Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: A. Jacob Sweeny

Tonight’s guest is A. Jacob Sweeny, a very talented author.  Her writing is mysterious and suspenseful, as she describes below. Thank so much AJ for joining the blog tour.  Enjoy the interview everyone.

A. Jacob Sweeny HeadshotTHE PULSE MYTHS SERIES 2012 BEST YA PARANORMAL SERIES!

~Paranormal Reads~

My novels are long and complex, sweet and intense. They are mysterious and suspenseful. Find out the magic for yourself. I have been writing and storytelling ever since I was able to hold a pen. When I spent time working as a teacher with children of varying ages I was fascinated by the awesome power of words to excite and inspire the young mind. The art of Storytelling is what makes a good teacher great.
My degree in History with an emphasis on Ancient Near East, and my personal interest in world myths, combined with my fieldwork in archaeology have inspired my research and development of many elements in the story.
I also remember what it was like to be a girl myself and have often wanted to share my own thoughts, fears and dreams during that age with others. Books were essential to my development especially during my teenage years and helped me become the satisfied person that I am today.

 

Blog Tour Questions

Title: The Pulse Myths series: Pulse Of Heroes/ Of Blood and Pulse/Pulse Genesis

Author:  A. Jacob Sweeny (AJ 🙂

Genre: Mature YA paranormal romance/suspense
Website: http://www.pulseofheroes.com

Social Media connections:  Twitter: @AJSweeny  

facebook.com/ThePulseSeries

Release Date: Oct. 31st 2010/ Oct. 31st 2011/June 21st 2013 Where to buy: Amazon

POHFrontCoverEBook072511Pulse of Heroes

5 of 5 stars -Melissa from Beneath the Covers-Blog.
Review: LOVE. LOVE. LOVE! This book transports you to a whole new world, even though it takes place now. The history in this book is amazing and it makes me wish I were Michelle so I could meet these amazing guys! This book has a mix of many things, history, love, betrayal, action, romance and it is a roller coaster of amazing!

5 of 5 – Joella

Review: I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! A. Jacob Sweeny truly has produced one of the best paranormal story lines I have read in a long time. She is able to incorporate mystery, adventure, suspense, paranormal, love and historical context all into one story. The characters are very realistic despite the underlying paranormal theme. It is not your typical paranormal romance and leaves you on edge wondering what will happen next. The story just pulls you in and you never want it to end! I could not put it down and actually finished it one day!!! Michelle and Elliot are definitely on their way to becoming the next big couple in the paranormal world!!

Of Blood and PulseFacebookcopyOf Blood & Pulse

Katrina Whittaker ** Page Flipperz blog

5 of 5  Review: Oh myyyyyy !! THIS CERTAINLY HAD MY BLOOD AND PULSE RACING …………
I’m a fast reader but was determined to drag this baby out!!! I savoured every chapter, and dragged it out for days… longer…. I know you say why if you loved it… I just didn’t want it to end!!
AJ has done it again!! More mythology, more history, more characters and so much damn action I’m sure the kids on the pinball machines would get a run for their money. Every corner is a page turner and something new. That ping you hear is your brain wandering which direction the story is headed! I laughed at the funny antics, shed a tear, and also had my reader in frenzy in the end. Silently screaming to myself NOO!!!!! Oh man what a climax…Like a roller coaster ride this story will take you on many twists and turns and have you guessing in which direction she is taking us. There love certainly took on a new level, one which I must say also had my heart doing flips, and my toes where curling along with Michelle’s lol.. Elliot is such a dream boat…. sighs.

5 of 5

Kathryn Grimes

Review: FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC!!! I couldn’t put this book down b/c I wanted to know everything that was going to happen and at the same time I didn’t want to see it end…I am in withdrawals right now b/c I finished it…NEED THE NEXT BOOK NOW!!!
I am so in love with this series!! More importantly, I am in love with Elliot! He is so wonderful and funny, and the love he has for Michelle is mind-blowing…
A. Jacob Sweeney has created a world in which is like no other and I have fallen in love with it. With Pulse of Heroes and now Of Blood and Pulse, I can never put it down because each one is a page turner that has drawn the reader in, hooked them to the very last page…

 

Other Work: A sword for his Women/ Divine Love in time of Storms (Pulse Historia)

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

Of Blood & Pulse:

“What’s wrong? What is it?” he asked, his eyes wild with fear. He grabbed Jessica’s arm because it looked as if she might fall.  She freed herself from him and stood up to look at him. There were tears at the corners of her eyes.

