Spring Fever Blog Tour: It’s My Birthday!!!!

PDMI-Direct-125

PDMI Direct Publishing

Hi everyone.  Because it’s my birthday, I am putting up my own interview not only to share more about myself and my work, but to promote the re-release of The Fine Line all thanks to PDMI Direct Publishing.  Within you will also find some character bios.  So have fun reading and enjoy 🙂

58594_516565381707831_286054200_nBio:

Tracee Ford is an Ohio country girl turned author writing paranormal romance, romantic suspense, and crime novels.

She began writing at the age of sixteen. Early works included poetry and nonfiction. Ford’s nonfictional writings focused on her areas of study as an undergraduate in social sciences and psychology at Shawnee State University. She completed more nonfictional research and writing while working on a Master of Arts in forensic psychology at The University of North Dakota.

Ford is also a playwright, director, and puppeteer. She has written scripts and directed plays for local churches as well as puppet shows for her local community, focusing on child abuse awareness and prevention.

Tracee Ford is a member of the Paranormal Romance Guild and her work will soon be published through Injected Ink Productions, an imprint of PDMI Direct Publishing. Ford brings to her readers inspiring tales of romance and characters who face insurmountable odds, yet emerge triumphant all sprinkled with the fantastical possibilities of the paranormal, of course.

 fine line cover

Title:   The Fine Line
Author:   Tracee Ford

Genre: Horror, paranormal romance, sci-fi, fantasy
Website: http://traceeford.com

Blog:  https://traceeford.wordpress.com

Social Media connections:

Twitter:  @FordTracee

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/AuthorTraceeFord

http://www.facebook.com/tracee.ford.75

http://www.facebook.com/tracee.ford.thefineline.2013

LinkedIn:  www.linkedin.com/pub/tracee-ford/63/56/753/

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/httpgoodreadscomTracee_Ford

RebelMouse:  https://www.rebelmouse.com/FordTracee/

PDMI Direct Publishing:  http://pdmidirect.com/project/tracee-ford/

Shelfari: http://www.shelfari.com/traceeford

Amazonhttp://www.amazon.com/Tracee-Ford/e/B00AXL5538/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1361899330&sr=8-1

Release Date through BookLocker: 1/1/13, Termination date with BookLocker:  4/3/2013

Re-release date:  04/12/2013
Where to buy: 

Amazon:  (ebook)

http://www.amazon.com/The-Fine-Line-ebook/dp/B00C6AA4GM/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1365165721&sr=1-1&keywords=injected+ink+the+fine+line

(paperback) http://www.amazon.com/Fine-Line-Between-Worlds-Volume/dp/0615799396/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1366200453&sr=8-1&keywords=tracee+ford+the+fine+line

Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/302129

 

Reviews:

“I urge you, dear reader, to immerse yourself in the world created by Tracee Ford. Get hold of ‘The Fine Line’. Lock the door, take the phone off the hook and fall in love with a book, as I did. I’ve only scratched the surface in this review and with good reason; you need to discover the work of this brilliant author for yourself. You’ll be glad you did.”
Nathan de Ravin

 

“Tracee Ford has created a cute, fun and unique piece of ‘paranormal’ writing WITHOUT including vampires OR werewolves which is rare these days. I enjoyed the storyline, it was refreshing and different, even if it was a little jumpy at times.

The characters were believable and lovable. The dialogue flowed smoothly and there was no awkwardness.

I can’t wait to see what Tracee Ford brings out next!”
Skyla Madi, Goodreads

“Just wanted to let you know I finished your book today and it was very very good, I couldn’t put it down. I’ll be looking forward to your next one.”
Joe Collins, Facebook

mouse pad

“Just finished your book and it was great . Loved the story line and exactly my beliefs of how we got here and where we go from here!!!!Started reading and did not want to put it down. Good job!”
Jan Sturgill, Facebook

“I loved this book because it was the exact amount of fright for me. It made me think and be filled with angst, all without making me sleep with a night-light! This type of book I could devour everyday. The storyline and characters were excellent! The buildup with Robin Hillard, our main character, and Dr. Matthew Gregory was again perfect…  NOT going to say anything else except READ it NOW!! I can’t wait to read Undone which will be out soon!”
–Renee Giraldy, Reading Renee Blog

 

“This was a really good book with many facets! Lots of good twists and turns. I enjoy scary movies, haunted houses ect but the paranormal activity actually scared me! The author did an outstanding job in describing the events. I also think she handled the spirituality of it perfectly!! Read it! You will be glad you did!”

