Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Marissa Carmel

Tonight I have Marissa Carmel’s interview that I’m sharing. I want to thank her so much for being a part of this event!  Enjoy everyone!

Author Bio:

Me low resMarissa Carmel has been writing since a young age and although it has always been for personal enjoyment, she finally decided breakout and share her imagination with the world. She hopes that her universe is as fun and intriguing to her readers as it is to her. Marissa Carmel is originally from NJ but moved to Maryland several years ago, she enjoys reading, writing, and catching up on her ever growing DVR library. She is currently working on the sequel to iFeel, Gravitational Pull and the third and final installment of the Vis Vires trilogy, Constellation.

iFeel cover3Title: iFeel & Gravitational Pull books 1&2 in the Vis Vires trilogy
Author: Marissa Carmel

Genre: New Adult/ Paranormal Romance
Website: www.marissacarmel.com

Blog: www.marissacarmel/everything-but-the-girl/

Social Media connections:

GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5211765.Marissa_Carmel

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Marissa-Carmel/e/B005OKFXXU/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1361243544&sr=8-2

Twitter: https://twitter.com/marissacarmel

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/marissa.carmel.5

Web/Blog: http://marissacarmel.com/

Pinterest- http://pinterest.com/marissacarmel/vis-vires-trilogy/?fb_action_ids=355111804596148&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_source=aggregation&fb_aggregation_id=246965925417366

Release Date: Gravitational Pull April 4th 2013
Where to buy:  Amazon
Other Work: i Feel, book 1 Vis Vires trilogy

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

iFeel

But every night I dream of him. The same dream, over and over like a broken record in my mind; me, in my apartment, at my ballet bar, a ray of sunlight cascading through the windows, lighting up small flecks of particles floating all around me. I’m dressed in a light pink leotard and a sheer wrap skirt. My hair is pulled up in a tight bun, white toe shoes are laced up my legs. Justice stands in the corner, heedfully watching me through the mirror. Slow piano notes play in the background. He walks up behind me and takes one of my hands. He spins me slowly in a pirouette, like I am his own private dancer inside a music box. His eyes intensely fixated on my body. They burn blue in the sunlight. After one turn, he stops me, and then leans my body out against the bar. My mind is imprisoned by the hold of his stare. He slides one hand up my torso, almost at the same tempo as the music. He looks so pained as he touches me, as if the want of my body tortures him. He cradles my head towards his face. I can feel every emotion he stirs inside me, like it is real. And then, as abruptly as the dream starts, it ends. Every night, like a broken record in my mind.

GP cover finalTitle: Gravitational Pull (Vis Vires Trilogy #2)

Author: Marissa Carmel

Release Day: April 4th, 2013

Genre: New Adult Paranormal Romance

Cover Reveal Host: Lady Amber’s Tours

Blurb-

Touch me, and bring me to life…

How do you move on when you don’t even know where you were going in the first place?

The Spirit Stalker is dead and I have finally started to erect my life. But I quickly discover, that just because the structure is built doesn’t mean the foundation is sturdy. As much as I try to manage my abilities, I can’t completely control them. The physical impossibility of the relationship I have with Justice has reached a boiling point; our fundamental problem is my inability to control myself from absorbing his power, and his fears of touching me because of it.

As if that wasn’t deal-breaker enough, a new threat looms on my horizon – Darklings.

They are grim reapers of the immortal world who surface every five-hundred-years to feed off the souls of magical beings who are weak, aimless, lost; those who have given up and want to move on.

They also hunt power. Which means, they’re hunting me.

Abandoned by the one person I need the most, I find myself in Melenia’s realm.  There, I’m courted by Siberian, a dangerous pixie who covets me, hunted by Death personified; all the while hiding my powers and my ancient bloodline. The pixie prince is alluring, and I feel so broken and vulnerable. I know giving in to him means giving myself over to him. But right now, I don’t care. All I want is to feel anything other than the loss and rejection Justice left me with.

Anything other than pain.

So what do I do when I’m scared to be touched, even though I know it’s the only way to bring my soul back to life?

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing? I can’t even remember, I’ve just always done it.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? I always wanted to write, but the idea of being a writer was never really tangible to me. I always thought if I wrote a book, it would be in retirement and for fun. But I guess the universe had other plans.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?   I love writing New Adult.  I think it’s a really important genre because of the age it focuses on. Your twenties are such a pivotal time. I believe, it’s when you really find your footing as an adult. And I think it’s been overlooked in the literary community for a long time. I’m hoping it really establishes itself as a genre.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from? I don’t know, I day dream a lot. I think my environment; the media along with my personal likes are what inspire my writing.

5      What has your publishing experience been like?  Hilly. Not terrible, but phenomenal either. It’s a long road, and I’m just learning as I go.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? I make sure I make the time to write. Even if it’s just fifteen minutes a day. It keeps me focused and motivated. Music is a huge driver for me. It gets my thoughts flowing.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? Sometimes the names just come to me, sometimes I stumble across them and they fit. The places, I write what I know. The Vis Vires trilogy takes place primarily on the Jersey shore; I’m from NJ originally so I’m familiar with its structure and its culture. It’s an awesome place to live.

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favourite character and why? In Gravitational Pull, I wrote this character Siberian, he’s a pixie prince who tries to win over Liv. He’s got a lot of layers, on the surface he’s very charming and alluring, but he also has a dark side that is so sinister. He was really fun to write.

 

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it? I learned writing is so much more then good dialogue. It’s a craft. There’s technique, and if you want to write a good book it needs all the elements. Scene structure, drama, emotion, characterization, plot, ect.

 

10   How did you/do you market your work? My publisher does internet advertising, twitter, Facebook, blog spots, giveaways. Sometimes I use a book tweeting service and there is always good old word of mouth.

 

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? It was gratifying and at the same time a little terrifying. It’s hard putting yourself out there.

12   Favourite authors?  Jane Austin and Jonathan Swift. I love satires.

 

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? Yes, and when I get writers block, I take it as my brain’s way of telling me I need to step away. So I do, I know the inspiration will come when it’s ready.

 

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? Make sure it feels right.

 

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it? Yes!! The third book in the Vis Vires trilogy, Constellation.  I can’t give too much away as I’m still writing it, but I can say it has all the elements of books 1 and 2, it’s emotional, funny, heartfelt, dramatic and I’m really excited about the ending I don’t think anyone will see it coming J

One response to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Marissa Carmel

Leave a Reply

