Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Racquel Jones

Racquel Jones is our featured author this evening.  Thank you so much Racquel for participating in this event! Enjoy the interview everyone!Racquel's_photo

BIO

Racquel Jones has been a Michigander for 22 years now. She has a love for all things fantasy, art and the history behind it and comic book heroes. Since she was able to talk, she told stories to her friends rather it be fan fiction or her own original ideas. Right now, she is looking to one day expand her horizons into writing for comics and owning a branch of unique cafes/bookstores.

Title: Desolate City (The Albertos Series #1)
Author: Racquel Jones

Genre: Young Adult Urban Fantasy
Website: http://racquelthewriter.blogspot.com/

Blog: Same as above

Social Media connections: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Racquel-Jones/206693799354239?ref=hl

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Rakeru19

Tumblr: http://racqueljones.tumblr.com/

Email: rakeru19@aol.com

Release Date: January 19, 2013

Book Trailer:   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DPgYjtQsciE

Where to buy:  Amazon/Ebook: http://www.amazon.com/Desolate-City-Albertos-Series-ebook/dp/B00B380CXS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363195637&sr=8-1&keywords=desolate+city

Amazon/Paperback:  http://www.amazon.com/Desolate-City-Albertos-Series-Volume/dp/1481909770/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1363195704&sr=8-3&keywords=desolate+city

Createspace: https://www.createspace.com/4120787

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

“I need a drink over here!”

Two hours had gone by and the urge to run drove her up the wall. It was one of The Soul Reaper’s busy nights and it made her mood no better. Haydens were laughing loudly, clashing glasses and literally breaking them. Dimmed lighting with a smoky haze flowed around every table.

Monkey faced Haydens cackled in their corner, while the fairies—sweet smelling and graceful—sung soothing songs and swayed to their own beat. The poisonous Haydens poked at one another in their game of ‘whoever turns a different color and dies, wins’.

The lone ones sat at the bar mumbling to themselves in a foreign tongue. Seiren figured that what they spoke was one of Haydoria’s many languages she heard over the years. Either way, she made sure she wasn’t the one to serve them.

One had rows upon rows of jagged dirt-caked teeth, too big to fit in his mouth. Around his mouth, the skin was stretched and torn, yet no blood poured from the wounds. The skin had white fuzz in patches. How a mouth like that could even mutter words was beyond her. The sight of it speaking was sickening.

She sneaked a peek at another lone one at the right side of the bar. It puffed black smoke in small pants as its chest heaved harshly. One of its eyes was missing, the socket oozing a greenish substance. Its skin, pale and covered in pink warts, sizzled in the light and gave off fumes that smelled of rotten eggs.

He wasn’t the worst of them, though. The one at the very end of the bar had toothless mouths sucking in air like a dying fish and blistered eyeballs all over his body following everyone’s movements. The wheezing noise easing out of his mouth probably meant a lot of words to another Hayden, but to Seiren it meant stay away.

“Hey, waitress! How ‘bout some service?”

“Coming,” Seiren mumbled, breaking her attention away from the bar.

Her dream was to one day leave Black Phoenix. The city was so unorganized when the Haydens were involved. Everyone had their set group, but with all of them mixed with one another, she couldn’t even tell what was what anymore. And that bothered Seiren. She couldn’t even tell the difference between the snake and crocodile Haydens after a while.

“Here’s your beer, sir,” she forced out glumly. “Will that be all?”

Bug eyed and drooling, the devil look alike scanned her body. “No, it won’t,” it said, nudging its crusty friend. “I think I’ll have you next, baby.”

Slowly blinking, she struggled to keep the vomit from rising in her throat. Relax. Just relax. Scum will always be scum, she thought. “Nothing else? Call me if you need anything.”

Not giving it or him a chance to be disgusting for a second time, she walked behind the bar and slid to the floor with a pained moan. The peanut shells from the bar pressed into the bare palms of her hands. It wasn’t enough that she had to work with them. The horrible flirts and jokes had to come with the job at some point. It had to be endured for the sake of earning her keep and her very expensive ticket to freedom. Any ticket, rather it be by boat or train, was well worth over a few thousands.

She massaged her temples. It annoyed her that the rich had all the resources in the world to leave, but they would rather stay for some unknown reason. If she had more money than she could hold in two hands, she would have been on a plane a long time ago.

“I don’t pay you to sit on your butt, Seiren.”

Kat, her boss, worked behind the bar serving drink after drink. The short woman had crow’s feet by her eyes and an uneven bob. Kat came off as a bitter old woman to most, but was nice enough to risk giving a job to an underage girl.