–Kim Tackett, Amazon

“There are just enough paranormal type occurrences to be interesting, and they flow through the storyline of their whole romance story without being dark and scary. She makes us remember that some dark could be out there without making it seem as scary. There are a lot of people that can relate to the characters and their individual beliefs.

I would certainly recommend this story to anyone that loves romance and a happy family ending. It is fun to join these characters in their journey and it is easy to read and follow along with what is happening in the story. It is filled with just the right details to keep it interesting.”

–Lisa Lambson, Paranormal Paranormal Romance Guild

“WOW. The Fine Line blew me away. From the synopsis I knew there is a paranormal twist and I couldn’t wait to dive into it. It is what drew me to read it in the first place…

I really enjoyed reading The Fine Line, such a beautiful story. It had everything that I would want love, angst, scars, spirits, paranormal twist. What more could I want?  My verdict? 4.5 brilliant stars.”

–Trisha Rai, Devoured Words

 

IdolumblueOther Work: Idolum:  Visions of the Undone , due to release in late 2013

Synopsis for Idolum: Visions of the Undone:

A hedonistic serial killer is on the loose targeting and abducting strong, independent college women.  Once he snatches his prey, he sets the woman loose in the woods, hunting her as if she is wild game. When each one is caught again her hope of escape quickly disappears as soon as she awakens buried alive in a plastic sarcophagus.

Lauren Hillard, a brilliant and nationally respected forensic psychologist, is called upon by the FBI to help track down and stop this murderer known to the public as The Phantom. It’s then that she meets Nicholas Bennette, the newly promoted director of the Dayton, Ohio FBI field office. A southern gentleman originally from North Carolina, he finds it difficult to work with Hillard because of her social awkwardness. It doesn’t take long, however, for their trust in one another to grow, realizing that it’s going to take teamwork to track down and stop The Phantom.

To solve the crime, Lauren must not only rely on her training and education, but also her supernatural empathic abilities. Through visions she sees, smells, and hears the crimes through the eyes of the victims and hopes that these fragmented visions will help her bring peace to the dead and stop the killings. The deeper she gets into the investigation, the more detailed the visions become, but she knows she can’t possibly solve the case through paranormal means alone. Lauren confides in Nick hoping he can use both her gifts, as well as, more accepted methods to bring justice to the victims. Yet, this isn’t Lauren’s greatest challenge. Making sense of the visions and trying to understand what the victims are telling her is the most difficult part.  Lauren is overwhelmed to the core because the victims feel so much has been left undone in their lives.

As time passes and the body count continues to rise, Lauren fits the puzzle together and discovers the identity of the killer. She soon learns she’s been targeted by The Phantom and she comes face to face with him. When Lauren Hillard finds herself at the mercy of the psychopathic serial killer she realizes she’s left much undone in her own life.

A snippet from The Fine Line

Chapter Seven

The gorgeous Saturday afternoon gave Matt the opportunity to mow the large yard and gave Robin the opportunity to work on laundry. As she stood folding the fluffy towels, she felt that performing a blessing on the house would be the first step in bringing peace to the home.

Richard had not agreed with her change in her faith, but he respected it. He had always told her he wouldn’t judge her. He had always encouraged her to seek out the truth in her own way and be independent in her beliefs.

She picked up her cell phone lying on the laundry table and dialed. The happy voice of her stepdad boomed from the device. With her head bent and the phone to her ear, she really didn’t have any idea where to begin. So, she made small talk, but after a few moments Richard knew something was wrong.

“What’s going on ladybug? Something’s wrong,” he stated bluntly.

“Daddy,” she started, “the house needs blessed. I thought maybe you could…”

“But I thought…” he started.

“I know. I know.”

“You told me you didn’t believe in all that anymore.”

“Daddy, I know what I said. But I’ve also said there’s a little bit of truth in every religion. How could a blessing on the house hurt anything, you know?”

“Why don’t you tell me what’s been happening baby girl? You sound scared.”

“I just want a blessing done on the house. It will make me feel better,” she answered.

“Okay. Well, tomorrow afternoon okay with you? Me and your mom will make a day of it.”

“The sooner, the better, Daddy.”

