Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Brenda Franklin

Tonight’s featured author is Brenda Franklin.  She enjoys writing fantasy and paranormal romance. Thank you so much Brenda for sharing a little about yourself and your work with us.  Enjoy the read everyone!

brenda2Bio:

Brenda Franklin was born and raised in Louisiana where she lives with her loving family and two cats. She’s been writing since she was little starting with her first horror story in Elementary school, but wasn’t serious about becoming a writer until middle school.

Now married, and living out in the country, she spends most of her time writing Fantasy and Paranormal Romance. But when she’s not writing she can be found drawing, painting, reading a good crime novel or enjoying long walks in a cemetery.

A Steady Pulse orginal      Barely Beating 3

flatlineTitle: Flat Line (Pulse Trilogy book three)

Author: Brenda Franklin

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Blog:

In my World of Reading and Writing: http://beefranklin.blogspot.com/

Social Media connections:

My Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/brenda.franklin.5811

Author Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorBrendaFranklin

Twitter account: https://twitter.com/BeeFranklin613

Release date:

May 1st

Where to Buy:

Amazon Page: http://www.amazon.com/Brenda-Franklin/e/B009TAXHI4

Smashwords Page: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/111454

Pulse Trilogy:

A Steady Pulse (Book One)

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Steady-Pulse-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B0099U5U02/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/111454

Barely Beating (Book Two)

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Barely-Beating-Pulse-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B00AA2F9UE/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_2

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/158741

Free Short ghost stories on Smashwords:

Drowning with Problems: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/248010

Lady with Blue Lips: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/248010

This is a conversational piece between Virgil and Garrison in BARELY BEATING (book 2 of Pulse Trilogy).

“How is Elizabeth doing?” Garrison asked leading Virgil in to the kitchen.

“She is endearing the pain better than I thought, but…”His eyes shifted anxiously. He wanted to do more to help ease her, but there was nothing he could do. It was a frustrating feeling to be so useless.

“That’s only natural. Every human turned is different.  But she seems to be doing well.” Garrisons said.

Virgil filled up a glass of water and sat it on the counter. Pinching the bridge of his nose he refocused.

“The first one is always the most difficult, but your body will adjust. It wasn’t so easy for me when I turned my first either.” Garrison assured him.

“But I thought when you turned William—”

“I am much older than you give me credit for Virgil. William was not my first. Even if he was my tolerance levels are much higher than yours by leaps and bounds. Turning is a painful process at times, but you can grow and learn to coop with it like I did.”

“I just hope she will be okay. No matter what I have to go through I wish I could do more for her.”

“You have done a lot more than you already know.” Garrison comforted giving Virgil a light touch on his shoulder before heading off. “Don’t forget to drink something yourself.”

“Garrison?” Virgil hesitated. “Your first turning how was it?”

Garrison paused. “The first person I turned didn’t survive.” Garrison spoke solemnly. He continued down the hall and disappeared into his room.

1)      When did you first start writing?

I wrote my first horror story when I was in Elementary. I began writing fantasy in Junior High (all of which I still have and want to rewrite). Then I wrote the first Pulse book one summer between school grades. I found it and read it back in 2010. It needed a redo. I threw out the old and rewrote the whole thing ending up with the one we now see today as A Steady Pulse.

2)      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

When I was a little girl I first wanted to me a mother, then a singer, and then by middle school I was set on being a writer.

3)      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?

I love writing Paranormal Romance, but that’s not the only genre I want to work in. I have projects I’d like to have completed within the year, one of which is a Middle Grade book, another is a Dark Young adult, and a fantasy based one that I’ll probably polish over the course of the next year, but will probably be considered for publishing in 2014. For the moment, at least, PNR is my favorite to write. I wonder if it has anything to do with the number of PNR books I’ve been reading this past year.

4)      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

My inspiration has come from not only my love for reading PNR books, but this story specifically started with a woman who could feel other people’s “pulses”. Though I did a lot of cutting back on what to give her ability wise, I started with this question, “what if you could feel someone before they entered a room?” Than the question became, “what if they felt different?” Add vampires into the mix and it made for a good recipe.

5)      What has your publishing experience been like?

Very rocky. I guess I should clarify that the start was very rocky. I didn’t prepare myself ahead of time; build up any kind of supporters. I just dove in without so much as a compass. All I knew was how to correctly lay out my books for Smashwords and Amazon. It was pretty easy to follow a guide and submit my books, but that was it. It’s easy to publish, but the real work is getting people to want to buy what you have written. Thankfully there are many groups out there who can give you great advice, help you with any question (no matter how silly), and many other things.