“You’ll actually pay me to sit on the floor?” Kat gave her a sullen look while Seiren slowly wiped the peanut shells from her hands. “I know. Just feeling a little drained.” Over the bar, she could hear another glass shattering.

“You? Wonder Woman? No, that’s a lie,” Kat stopped momentarily to spare her a look. “Been overworking yourself?”

What’s with the superhero names? “Well, you know me. Won’t stop till I drop.”

Kat shrugged. “You’re one of my best workers. We can’t have you dropping now.”

“Yeah. Seriously, I feel crappy.”

“Suck it up then, Seiren. We got a busy night and you’re slacking. And let me remind you, I’m not tolerating any violence tonight.”

Seiren’s lips twitched upward. She punched a scrawny long arm thing once for feeling her up. “I was put on earth to beat on the scumbags. I can’t hide my gifts, Kat.” Oh, the memories of that Hayden’s broken nose.

“Then I guess you’re willing to get fired?” Kat asked sliding a shot glass down to a ghoulish looking fellow. “Not tonight, you got it? Last time, you started a riot. You should have been gone right then.”

“Sure, sure, I got it. But I’m telling you. I’m not making any promises.”

If only she could run for two minutes. Only two minutes and her night would be refreshed. Maybe then she would be able to keep that promise. The wind blowing through her curls when soaring from rooftop to rooftop seemed so far away.

“Seiren, I mean it,” Kat said through her teeth, slamming a bottle of whiskey. “As a matter of fact, make yourself useful and take the trash out. Maybe some fresh air will do you some good.”

At first a protest built itself up in the pit of her stomach. That was not the type of fresh air she was thinking of. However, a Hayden looked over the bar, clear teeth chattering with a snotty nose. She shook her head with a sigh and stood up.

“You know what, you’re right. I’ll do that.”

“Yes, please do,” Kat answered as she turned to the chatter teeth customer. “What’ll it be, hon?”

 ????????????????????????????????????????

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing? I first started writing in Middle School, but began taking it seriously in the 9th grade; High School.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? No, I wanted to be a singer. I actually went to school with a major in singing, but because of personal reasons, I was unable to complete my schooling and had to figure out what else I wanted to do. That’s when my passion for writing came along.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? Fantasy/paranormal. I wish to try other genres in the future, but having supernatural things involved is something I can’t do without. So I’ll probably be sticking with those two for a while.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from? Mostly from music and a few books that I’ve read in the past. If you haven’t listened to Nujabes (may God rest his soul) you need to…like NOW.

5      What has your publishing experience been like? A little frustrating, but I’m managing. I’m still trying to figure out if I like self-publishing or not. I’ll get back to you on that one.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? Well, I listen to music and I can’t stay in one spot for long when writing. For example, I could be in my room for a week or two and then I would feel I need a new atmosphere and will go in the living room or the kitchen.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? Some names mostly came from my own head, but some names were from friends and found on the internet somewhere.

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favourite character and why? Hmm…I guess I would have to say Echo is. At first, it was another main character of mine, but the more I worked with him, the more he grew on me. He’s mysterious, kind, but also blunt. If there is anyone you need to tell you the absolute truth, go to Echo.

 

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it? I learned that no matter how many times I write an outline for this series, my characters write for themselves. Meaning, I can never follow my true outline. It’s just out of the question.

 

10   How did you/do you market your work? I’m still learning how to get myself out there, but since I’m new to this, I mostly send out review requests and have giveaways. I try my best to connect with different authors and soon I’ll be having a blog tour. If anyone have any suggestions for me, it would help a bunch.

 

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? I was almost brought to tears. I never thought I would see my book in print and to have that dream come true, I really didn’t know what to do but sit, stare and grin like an idiot, glassy eyed and all.

12   Favourite authors? I don’t have any at the moment, but I’m really loving James Dashner a lot lately.

 

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? Oh yes. Who hasn’t? I want to meet that person so they can tell me their secrets. To get rid of my writer’s block, I would get inspiration from author interviews. I know it’s weird, but watching them always seemed to inspire me. If not that, I would have to watch a show or movie to get my mind flowing with ideas again.

 

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? As a new writer myself, I guess my advice is don’t let anyone or anything deter you from your dreams. If you want to write, just write. Write until your hands fall off. I don’t know how new it is, but they have a new program where you can talk to your computer and it records what you say, so even if your hands fall off, you can keep going. No excuse, right?

 

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it? Yes I am! I wouldn’t technically call it new. It’s an old idea I decided to go back to. Let’s just say it involves a small town and a love so strong you’re willing to jump to Hell and back for it again and again.

3 responses to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Racquel Jones

Leave a Reply