“See you tomorrow,” he concluded.

The sun’s heat wasn’t overpowering yet as Matt drove along the property line on the riding mower. The sound of the blades chopping up the grass reminded him of white noise as he zipped up and down the large lawn on the edge of the field. From the corner of his eye he saw Mr. O’Bryan waving and walking toward him. He turned off the mower, hopped off, and with a friendly smile, met him in the middle of the field, hands outstretched for a friendly shake.

Curtis O’Bryan had always been kind to Matt and Robin. He had conveyed a deep appreciation for the land and his family during the times he and Matt had talked. They met one another when the renovations on the house began. Curtis conveyed to Matt how happy he was to finally have neighbors again.

Curtis and his wife, Katie, had made Matt and Robin feel very welcome. The O’Bryan’s had baked pies. Robin and Matt had also been to their home for dinner a few times.

“See ya’all made it through the winter and the spring in that ol’ place,” Curtis said with a smile.

“Yes. Here we are in June already. Can’t believe it,” Matt said with a nod as he brushed the sweat from his face.

“You and the wife doing okay?” Curtis asked inquisitively.

“She’s tired, but we both are. Seems like all we do is work.”

“I remember what that was like,” he started, “Katie was a school teacher; seemed like we never saw each other much before we retired. Don’t know how we found the time to raise three kids. You two expecting any little ones yet?”

“Not yet.”

“I see a little girl playing over there,” he continued.

“She’s mine from a previous marriage.”

“I see. Well our grandkids are at our house constantly when the weather’s warm, so anytime she wants someone to come over and play, well, you just send her our way. We’d love to have her. I know my granddaughter gets awfully bored sometimes when she’s here. My son and his wife are airline pilots, so they’re gone a lot. During the winter months she is usually with her mom’s mom, but during the summer she can’t seem to get enough of us.”

“I will certainly send Olivia over. She’s coming to visit today.” He paused hesitantly as his mind went to a more serious place. “Let me ask you something Curt…”

“Sure,” he answered as he crossed his arms.

“The people who lived here before, did they ever say anything to you about strange things happening in the house?”

Curtis took in a deep breath and then exhaled. “Well, the house sat empty for about 12 years or so when you folks decided to buy it. The people that lived there before kept to themselves. They said ‘hello’ to us maybe twice the entire time they lived there; never said anything to us about anything strange though. Everything okay?”

“I was just curious.” He didn’t hide his unsettledness well because Curtis caught on quickly.

“You sure you two are okay?” he asked with concern in his tone.

“Oh yes. It’s nothing serious, but Robin and I hear things sometimes. And I’ve been feeling a little strange too.”

“I don’t know anything for sure, but that house,” he said as he lifted his chin toward the daunting structure, “has a long history. You might want to research it. Maybe that’ll help you understand what’s happening.”

“Okay, Curt. Well, um, thanks. I better get back to work though. I’ll send Olivia over when she gets here,” Matt concluded as he waved and headed back to the mower.

Diligently, he continued mowing the grass. He saw Sheryl’s car pulling up the drive and watched as Robin walked off of the porch. Her arms were outstretched as Olivia leapt into them. He saw Sheryl wave as she drove back down the long lane to the main road.

Things had calmed down with Sheryl, which delighted him. Time had played a large part in her adjusting to the current situation. Matt figured Sheryl had realized there was no point in fighting about Robin. After all, she had never been a trooper for lost causes and Matt’s hopeless love for Robin would trump anything Sheryl could throw his way.

As his eyes remained fixed on the house, something in the window of the study seemed unusual. Someone stood there. He studied the figure industriously trying to determine whether it was male or female. The figure stared right into his eyes. He felt it.

Without hesitation, he jumped off of the mower and ran up to the porch, throwing open the screen door. After kicking off his grass covered shoes, he flew passed Robin and Olivia, running up the stairs. He heard Robin trailing behind saying,

“What’s wrong? Are you okay?”

He felt the anger swell within him as he neared the study. He burst into the room to find no one.

“What the hell is going on here!”

“Matt, what’s wrong?” she asked calmly.

He plopped into his rolling desk chair and shook his head. Expressionless, he gazed up at Robin who stood in the doorway.

“Okay, Robin,” he began, “I am starting to wonder if you’re right. Something’s going on here.”

