The Rewards of Loyalty

On Facebook I just posted a brief status update about the importance of loyalty. It inspired me to blog about it. I feel that many, with so much going on now days, have lost sight of some key fundamental values, one of them being loyalty.

Ever heard the saying “Don’t slap a gift horse in the mouth?” or maybe “Don’t bite the hand that feeds you?” Growing up these sayings were thrown around all of the time. You don’t hear them that much anymore. Everyone seems to be completely out for themselves. However, there still exisits, a group of people who believe in those key ethics. Β Those foundational bricks that make up our moral compass. I often joke that I don’t have one, but the truth is that my profession has twisted me a bit. I assure you, I still have one and it works very well.

I am also pondering the importance loyalty plays in staying put, for lack of a better descriptor. What I mean is when you look over the fence at the other side, the grass may seem greener, but think about this. When you jump the barbed wire fence, cut your legs, land on your ass, and then look down at the grass it certainly doesn’t look greener. In fact it is now stained with your blood. Okay, so that’s a little graphic. The point is that making decisions (and I’ve learned this the hard way too many times to count) is a spiritual thing. As most of you know, I’m not religious but I am spiritual. I believe that life changing, big decisions need to be meditated upon and prayed about. The answers will come. So, before you jump the fence to land on your ass in a pool of your own blood, think things through; talk to your Creator or your God or whatever Higher Power you seek direction from. Contemplate what things will look like three months from now, six months from now, five years from now.

I know it probably seems as if I’m going on and on for no actual reason, but I have one, and yes, it goes back to loyalty. By nature I hate to see others in pain. I guess that is what makes me an advocate for my staff at work. Hell I’ve been an advocate for others since I was eight years old. This sense of responsibility and desire to help others has, inevitably, spilled into my life as an author. There are some close friends of mine that are on the battlefield right now. They are having some growing pains and I feel this because I am loyal to them. I am a friend. When they hurt, I hurt. When someone wrongs them, I feel wronged also. That’s the nature of loyalty, trust, and companionship.

I assure you (and you know who you are), you are not suffering alone. There are people who are watching your success. For every failure (or obstacle), there is a reward coming. Patience and perserverence will pay off. Β There are those standing behind you cheering you on as you have cheered us on. We have pom-poms in hand screaming to the top of our lungs, bragging about how wonderful you are and how talented you are! We are loyal. We are determined. I can’t speak for anyone else but myself, of course, but I will not be jump the barbed wire fence. Your loyalty, talent, friendship, and trust means the world to me. Therefore, you will get the same back from me.

I hope this helps someone tonight. I felt very lead to discuss it. I don’t question why. I just follow my instincts and listen to the still small voice that leads to me to write and discuss such things.

Have a great night everyone πŸ™‚

4 responses to “The Rewards of Loyalty

Leave a Reply

