Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Nely Cab

Today I’m spotlighting Nely Cab, a young adult writer.  Nely, thank you so much for the interview and I hope you all enjoy reading it!

Nelyb&w1Title: Creatura , Deus: A Creatura Novella
Author: Nely Cab

Genre: YA
Website: http://www.nelycab.com

Blog: http://www.nelycab.blogspot.com

Social Media connections: www.twitter.com/nelycab

                               www.facebook.com/Creatura.by.NelyCab

                                                                                                                                                       www.facebook.com/nelycab

 

Release Date: 06/15/2011
Where to buy: Amazon, B&N, Books-a-million, Book Depository, Apple iBooks and most online retailers
Reviews:

 

REVIEW FOR CREATURA:

“So lets say I was a little apprehensive when I started to read [Creatura]because I thought maybe I had read other stories like this one BUT, once I got one chapter in, I was SO wrong!! What a page turning book, I could not put it down just about as soon as I started.”

—Bella, Paranormal Book Club

REVIEW FOR DEUS: A CREATURA NOVELLA:

 “Deus: A Creatura Novella is an intriguing tale enlightening us to the creation of the word found in Creatura. Deus and Starr provided intense and comical dialog that kept me enchanted all the way til the end. As each page bestowed insights to the beginning of Creatura, my curiosity was quenched as well as stimulated, piquing my interest in to what happens next. ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!”

—Kathryn V. Spell Grimes, Tsk Tsk What to Read

 

 

Other Work: Deus: A Creatura Novella (Coming Soon), Love is Lethal: A Short Collection of Poems Inspired by Fans of Creatura

In the clouds, I begin to shape her. I name her Starr.

            My fingers work with precision to complete her. I’m still in awe over the level of craftsmanship in my hands. I pause and take a step back to admire my work. She’s like a small wax statue, and something is missing.

I skip back to the split second when I formed my own body. It’s strange to see myself from this outer perspective. As I observe the image of how I looked yesterday, I notice that I’m a hand’s width taller and my wings have grown. I also look very young. I smirk at the thought of what the people in the future would think if they ever discovered that the creation of the Universe was a child’s doing.”

—Deus: A Creatura Novella, Nely Cab

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

I started writing when I was 10 years old, but stopped because I got a rejection from a publishing company. Yes, I was crazy as a child. I submitted a manuscript illustrated in crayons and handwritten in pencil…and stapled together. After that rejection, I thought I needed to learn more about writing, before I submitted anymore works. During my teenage years, I only wrote for my literature classes. I got pretty good grades. It wasn’t until I had resigned from my job to take care of my family and home that I took up writing again—almost 7 years ago.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

No. I did want to be Rainbow Bright, though, along with a whole bunch of other make-believe characters. I was making up stories in my head since I was a kid, but I didn’t think I would really end up writing for others.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? 

YA and New Adult are my favorites.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

Music, dreams and daydreaming to a degree that I don’t even blink. I just let my mind wander and they come to me. My fans inspire me to keep writing, too.

5      What has your publishing experience been like? 

It’s been long, hard, educational and well worth it. Everyday, I learn something new about the publishing world and about marketing and writing. It’s a great daily adventure.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

Depending on the book I’m writing, depends

EBOOK copy 7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I pick names that sound like they fit the character. Sometimes I Google, sometimes I use people’s names that I know.

8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

Starr because she’s just got so much going on in her head and she’s really good at playing dumb.

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

I learned that it’s really fun and really hard to plot out the story, the time line, the characters. It’s become like an alternate world in my head. I love every bit of this writing, even the writer’s block because afterwards, the ideas that come are pure genius.

10   How did you/do you market your work?

Giveaways, interviews, guest posts, Tweets, book trailer, lots and lots of swag. You name it, I’ll do it.

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

I cried. I couldn’t believe I was holding a book that I wrote. It was my childhood dream come true, like when you go to Walt Disney World and you can’t get over the fact that it really is the happiest place on Earth.

12   Favorite authors? 

My favorite writers tend to change with time. Right now, I’m totally enamored with Aimée Carter; Cassandra Clare is next on my list, but I have plenty more.

 13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

Yes! It can last from a few hours to weeks! I learned that to over come it, I have to forget it’s there and ignore it. My writer’s block usually comes from me stressing over how I think that my story is slow and uninteresting. As writers, we are very judgmental of our own writing, and always our worst critic. I find it helps to have a beta reader give me feedback, and that helps me rear me back into the writing process.

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Start off slow and build. Write short stories and plot them well. One of those short stories is sure to embed itself so deep into your brain that it’ll turn into a full-length book. Pay attention to writing styles, and don’t bury yourself into one single style. Your words are a work of art. Let others see how diverse you are and how much of an artist you truly are. Most of all, don’t be afraid of what people may think. Your writing will get better with every word you type. You’ll never know how good you can be unless you try. They say fear is the killer of dreams, and I believe it.

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?

I’m working on the second book in the Creatura series, and a secret New Adult project that’s completely different from what readers are used to seeing from me.

One response to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Nely Cab

Leave a Reply