“What happened?” she whispered as she walked toward him. She pulled her own rolling chair over and sat facing him, her hands resting his thighs.

The words didn’t pass through his lips easily. His healthy skepticism failed him this time.

“I was in the field. I saw someone here, in this room, looking out the window at me. I got the distinct feeling it was the man that stood in our doorway the other night.”

“My dad is coming tomorrow to bless the house.” Her hand touched his warm cheek. “Everything will be okay after that.”

“There has to be an explanation for all of this!” His training and common sense forced him to backpedal. It wasn’t possible for him to give up on logic yet.

“We’ll figure it out together,” she concluded

The day wore on. Troubled by the conversation with her husband, Robin knew staying busy was her best option for keeping her mind off of things. So she continued with her laundry chores. Standing in the basement at the long table with towels scattered about, she listened to the music playing on her phone. Suddenly, the music faded out and then stopped. She grabbed the device and shook it.  “Damn,” she whispered.  She assumed the battery went dead.

Quickly, the room temperature dropped and the hair on her arms and neck stood up as the goose bumps peppered her skin. The fog from her lungs expelled from her mouth. She realized she was seeing her breath. An invisible strength wrapped around her neck unexpectedly and the gasps for air were futile. Terrified, she clutched her throat trying to remove whatever was choking her. Coughing and panting, the tears began falling down her face. Her feet felt as if they were lifting from the ground and the grip around her neck worsened. Unable to scream or even speak, she realized the urgency of the moment. Finally, she felt the grip release and bent over the table trying desperately to catch her breath. When her ability to speak returned, she screamed for Matt and heard him running through the house. The basement door swung open so hard it shook the drywall at the top of the stairs. He thundered toward her as she continued resting her elbows and torso on the laundry table.

“Robin!” he shouted.

She still struggled to breathe. “I felt like I was being hung.”

“Hung?”

“Yes. My music on my phone completely stopped and the next thing I knew the room got cold. I felt like something was hanging me. I felt my feet lift off of the ground,” she cried.

She stood up and dropped into Matt’s chest, sobbing uncontrollably.

“I’m here now,” he said softly as he caressed her hair. “It’s okay. I’m here.”

With such a terrifying event, Robin knew she needed to meditate and find her balance. Later that night, she sat in the floor of the master bedroom, legs crossed with her eyes closed. She let the peace surround her as she tuned out the stimuli around her. The breathing came easy as she stretched out her hands on her knees.

After 15 minutes, she got up and snuggled into bed. She grabbed a book from the nightstand and began reading.

She felt someone staring at her and looked up, unsure what she might see. It was just Matt standing at the end of the bed with a peculiar look on his face.

“What were you doing?” he asked.

“When?” she asked curiously.

“Well, I walked by and you were sitting on the floor,” he clarified.

“I was meditating.”

“Do you do that a lot?”

“I do it when I have time, but I’ve been trying to make time each day lately. It makes me feel calm and I rest better. After today, I needed it. It seems to help me make sense of things sometimes.”

“Do you pray, too?”

His curiosity seemed heartfelt. Robin didn’t feel he was patronizing her.

“Sort of. I give thanks to the Creator and then I just let the Creator talk to me. I also commune with my spirit guides during my meditation.”

“Wow,” he said shaking his head, “I don’t understand any of this.”

“I have some books about meditation if you want to read them.”

“I think I’ll pass. I don’t know if I’m ready to buy into all this, but if it

makes you feel happier, I’m all for it.”

Matt struggled to find sleep. Disturbed by the events of the day, for which

For which no rational explanation could be found, he knew he had seen a man standing in the study. Then Robin telling him about her encounter didn’t help matters

He glanced over at her as she slept peacefully, but the atmosphere in the room felt anything but calm. In fact, he felt angry and very aggressive.

As he drifted in and out of sleep, he heard talking. It sounded like Olivia. He listened more carefully. She sounded as if she were having a conversation with another person.

Throwing the covers off, he sat up on the side of the bed. He grabbed his cell phone and looked at the clock. It was 4:00 a.m. Matt stood up, walked toward the hallway, and then stood in Olivia’s doorway.

“What’s up princess?” he asked. “Can’t sleep?”

“I was just talking to my friend,” she answered. “She woke me up.”

He walked in and sat on the side of the bed.

“It’s four in the morning Olly. You need to go back to sleep.” Finally, what Olivia said to him registered in his brain. “Who’s your friend?”

