Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: JD Nelson

Good evening everyone!  I hope you have been enjoying the blog tour so far.  Tonight I am spotlighting JD Nelson, another adult paranormal romance writer.  Below you will find her interview.  Thanks JD for participating.  Enjoy the read folks!

author photoTitle: Night Aberrations

Author: JD Nelson

Genre: Adult Paranormal Romance

Website: www.NightAberrations.com

Blog: http://nightaberrations.blogspot.com/

 Social Media connections:

 JD Nelson’s Fackbook Page – www.Facebook.com/NightAberrations

JD Nelson’s Facebook Fan Page – www.Facebook.com/JDNelsonsNightAberrations

JD Nelson’s Super Secret Fan Club – http://www.facebook.com/groups/269730583130725/

JD Nelson’s Google + – https://plus.google.com/u/0/115772111161122207827/posts

JD Nelson’s Twitter – https://twitter.com/NightAberration

Release Date: 9/27/12
Where to buy:Amazon.comand Barnes and Noble

Other Work: A Night of Wickedness (Erotic Paranormal Romance)

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

From A Night of Wickedness:

I tried to keep from fidgeting. I’ve never met a vampire before. They were very rare because of the aforementioned staking issues. “Um…no thanks. I just couldn’t stand us getting off to the wrong start. I can’t deny that I did sense that you were in there, but I really wasn’t trying to spy on you. My curiosity got the better of me. I’m very sorry.”

“I hope that is true. I don’t cherish the thought of you seeing something private between me and the guests I occasionally host.”

Mini Interview:

1 When did you first start writing?

Almost three years ago. When I began reading PC Cast’s House of Night Series, I loved it so much that I had a fan girl moment and sent her an e-mail praising the series. To my surprise, she wrote me back later that day. In the email, she thanked me and then mentioned that I have an eloquent way of writing. I almost had a heart attack on the spot! After the shock wore off, I started thinking. Was she right? Do I have what it takes to be a writer like her? Needless to say, I went for it. I pulled up a blank word document and started that day.

2       Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

Not specifically, no.  I had no idea what I wanted to be growing up, but I’m happy with just being creative with my books and my day job as a scenic artist.

3       What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? 

So far, Adult Paranormal Romance and Erotic Paranormal Romance have been my only genres. It’s what I like to read. I do have a YA Paranormal Romance in the works for 2014 that I’m super excited to start on. It’s my next favorite genre. J

4       Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

The inspiration for Night Aberrations came from my husband’s Swedish background. Norse Mythology is highly interesting to me. My niece chimed in on a character too. Every book needs a chameleon guy. LOL

5       What has your publishing experience been like? 

I was terrified of rejection from a big firm, so I started my own company, Chaste Moon Publishing. Promoting has been the hardest, without a doubt. Indie authors rarely have the luxury of marketing teams, and I’m no different. Balancing marketing, writing, connecting with fans, and daily life is quite the struggle.

6       Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

Though I like background music or TV, it has to be something I’m familiar with or I’ll become distracted. As far as a certain spot goes—not really. I move from the bed, to my desk, to the car, then to the den. It doesn’t matter where I’m at. I’ll write anywhere when inspiration strikes.

Night Aberrations final

7       How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

For Night Aberrations, I researched Norse and Swedish names and places to be accurate. It’s loosely based on Mythology so I wanted it to be as authentic as possible. In A Night of Wickedness, I used a combination of Greek and American names to go along with the subject matter.

 

8       In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

It would have to be Oswin Morris from A Night of Wickedness. Even though I made him up, there’s something intriguing about him. It’s as if he’s got a secret that he’s hiding, even from me.

 

9       Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

Yes! The most important lesson I’ve learned is that no book is perfect. There will be people who don’t get your work or don’t see it as the bright, shiny gem you do. Even the big time authors have hundreds of critical reviews. It’s inevitable.

 

10  How did you/do you market your work?

One word—Facebook. For an Indie author, Facebook is a necessary tool. Where else can you find thousands of likeminded people to introduce you to bloggers, review sites and potential fans? It has been instrumental in my marketing.

 

11  Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Euphoria? Intense fear? Hope? It’s such a rollercoaster of emotions. It never gets any easier for me.

12  Favorite authors? 

Julie Cassar, PC Cast, JR Ward, Richelle Mead, Molly Harper, Gerry Bartlett, Alexandria Ivy, Ilona Andrews, Willow Cross, there are SO many more!!

 

13  Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

You just have to push through it. I take a shower, or a take a nap. My best ideas come to me when I have no access to a pen, so I usually just put myself into that situation and it gets me back on track.

 

14  What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Write! Have it edited! Write some more. Just get it out there. Have faith in yourself and don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it. I enjoy mentoring up and comers. Their worries and triumphs remind me that that was me only six short months ago.

 

15  Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?

I’m working on the sequel to Night Aberrations, The Fire within the Night. It’s the continuing story of the Norse-lands and the fight against tyranny, but most of all it’s a love story—a pretty hot one! 😉 It’s due out late March or early April.

One response to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: JD Nelson

  1. I agree with you that nothing is perfect and that not everyone thinks the same so you cannot please everyone,

Leave a Reply