“Pain, heartbreak, there.” She pointed down the hallway. Elliot turned around but saw nothing. He looked back at Jessica in confusion and noticed that the tears were now starting to flow down her face.

“Go after her,” she said, her voice urgent. “She loves you.” Elliot’s mind tried to make the connection. He looked back down the hall and tuned his hearing. He heard the metal gates shaking. “Go!” Jessica ordered, her index finger extending in command. “You love someone, don’t you?” she asked as Elliot pulled his shirt back on over his head. He didn’t answer her. He disappeared into thin air.

Michelle hung on the metal bars of the gate in desperation. She pulled and pulled, building herself into hysteria. She looked up, trying to figure out if she could climb over the gate. She needed out or she might start screaming in panic. She already knew that the perimeter wall was impossible to get over. The gate was her only chance. Just as she put her foot up to climb, someone grabbed her from behind and her body went into overdrive.

Elliot felt Michelle’s adrenaline kicking in and soaking her entire nervous system. He could practically taste the sweetness of the glucose as her body used it up with fervor for extra energy. Michelle’s system was bursting in fight or flight mode. She thrashed her arms and kicked backwards with her feet. She shook her head from side to side and her teeth were slightly bared. All her muscles contorted and her jaw tightened in resentment. Her heart rate was at a dangerous speed. For Michelle, Elliot’s arms felt like steel around her body, the claustrophobia unbearable. When she finally turned to look at his face, her pupils dilated and her throat was dry, she yelled at him to let go of her.

“Michelle you need to calm down. You’re hysterical and…”

“Let me go. I don’t want you to touch me. I hate you! I hate you with all my heart!” Michelle yelled as loud as her voice would let her. It was gut wrenching, but Elliot wouldn’t loosen his grip. He knew that she was hurting. Nobody could hate like that unless they were in love.

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?  As soon as I could string words together. And before that I told stories.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? I always wrote but never thought about it seriously. My first dream was to be an opera singer, then an archaeologist, then a fashion designer.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? My first published work is mature YA paranormal, But I have other stories ready to go that are not paranormal. Some are more romance driven, while others are suspense/mystery.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from? From my time spend digging in archaeological digs. There I get a view that is different than what most see. I wanted to bring the reality of history back to the forefront, nit just as mere myth but as it was real and alive.

5      What has your publishing experience been like? Being independent it’s an up and down cycle. I do everything from concept to print-so it’s a 24 hour job. What I love is the control I have over my own work and how I don’t have to answer to anyone. I print what feels right-so far most people love it.  At this point I have had several publishers interested in picking up The Pulse Myth Series but I’m holding out. I will have other books published by different publishers coming up.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? I love to write with my morning coffee. And at times I will make CD’s with songs that keep me focused on my theme and inspiration. I need to be alone. It’s very difficult to write when there are other people in the house. At times I write into the early hours of the morning.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? With The Pulse Myth Series I had to adhere to names that come from the region where each immortal originated, but other than that while I research some name will grab me and I just know that, that’s it!

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why? Elliot De Costa! He’s the true classical embodiment of man/leader/teacher/warrior/lover. He’s beautiful and quiet at times. He is also flawed and he knows this.

 

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it? I learnt a lot about the craft and a lot about myself. Most of all I have learnt to respect anyone that sits down and finishes writing a book. It’s a lot harder and demands way more crazy dedication than most people would ever realize.

 

10   How did you/do you market your work? Internet is king! Blogs, Facebook, website etc.  but I have also gone to a few conferences.

 

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? I’m still shocked and it’s been almost three years. There is a certain emotional divorce that happened to me. I remember thinking wow look at this huge amazing looking book; but that I wrote it? It still doesn’t really connect LOL

12   Favorite authors?  William Shakespeare

 

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? Not yet

 

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? An idea is great, a good idea is even better, but unless you are willing to put it down on paper, finish it, publish it and edit and face criticism, then you are only a dreamer. Dedication is a must, and readership is your only true scale of whether you have it or not.

 

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it? I am in the finishing stages of the last installment of The Pulse Myths Series novel: PULSE GENESIS! Hopefully crossing fingers it will be released June 21st of this year. I also have a romance story fully developed in my mind that I hope to have ready by wintertime. The title for that one is “86 Special” I also have short that will be featured in a collection: My Name is Bimbo Baghim

2 responses to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: A. Jacob Sweeny

  1. Pingback: Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: A. Jacob Sweeny | My interpretation of the Holy Gita

  2. Very interesting interview. I also started out with an interest in ancient history and myths, What triggered the transition to writing paranormal genre books in particular?

Leave a Reply