“She’s a little girl that says her mommy and daddy don’t live here anymore,” she replied factually as she traced the lines on her comforter.

Matt knew imaginary friends were common among children her age. He even remembered going through such a phase as a young boy. So, he entertained her notion.

“Really? What does your friend look like?”

“She is older than me. She’s got long curly black hair with a really pretty red ribbon. She’s really nice, but sometimes she gets scared.”

“Oh,” he said continuing to humor her.

“She said one of her favorite things is to watch you and Robin dance in the kitchen.”

He felt his heart thump and his stomach sank to his knees as he processed the statement. Olivia had never been in the house to see the two of them dancing; he was very aware of this fact. Sheer panic gripped him, but his face remained calm for the sake of his daughter.

Olivia continued, “She says she misses her mommy really bad, but Robin makes her feel safe. Cookie sees her, too. She likes him. She says he’s funny.”

This was horrific. Matt couldn’t find words as he searched for a way to deal with the information. Something he couldn’t see was forming a relationship with his very vulnerable, young daughter. There seemed to be no rationalization now, especially with the details she gave.

“Olly, honey, is she in here with us right now?”

“No. She left when she heard you get up. You scared her away,” she answered.

“Where does she live? What’s her name?”

“Her name is Emma and she lives in the woods out back.” She continued, “She says she hears you and Robin talking a lot about the others that live here. She said that Robin is scared sometimes and you get mad. She says that the man that lives here sometimes hurts her and won’t let her come in and play all of the time. She says there’s a lady that lives here, too. She said that the lady has asked Robin for help, but Robin won’t help her. The woman tells Emma that the bad man hurt her and her baby. And there’s something else here, but Emma won’t tell me what it is. She said it’s really scary.”

Shock filled Matt’s face as his mouth gapped open. Olivia knew too many details and he didn’t want her to be traumatized by the crazy things going on. He planned to send her away before Richard and Amy arrived.

“Go back to sleep honey. And if Emma comes back tell her you need to get some rest, okay?”

“Okay Daddy.”

Matt walked downstairs very shaken by the conversation with Olivia. Walking to the sink, he felt his body trembling as he looked out the window into the woods. Consumed by fear, he then felt the comfort of Robin’s arms wrapping around his waist. A relieved sigh left his lips as he closed his eyes and reached down to touch her hands, but nothing was there. He felt the embrace, but no warm arms or skin or flesh. He jumped and pinned himself against the countertop, his eyes wide with fear. He felt the color leave his face.

“Who are you?” he whispered. “What do you want from us?”

No one answered, but he heard footsteps coming down the stairs. Then he saw Robin rubbing her eyes as she walked into the kitchen.

“Matt, what’s wrong honey?” Robin walked to him and put her arms around him. “You’re shaking. Baby, what is it? What’s wrong? Are you sick”

“It… it… it touched me,” he bit out as he pulled away from her.

“What touched you?”

He stammered. “I… I got up because I h.. I heard Olly talking. She… she told me that a little girl has been talking to her; said her name was Emma and she lives in the woods. She also said that Emma has watched us dancing… in the kitchen. Olly couldn’t know that.” He shook his head. “Olly also said Emma told her that there was a man here who is mean to her and that there is also a woman on the property. The woman has asked you for help, but you won’t help her. And the little girl told her there’s something else here, but it’s even scarier.”

Robin clasped her hand over her mouth, her eyes wide.

Matt continued, “I was so shaken up, I came down here to catch my breath and get something to drink. I thought you might have followed me because I felt… I felt… I know I felt your arms wrap around me, but… it wasn’t you… it… it was something else. It was someone else.”

“Honey, it’s okay,” she said as she pulled him in close to her again.

His heart pounded against the walls of his chest.

“Daddy’s coming tomorrow. It’s going to be okay,” she assured him.

They embraced quietly until she broke the silence.

“Honey, stop it,” she insisted.

“Stop what?” he asked.

“Stop pulling my hair.”

“Baby,” he began, “I’m not pulling your hair. My hands are right here,” he said as he raised his hands in the air.

“Something just pulled my hair.”

It couldn’t be denied that the activity in the house was intensifying.

“What is happening?” she asked.

“I don’t know,” he answered as he pulled her back into his arms. “I don’t know.”