6)      Do you have a certain routine you do for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

Okay, I get up with Shawn in the morning around four and tell him good bye for work. I’ll than grab a cup of coffee, Dr. Pepper, or Cinnamon Apple Spiced Tea and a snack before returning to my bedroom where my small desk is set up in the corner for me to work. I always tie up my hair and find my glasses, before turning on my music. I have several premade playlists. When my character needs a little pick me up or is struggling internally I have been listening to Mumford and Sons. Or for a fight scene I play Linkin Park. After enjoying my music for a few minutes it’s time to start writing.

7)      How do you come up with character names and place names in your book?

I have worked on pieces of my family genealogy and every time I find a name that is interesting I write it down. I have a whole list of names and ideas on what they were like which helps to build my characters. So in a sense, the majority of the characters are named after someone from my family line. Now when it comes to locations I have used real places at times. What doesn’t sound better than, Iron Spring, Ashland, Small road, ect.

8)      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

In my most recent work Lucas would have to be my favorite character thus far. He isn’t the leading character to Flat Line, but who doesn’t like a bad boy on a motorcycle? He has a bit of an attitude issue which can keep up with Bethany Jean, Elizabeth’s best friend. He’s a good counterpart for her and isn’t as easy to jump in feet first to save Elizabeth as Bethany is, but for her he’s willing–though very frustrated–to do what it takes to keep her from getting killed. I could go on about him! I really love working on him.

9)      Did you learn anything from writing your book? What was it?

The overall thing I learned while writing my book was, sometimes research is necessary. Don’t write a scene that makes absolutely no sense. Haha it’s the little things. What motorcycle is he driving? What is the correct pronunciation of that in French? Where are the cops? What’s his past? What War did he fight in and where was he stationed?

10)   How did/do you market your work?

Get connected with Twitter, Facebook, blogs, ect… Join groups, set up release dates, plan out a monthly schedule to keep up with all the things that are going on with not only yourself but other people. Stay as connected as you can with your audience as you begin to build yourself up.

11)   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Fear! I suddenly realized that people would be reading my book. The first day I couldn’t get over my fear of someone hating my work, but after that first day (and my loving husband keeping me calm as best he could) I was excited. I was more than excited. I was beaming with pride that I had something published.

12)   Favorite authors?

Lynsay Sands with her (vampire) Argeneau Series, Sherrilyn Kenyon with the Dark-Hunter series, and Diana Nixon with her Love Lines Series

13)   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

Oh yeah! I’ve sat in front of my computer and read the same paragraph over and over trying to force the next sentence, but nothing comes out.

What I have found is that when the situation occurs it’s best to either take a nice, long, hot bath or go on a long walk. I like the second one. Get yourself out of the house and get the blood pumping! Sunlight does the body good. We have a cemetery not too far from the house that my husband and I walk to. And if all else fails, it’s a sign to open a good book and set aside the writing for the day. J

14)   What piece of advice would you give to a new author?

Top things you can do is:

1.) Edit your story to perfection and then let someone else look at it (editor)

2.) A good cover goes a long way (Ashley Wied has done all three of my books for the Pulse Trilogy)

3.) Get social (Join Facebook and Twitter and be a part of the writing community)

4.) Advertise (you’re work isn’t going to sell itself when you first come out of the gate).

15)   Are you working on anything new? If so, can you tell me about it?

I am working on another book called “Guardian, A Fated Pairing” which will be coming out around the end of March.

Info:

Vampires are on the brink of disappearing.  After years of searching for the cure to turn humans into their kind, one vampire believes he has done it. But in creating the cure he has started a bloody hunt. A race among animals, vampires and Wolves, to find the cure and either destroy it or use it.

It is up to Alice Chambers to keep her sister safe as they try to out run one of the strongest vampires in search of what they are hiding, but is what she protects worth the life of the one man she is destined to be with? And can he get over the fact that she is everything he hates long enough to realize she’s just what he needs? Or will the sacrifice in the end be too great for either of them?

3 responses to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Brenda Franklin

  1. Great interview gals. Brenda, your excerpt from Barely Breathing sounds interesting. Good luck in your writing and in your upcoming release of Flat Line. By the way, your idea of using names from family genealogy is fun.

  2. Interesting interview. My reaction to seeing my first book was just the opposite though. I could not wait to get it into a child’s hands to see the reaction to it.

Leave a Reply

