Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Doree DePew

Tonight’s featured author is Doree DePew, contemporary romance writer.  You can find her work on Amazon and she is also involved in the social networking that most authors are involved in.  Thanks so much Doree for participating.  And thank you readers for following the blog.  Enjoy!

Doree Facebook 2 001Title:  It’s Pepper Time
Author:  Doree DePew

Genre:  Contemporary Romance
Website: http://www.DoreeDePew.com

Blog: http://www.doredepew.weebly.com

Social Media connections: http://www.amazon.com/Doree-L.-Anderson/e/B00BUDKL00/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Release Date:  June 10th, 2013
Where to buy:  Amazon
Reviews:

Other Work: The Heart Goes On

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

Again, the bell rang. Thinking of her mysterious lady, she quickly whipped the door wide open and blinked. Again. And again. The change was uncanny.

“Shouldn’t you check before you open your door?” a deep gruff masculine voice asked.

“Yeah, well shouldn’t you be someone’s cute old granny?”

“Doubtful.” His attitude didn’t dance with laughter, and his rugged good looks didn’t tilt the thick lips at the sides either. Hmm, obviously lacks a sense of humor. She raked her eyes down his body, looking, she reasoned, for the ghost of Christmas future. Instead of an old rumpled, grey goose-down, long-length coat, he wore a gentleman’s overcoat, black slacks and a gleaming set of wingtips. Kae decided that the safer of the evening’s two visitors had already left.

“Are you Roark O’Neil?” She swallowed. If it wasn’t, damn she was glad.

Her head and eyes requested another once-over, checking out this possible ‘play date’ and decided–if it was, damn she was glad.

“I am. And you must be Kadence Taylor?”

“Kae,” she said. “Would you like to come in for a minute? I need to grab my coat.” She closed the door behind them, leaned against it, and wondered if there was even a small chance that she could get herself out of this. Renee said he could hold his own in a room full of good-looking men. She never said he’d win. She turned and measured up the treat before her.

Donald had been good-looking, with a swimmer’s build. Roark’s swimmer’s build extended into a full muscular ‘T’. It would take her an hour to nibble around his neck, a whole night to make a meal out of him. She licked her lips in anticipation and her stomach followed with a room-filling rumble.

“Sounds like we need to get you fed.” Roark chuckled.

She handed him her red wrap and he placed it on her shoulders.

Her body shivered and goose bumps rose as his hot breath moistened her ear, “I’m looking forward to removing this when we get to the restaurant. I can’t stand to close the curtains on a beautiful view.”

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing? I told stories about a buddy (imaginary)to my brother and mother and would write them down. They thought I should write them up and turn them in for creative writing class. My teacher (Junior year of high school) was quick to point out that I had no imagination and might want to consider another career. It broke my heart. I laid my pencil down and didn’t pick it up again until I was in my fifties.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? I did but it was my secret. When I was ready, I began articles regarding nursing item for the units that I worked on. Then I got a job with a newspaper and realized my creative mind had finally developed.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? I really enjoy writing children’s adventures but a good romance is fun as well so I do whichever one is poking around in my brain.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from? Something I’ve heard around me. A situation that a friend is going through or an article I’ve read. The Heart Goes On is from my own experience. It was written as a cleansing and a caution to other women that you do not stay with men like that. I found a loving man, but had I stayed with my first husband, I wouldn’t be around right now.

Heart Book Front copy5      What has your publishing experience been like?  Eye opening. I had been so discourage by receiving all these rejection letters because ‘we’re looking for a different type of blah, blah, blah. Or, the genre is overflowing with that type of book at this time, your type will simply break the thin line. Your story, your characters are unbelievable. A ghost can’t do that. Well, personally, I don’t know exactly what a ghost ‘can’ do but I, as a writer, think they can. It’s fiction. My beta readers think that the book is good and three quarters of them don’t know me from the thin line I’m breaking so, I’ve decided to do it alone. (the real reason God made fingernails replaceable, I’ve been through a few sets) Doing something with blinders on is scary, but I did it. I’ve made some major boo boos. But, I’m learning and will continue doing that until I’m in the ground. I don’t see myself going back to the thrill of querying. And being my own boss, I think I’m a lot more critical.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? Silence, for me is golden. If I listen to music it has to be instrumental only. If I can sing to it, I will. I prefer an open room over an ‘office’. My husband and I are empty nesters so I have a house to myself during the day.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?   My names come straight from my ‘big book of baby names’. The places are familiar to me. I’ve been there and I see it in my mind the whole time I’m writing.

8      In your most recent work, who is your favourite character and why?

I like Noreen O’Neil in this series. She is a strong, loving woman who carries a wicked spatula. She’s raised six sons to men that are responsible, God fearing, intelligent men that provide for themselves and that every mother in the world would push their daughters into marrying. She trusts her family and tells the girls that date them, that if they can’t trust them as well, to test them. “Never accept from what you’ve heard, test the truth to your satisfaction.”

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it? That language changes daily. What you think you know, you’ll find you are still learning. Another thing I’m learning is about reviews. You may think that you have read a review so horrible against you that you want to quit. Don’t. There will be worst and there will be better, but not everyone will review it the same. It’s your book. If you thinks it ready, then get it out there.

10   How did you/do you market your work? My favorite part about writing for middle grade children is the school assemblies. They are fun and the best way to market you books. Besides book signing, and passing out cards, post cards, etc, I do the internet, face book and Goodreads.

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? Couldn’t take my eyes off of the cover. Just amazed and had to keep telling myself, ‘yeah, that’s mine. I did it.’

12   Favorite authors? Samuel Clemons, Harper Lee, Stephen King, Charles Dickens,  Sir Arthur Conon Doyle, Susan Howard, Lori Foster, Robert Crichton

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?  Oh yes. It’s frustrating. I’ll set the writing aside. Just put it away. I’ll do some tole painting or find something like yard work to do. Anything to get my mind off of it. Then, spend another day, brain storming but without pencil or keyboard. Using a tape recorder and on a long walk or during a long soak in the tub, I’ll spit out random thoughts. The next day, I’ll start the next day with a sprint write session about something on my desk for ten minutes and that usually will break through the writer’s block. I’ve learned that if I don’t fight it, it will last less and less. My last block was a soak in the tub.

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? Get comfortable with mapping. Interview your characters. The more you know about them, the more you can have a happy relationship and an easier manuscript.

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it? I have an obnoxious ghost that’s decide she’s attending a senior prom and she doesn’t care if is in a tux or in a dress.

3 responses to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Doree DePew

Leave a Reply