 

  • How long have you wanted to be a writer?  I started writing at age 16, but I loved writing from a younger age than that.  Actually, I loved storytelling and it sort of developed into a passion for writing.
  •  Have you come up against any hurdles along the way?  Plenty.  Rejection upon rejection from traditional publishers.  Then finding the right publisher.  Many say they will provide this and that, but in all honesty, if you’re an indie I found I was on my own.  Also, writer’s block is also a hurdle for me.  For me there doesn’t seem to be enough time to write when I could get a great flow.  I work full time outside of the home and my family responsibilities take center stage, leaving very little time for much else.  I guess this is why it sometimes takes me years to complete a book; or I start one and then don’t get to finish writing it.
  • (1)72624_512237638819067_97788942_n What would you say is the most difficult thing about being a writer?  As I said, it’s finding the time to actually sit down and write.  I feel like I have so much going on all of the time that there’s hardly any time for me to do what I love most—write.  I am pulled in, what feels like, thousands of directions.  Balancing family, career, and writing… that sometimes takes superhero strength.
  •  What or who inspires you to write?  Situations, people, movies, songs, memories, dreams; all of these things inspire me.  My first book (the one I wrote at age 16, which isn’t published yet, BTW) came from a very vivid dream.  I got up at 3 a.m. and wrote it all down.  The next day I just started writing and there it was.  I found something I could invest in. 
  •  If  your books are a series, how many books do you plan to have in your series?  Right now I am kicking around an idea to expound upon Olivia Gregory’s life.  She’s the daughter of Matthew Gregory from The Fine Line.  I’ve also been thinking about a third book to follow some of the other characters in that book.  I suppose I will just have to sit down and see where inspiration takes me.
  •  Do you have any other writing projects on the go, apart from your current series?  I just finished my second book, Undone, and signed a contract to publish it with PDMI Direct Publishing.  They have offered to publish it under their imprint, Injected Ink.  That particular imprint focuses on darker or paranormal writing, which is a perfect home for Undone. 
  •   What genre would you say your books are in?  On Booklocker’s  site, The Fine Line is lumped into the “horror” genre.  However, it is a cross genre book.  There are also major inspirational components in the book.  I wrote it because I wanted to show that there are possibilities out there; ones that seem unreal.  I wanted people to watch characters face adversities that were tremendous and seemingly insurmountable, but then see them walk through to the other side unscathed with out a scratch (emotionally).  I also don’t consider it to be completely horrific based on the reviews.  There’s just enough paranormal in the book to make it interesting without it scaring you to death.
  •   If you had one wish that I could wave a magic wand and grant you, what would it be and why?  I would wish that my book sales would be so wonderful that I could begin donating to the charities I admire.
  • Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?  No.  I wanted to be a musician or an actress or a model.  Then reality set in and I knew I needed to go to college.  So, once I left high school my writing lay dormant.  When I got married in 1998 I tried picking it up again, but it went no where.  Everything else seems to have always come before writing, but things are different now (somewhat).  It’s funny that I started out wanted to be involved in the fine arts somehow and am in child welfare, which has nothing to do with the fine arts.
  • What has your publishing experience been like?  I am not very good at sugar coating anything.  After being rejected multiple times from publishers and then nearly being picked up by a major publisher and then getting dumped by that major publisher, I guess you could say I was desperate.  I didn’t know what to do or where to look.  I was alone in the author community and I hadn’t started networking yet.  Looking back on it now, if I would have networked I probably wouldn’t have picked BookLocker, but nonetheless, I did. I am also not one to bash companies or individuals, so I’m going to say this to all of you who are searching for publishers:  READ YOUR CONTRACT AND ASK ABOUT COSTS!  I don’t regret completely the decision to publish with BL because if it weren’t for that, I wouldn’t have learned some very valuable lessons and it brought PDMI and me together.  So, it’s all good.  However, with that being said, I also realize that has cost me more money to purchase my very own book compared to others who have published.  I am hearing about authors purchasing their books for distribution for $5.00 to $6.00 a book.  Let me just put it this way:  I pay quite a bit more to purchase my own work then that… breaking the bank here!  But, all is well because The Fine Line is going to have a new home and be re-released by a fair group who believe in personal service and attention to their authors and they don’t believe in hoarding the profit.  When a store pays over $100 for your book and you get $24 of that, that’s not okay.  I know that when PDMI publishes my work, I’ll be much happier and can report a positive experience with publishing.
Injected-125

