Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Krystal George

Tonight’s guest is Krystal George.   She is the author of Guardian of the Realm: A Faerie Tale.  I would like to welcome her to the blog tour and thank her for participating.

Enjoy the read everyone!

Bio:

Hello everyone!  My name is Krystal George and I have also written under Krystal McLaughlin.  I am an up and coming Indie Author specializing in Young Adult Fantasy/Paranormal.  My current books are The Willows, Guardian of the Realm: A Faerie Tale, and the first two in my Enchanted Island Series- The Witches Lottery and A Dragon Forsaken.  Currently I am working on the 3rd book in the series which will be entitled The Goblin’s Daughter.

I am a life long Coloradoan and love spending time with my three beautiful kids and my amazing husband.  The mountains of Colorado are both beautiful and mysterious and provide a lovely setting for a lot of my stories.  Growing up I always had a story going on in my head.  Until I was older, I thought that everyone did 🙂  Once I realized that wasn’t so, I knew that I was meant to write and I have been writing ever since.

I am obsessed with Young Adult fiction and feel like some of my best friends can be found on the pages of a book.  Harry Potter, Alice Cullen, Ethan Waite, Clary Fray…  and so many more!  I would love nothing more than to share the worlds I have created and the characters that live within them to all of you!  Thank you so much for taking the time to read this and to get to know me and my books 😉

Guardian of the Realm-FinalTitle: Guardian of the Realm: A Faerie Tale
Author: Krystal George

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal/Fantasy
Website: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Krystal-George-Mclaughlin/432269720181660

Blog: Krystalmclaughlin.blogspot.com

Social Media connections:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/krystal.mclaughlin.98

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Krystal-George-Mclaughlin/432269720181660

Twitter: https://twitter.com/witcheslottery

Blog: http://krystalmclaughlin.blogspot.com/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4573103.Krystal_McLaughlin

BookBlogs: http://bookblogs.ning.com/profile/KrystalMcLaughlin

 

Release Date: February 25 2013
Where to buy:  Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords
Reviews: This story catches hold of you from page one and careens you through a rollercoaster of emotions. Happiness, pain, loneliness, the desire by all of us to fit in, and finally; love. Krystal George is a master of the pen (or keyboard as it may be) taking you on an enchanting tale through The Realm where Darkness is trying to take hold. This tale follows Eric, a boy of the mortal world who is anything but, and Esmeralda, a faerie who longs for what she does not have. Krystal George blazes her own trail through the world of mystical fascination leaving no stone unturned, and making you laugh and cry along with the main characters. Her writing leaves nothing to be desired and I would highly recommend this book to everyone who enjoys this genre. You will not be disappointed, and once you turn the last page, you will wish for more. I eagerly rush into more of Krystal George’s books with a sense of joy and excitement!!

Other Work: The Witches Lottery (Enchanted Island book 1) A Dragon Forsaken (Enchanted Island book 2) and The Willows

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

Guardian of the Realm:

Smiling, I let the veil begin to slip even further, beginning to distort my mortal form and showing pieces of what I had become.  As my body began to take on an ethereal glow and my eyes began to darken, the whites turning as black as night, both men gasped and sputtered out curses before beginning to back away.

“Oh yes,” I smiled, “I most certainly believe in magic.”

Shawn whimpered as my long blondish hair began blowing in a breeze that only I could feel and a crown of thorns began to appear on my head.  “But you’re only a child,” he cried.

Ian, face as white as a sheet of paper, began shaking his head.  “It’s her.  Damn it, she’s the Guardian.”  He looked at his friend, visibly shaken and terrified.  “She’s one of them.”

“But she’s just a child,” Shawn whimpered again.

“Don’t be such an idiot; she’s more powerful than all of them.  That’s why they chose her.”

When my eyes turned completely black and the smile that covered my face began to take on a demonic appearance, I threw my head back and began laughing.  My sisters, the ones that were close enough to hear and even see the exchange as they hid in the trees began laughing with me.
“You see, I’m terribly sorry,” I said, my voice still carrying the innocence of my youth, “but I can’t let you pass.”

Both men began crying and threw themselves at my feet begging for mercy, but there was no mercy to be had.  Not from me.  That part of me, the part that showed compassion, had been lost in the transformation and I felt nothing for them as I watched them grovel before me.

After a few more seconds, I began to tire of their cries and the game and with a quick motion of throwing my arms up toward the sky I called on all of the powers that had been granted to me.  Dark smoke began curling around me, obliterating the men, covering us with the acrid smell of dark magic.  After a few moments of this, the whites of my eyes began to reappear and with a soft breath, I blew the foul smelling smoke until there was nothing left; nothing, but me standing alone in the middle of a bridge that many would seek out in the years to come.  There were no signs of the men who had been there moments before, and deep in my heart I searched for some sort of regret at the lives I had just taken, but just like any other time, there was nothing.

This was my life now.  This was my destiny and no one would ever get past into the Realm of the faeries.  Not with me as the Guardian.  My queen had chosen wisely, and with my duty done for the time being, I found a tree close by to nestle in and wait.  Wait, because as sure as I was that magic was alive, I knew that those who would seek it would one day find themselves facing me.  And I was ready.

 goblins_daughter_nook

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?   When I was about 13 years old.  I used to want to be the next RL Stine or Christopher Pike (only the girl version!)

 

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?  I actually wanted to be a Marine Biologist until I discovered that I have a horrible fear of orcas!

 

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?    I work mostly with YA Paranormal/Fantasy but I have an Adult Women’s Fiction book in the work as well.

 

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from? Everywhere? LOL – Really I can be walking across the street, see a cat jump into a bush and think “hmm, what could have made the cat jump that way?”

5      What has your publishing experience been like?  It has been a lot of work but very rewarding.  I love being an Indie Author because it forces you to network and I have made a lot of amazing contacts and friends 

 

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?  I usually have my ear buds in and I have to have my laptop on my lap

witches_nook

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?  I just go with my gut instinct.  Whatever name or place comes to mind first, I go with it

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?  Esmeralda because she has always wanted to become a faerie and I can relate to her love of magic

 

9      How did you/do you market your work?  Network, network, network!!!

 

10   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?  I cried – first when I was able to search for my name on Barnes and Noble and have something come up and second when I saw my printed version for the first time!

 

11   Favorite authors?  JK Rowling, Cassandra Clare, RL Stine, Christopher Pike, Nicholas Sparks, Nora Roberts, and Johanna Lindsey

 

12   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?   I always have at least 4 books marinating in my mind at once, so if I get a block on one, I usually work on one of the others until a new twist develops and I am able to get back to the original one.

 

13   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?  Make sure that you write from your heart, are sincere with your fans and fellow authors, and always follow through with what you promise you are going to do 

The willows - Online image 

14   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?  I am currently working on the 3rd installment of the Enchanted Island series entitled The Goblin’s Daughter.  I am hoping that it will be released in April and it continues the story through a different perspective.

Leave a Reply

