Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Wendy Nystrom

Good evening folks! Wendy Nystrom is our featured author for this evening. I would like to send her a hearty “thank you” for her participation! Enjoy the read everyone!

james cover resizeTitle: James Saves the Moon, Helga Returns
Author: Wendy Nystrom with Anchor Group Publishing

Genre: Children

Blog: wendysbookcase.com

Social Media connections: https://www.facebook.com/Wendysbookcase

https://www.facebook.com/Kidtales

https://www.facebook.com/LilAnchors

Twitter: https://twitter.com/wbnystrom 

Stumbleupon: http://www.stumbleupon.com/stumbler/wendysbookcase

Tumblr.com: http://www.tumblr.com/blog/wendysbookcase

 

Release Date: Available now
Where to buy:  Amazon, B&N
Reviews: lubsbookchatter.blogspot.com lovely review. I have many good reviews on amazon

Other Work:  Short story Blaze the Dragon: New Moon Brethren in anthology called Paranormal Days Gone Awry

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book. Helga Returns-

James’ second adventure begins with a footprint. He once again calls out to his Icelandic magical friends, Syvok and Matthias, to discover what it means. He will find Helga, the troll who left the footprint.
James follows Helga to Yamas, the troll village. Will they be left on a glacier or will they save the Guardian Troll from danger? Will Syvok and Matthias reach James in time to save him when the earth tremors?

 profile pic

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing? 2005

 

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? No, my education is urban planning, prelaw. I always thought I would either work  at  a government planning office or be a City Manager. Or strategic planning manager for a company. I have never worked for a government entity. But I find myself on many committees as a volunteer for government programs. Currently helping with Library Renovation Project locally.Although in my past working career I have always had to be creative to get things done and motivate employees.

 

 

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?    Children, Urban Fantasy, Scifi.

 

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?  My family. I started writing while living in Iceland. My son saw the moon sitting on the mountain and told me he can climb the mountain and touch the moon. Wrote the first draft within two days. Been writing ever since that day.

And yes my family lived in Akureyri, Iceland for two years. It was a blast.

 Square_Helga_Cover resize

5      What has your publishing experience been like?  Very good with Anchor Group Publishing

 

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? I listen to music to distract me from the outside world.

 

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? Family, Friends, people I have met through the years. I also look up meaning of words often.

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favourite character and why? My novel New Moon Brethren that I am currently working on one of the main Characters is Blaze. She is honest, grumpy, and a true friend.

 

9      How did you/do you market your work? This is still a learning curve. My publisher gives us advice.

 

10   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? Immense pleasure.

 

11   Favourite authors?  I have so many. I love every one of the Anchor Group and Xchyler Publishing Authors. I really like Willow Cross’s books, Karen Pokras Toz kids books. Anne McCaffrey, David Weber- Honour Harrington Series. I own nearly every Starwars book written and Elizabeth Peters Amelia Peabody series to name a few.

 

12   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? I usually go and edit or update my character files when I am blocked.

 

13   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?  Write every day, rewrite, edit, have friends read then find a good editor. Hire a couple of Beta readers.

 

14   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it? I am currently working on a novel that is urban fantasy called New Moon Brethren.  Secret society that has been around for a long time protecting sentient beings on earth. Trying to keep one step ahead of the dark one from taking over the world.

 

Book 3 should be releasing in November for Christmas Season. Tomfoolery and 13 Yule Lads of Iceland.

 

I am also working on Book 4 of my children series James and Syvok Adventures.  Amongst the Clouds.  James and his pals fly up into a irridecent cloud and stumble upon a wizards home.

2 responses to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Wendy Nystrom

Leave a Reply