Injected Ink Media

  • How did you/do you market your work?  Now that you think I’ve bashed BL, I’m going to give you some positives about them.  They provided to me a marketing guide to help me through bringing attention to my work.  Granted, most of it has not worked well, but some things have.  I set up a Twitter account and have learned (and am still learning) how to use it.  I set up on LinkedIn and joined groups.  Shelfari, Amazon, GoodReads, Facebook, there’s your social networking giants.  I got my own website and this blog.  I also interview with local newspapers after blowing up their phones.  I have announced it everywhere I can that I published something.  I have also held a contest and there is a give-away that I sponsored in the month of March to bring attention to my work.  I also donate SWAG to fellow author events.  I have been involved in local events as well and a radio show.  Interviews and reviews also help get the word out.  My goal isn’t to become rich.  My goal is to give people hope when they read my stories.  So if I don’t become a best seller, I’m okay with that.  I just want to inspire people.  
  • Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?  Excited.  In awe.  And then I started reading it and found misspellings, errors, and other things that made me want to stomp on it.  Bad, huh?  Which is why I’ve used David Sprigg, an editor friend of mine on Facebook, to go through the book, make corrections, and then present a clean copy to PDMI.  Normally, PDMI provides the editing, but because I want the book re-released ASAP I am using an outside entity to perfect the imperfections.  It’s a poor reflection on me as an author to have errors in my work and frankly, it pisses me off.
  • What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?  DO NOT GIVE UP! And RESEARCH!  Don’t get sucked into something that you don’t have peace about.  Think everything through.  Make sure the decision you’ve made feels right.  If it doesn’t keep looking.  PDMI is my home now and I’ve waited a long time to find them.  I’m not saying they’ll accept what you send them, but I highly recommend them.  They are honest and will do things right.

So enough of the heavy.  Now to introduce you to the main characters of The Fine Line:

Robin Hillard (2) modified          Robin Hillard (5) modified

This is Robin Hillard, Gregory, the books main female character.  She is strong willed, yet has significant self esteem issues.   She has been through a lot as a child and as a young adult that has damaged her beyond repair; or so she thinks.  She is a child welfare investigator and very logical, but she also believes in the power of the paranormal.  Raised in a traditionally religious home, she diverges from that path to take on a more open minded approach and she works hard to relay that to her new husband, Matt.  She falls in love with Matt, despite her best efforts not to.  I hope that her character inspires readers because the adversity she overcomes is truly supernatural.

 major revisions

Matthew Gregory steps into Robin’s life as her attending physician at the ER.  He is kind and compassionate.  He takes an immediate interest in her.  He is confident without arrogance.  Matt works hard to show Robin that he’s different and helps her learn to trust him.  He spends time without her.  He gives her gifts.  He courts her.  He doesn’t expect anything from her physically knowing that this will only scare her away.  He wins her heart and proposes.  She accepts and they begin their journey together.  Unlike Robin, he is a skeptic.  Life as an ER doctor has brought him to the conclusion that there could be no God or a higher power and that after this life, things are over.  However, he quickly learns that his skepticism is no match for the paranormal activity he faces.

Olivia Gregory (3)modified

Olivia Gregory is Matt’s daughter from a previous marriage.  She instantly accepts Robin into her life with open arms.  She is an energetic, sweet child who is smart and does well in school.  When she comes to visit her father and step-mother, she encounters a guest she didn’t anticipate: a ghost child with whom she forges a friendship with.  Olivia doesn’t escape challenges in the book and faces a situation that could destroy her.  However, in doing this, her sense are opened up even further and it isn’t long before she is able to communicate with the dead, helping them find their way to the light and cross over.  She is an integral part of the Gregory family finding peace in their home.  It is very possible that Olivia will be the cornerstone of an upcoming sequel where the reader can learn who she grows up to be and what she does with her gifts.

7 responses to “Spring Fever Blog Tour: It’s My Birthday!!!!

  1. Correction : Richard Spriggs edited the book. My son’s name is David. I must have been thinking about when I wrote this (next to last question clarification). And thank you so much Amy and Glynis for your comments 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday Tracee! Thank you so much for the birthday present to all of us! I enjoyed reading the selection from your book and the open, honest responses in your interview. Good luck in all you do.

Leave a Reply

