506021

 

Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17208007-wombstone

 

Release Date:  1st March 2013
Where to buy:  amazon, smashwords, kobo, barnes and noble, sony store…

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Wombstone-The-Vampireland-Series-ebook/dp/B00BKG8VJK/ref=la_B00BKQ5KLM_1_1_title_0_main?ie=UTF8&qid=1361753357&sr=1-1

Createspace (paperback):

https://www.createspace.com/4180905?ref=1147694&utm_id=6026

 

Smashwords:

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/289085

Kobo:

http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Wombstone-A-Vampireland-novel/book-6gJkEDihZkiss-7spFBwWA/page1.html?s=bucuTD7VaEekfqBlWc6hng&r=1

 

Barnes and Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/wombstone-jessica-roscoe/1114770294?ean=2940044337381
Reviews:

5 stars: http://worldsofwonderment.blogspot.com.au/2013/02/review-wombstone-by-jessica-roscoe.html

 

Other Work:

Book #2 in the Vampireland series, The Vessel, is due late 2013!

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

“Mia!” Ryan snapped, grabbing my shoulder and shaking me out of my thoughts.

“What?” I yelled. Tears filled my eyes but I refused to let them spill over.

He let go of my shoulder and spoke in a softer voice. “I know this is hard for you. There are things happening right now that you can’t even begin to understand. Just remember this: You’re not dead. It was close – you were almost dead. You can see them again,” he gestured to the photo strip in my hand, “but first I need to make sure you’re safe. The people who were after you in Mexico still want you back.”

I glared at him. “Is this supposed to make me happy?” I asked coldly. “Because it doesn’t. At all.”

He looked genuinely confused. “I saved your life after you jumped out of a window. You nearly bled to death. You should be happy.”

“I never asked you to save me,” I snapped, feeling sick for the thousandth time. “I asked you to leave me there to die, remember?”

He shook his head, got up and left the room. I slammed the door behind him with a satisfying crash.

I took a deep breath and looked around my new cage. It sure was pretty, but it was still essentially a cage. The only things missing were a length of chain hanging from the ceiling and a dead girl in the corner.

You know, I like you. I might just keep you after Caleb’s finished.

I pressed my palms to my burning cheeks and wondered what the hell could possibly happen next.

jessica roscoe wombstone cover SMALL 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

When I was seven, I wrote a short story about a girl with a haunted house and a pet phone who spoke to her. My teacher printed out copies and stuck them to the library windows so that whenever someone walked past they would see it. That was when I decided I wanted to be a writer.

 

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

Always, always! I’ve loved writing and reading since I was a little girl. I ended up studying film at university but I did a minor in creative writing J

 

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?

I love mixing it up, but at the moment I adore working with vampire, witches, shifters and the dark world they inhabit.  

 

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

That’s the million dollar question, isn’t it? And the truth is, I have no idea. I get my ideas when I’m driving, or walking, or taking a shower. I don’t know where they come from and sometimes it seems as though I am just the medium taking down notes for someone else. I am given these stories and if I don’t write them I feel like I will burst. It’s always strong emotions that influence my writing – I want the reader to laugh, cry, be shocked and smile the way I do when I am living the story in my head.

 

5      What has your publishing experience been like? 

Awesome! Scary! Frustrating! I self-published without querying traditional publishers first. I am the most impatient person in the world! I’m also a bit of a control freak and enjoy the complete control I have over the writing, editing, design and distribution process.

 

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

There is a lot of chocolate and cups of tea involved. I have a laptop so its pretty much wherever, whenever I can find a spare half an hour. As a mum that’s not always easy!

 

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

Sometimes I really like the names and other times the character comes to me fully formed, with a name of their own already. Ivy was originally called Ruby, but then I named my little girl Ruby, so I changed the characters name to Ivy (which I love equally). Ryan was always just Ryan and popped into my head as-is. Same with Mia Blake. They chose their own names!

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favourite character and why?

Ooh! That’s a hard one. I love all of my characters! I have a soft spot for Mia because it’s her story. I also really like Clair and can’t wait to tell her story of being the daughter of a hunter who has been raised in the vamp’ hunting life. I like strong female characters as you can probably tell.

 

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

I learnt SO much. Apart from al the practical stuff like cover design, editing, formatting, plotting, cliffhangers, distribution, and all that jazz, I also learnt how much I’m capable of. When I was writing the bulk of this story it was with an eight month old baby who had just started sleeping through the night. I learnt that if I am capable of producing an entire novel during this intense part of my life, I can do anything J

 

10   How did you/do you market your work?

That’s a learning curve I’m still in the middle of. I did a release party, am currently doing a blog tour and there is another blog tour planned for April. I bought an ad on a popular paranormal website and I also sent my book to quite a few reviewers.

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

My paperback arrived in the mail yesterday and it was a defining moment in my life, for sure. It was exhilarating!

 

12   Favourite authors? 

So many! Paullina Simons, Stephen King, Richelle Mead, Kim Harrison. Christopher Pike is such a great YA writer. Also Lili St. Crow, her Strange Angels series is superb.

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

Definitely. It is usually when something else is going on in my life, or when I’m not excited about the story. So the solution for me is to figure out and deal with whatever is happening in my life so I can move past it, and/or work on something that makes me excited.

 

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

 

Keep going. Have faith in yourself and have fun! Also, spend some time doing some serious writing BEFORE you have children. Those little people suck the time out of your day in ways you couldn’t imagine, plus they are so much fun you just want to play with them all day. I think of all the books I could have finished before my little girl came along…

 

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?

I’m working on a few things at the moment. I’m ten thousand words into The Vessel, which is the sequel to Wombstone. I’m also working on a short story about Clair, one of the characters in Wombstone, and her hunter origins. Both are so exciting for me!

Leave a Reply

