Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Amy Richie

Amy Richie is joining us tonight for the blog tour.  She is the author of Willow, a young adult fiction.  Thank you so much Amy for joining this event and I hope the readers enjoy learning about you!

11389_499933866712582_11934194_nTitle: Willow
Author: Amy Richie

Genre: YA
Website: amyrichiebooks.com

Social Media connections: twitter – @authoramyrichie Facebook: Amy Richie:Author Page

Release Date: August 24, 2012
Where to buy:  http://www.amazon.com/Willow-Blood-Vine-Series-ebook
Reviews: amazon.com

Other Work: Timeless, Lost and Found, Sapphire City, Fern, Finding a Princess, The Seventh Sacrifice

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.     Sapphire City

“In the ocean?” My mouth went dry and my heart felt like it was stuck in my throat. This was it, the moment I was afraid of. Draven was crazy, salt water crazy. He was going to drown me in the ocean. Maybe he had already drowned my mom. I took a small step back, trying to get away from the water. My bottom lip began to shake.

“You are afraid.” It wasn’t a question.

Of course I was afraid. “I don’t want to go in the ocean. Mom said I’m not allowed.” That was a good response, which would probably stop him.

He grinned, very unexpectedly, but he was crazy so why not? “The ocean is a part of you, Stella. I’m sure your mother knew that. It’s a part of her, too … no matter how far she tries to run.”

“My mom hates the ocean.”

“No,” he shook his head sadly, “she doesn’t.”

“I …” I shook my head. “I’m going back to the house … to wait for Mom. She’ll be back … soon.”

“Your mother isn’t coming back, Stella. She never made it to the trial.”

I bit my bottom lip, the wind whirling around my feet and throwing my hair into my face. My eyes stung, but I wasn’t sure if it was from the salt water in the air or his words. I knew something was wrong. Could I trust Draven? “Will you take me to my mother?” I whimpered.

I looked up at him. His blue eyes held me in a captive trance. “Can you just trust me? I won’t let anything happen to you.”

“There’s no Blue City in the middle of the ocean.”

“Of course not. It’s only about thirty miles out.”

My eyes widened in alarm. I had never knowingly been this close to a crazy person before. It was not a pleasant feeling. Every nerve in my body told me to run. Some far off corner of my brain tried to remember the self-defense course that Mom and I had taken together. Kick them in the groin, that’s what the lady had said. Easy for her to say. I just wanted to get away from this gorgeous crazy boy. “I’ll just …” I turned abruptly and tried to run away from him.

 

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing? I first started writing in high school but life quickly got in the way so I didn’t start taking it seriously until much later.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? I never saw myself as a writer of fiction books. I did want to write for a magazine, like National Geographic or something like that so I could travel.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?    I like YA with a mix of paranormal.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from? I have really strange dreams a lot, which give me inspiration; and I just have a big imagination!

616188_432804940092142_319831171_o

5      What has your publishing experience been like?  I have a fantastic publishing company, Anchor Group Publishing, so it has been great so far!

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? I do listen to music, usually broadway soundtracks. It was Legally Blonde the Musical for a very long time, now it’s Les Miserables.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? I am terrible at names! I ask people all the time for names and then use them. The book I am currently working on is a niece from a co-worker. I also have a note on my author page on Facebook asking for names.

 

8      In your most recent work, who is your favourite character and why? Willow is my favourite character right now. I just love her spunk and the friendships she has with the pack.

 

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it? I always learn things. Often, there are parts that seem to write themselves. Life lessons aside, I’ve learned a lot about marketing and editing that I never even realized existed. The real work starts once you are done writing the book!

 

10   How did you/do you market your work? I have gotten swag to hand out, do interviews/ blog spots. Anchor Group has a PR person who helps out, enter contests and giveaways, keep and maintain social medi, Libboo.. It’s a lot of work!

 

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? I remember when I first got the email that Timeless( my very first finished book) was going to be published. I cried. It was such a moment in my life. Someone, besides me, saw worth in my book! Holding it for the first time isn’t something I can put into words…and words are my specialty!

12   Favourite authors?  JK Rowling, Stacey Rourke, Christy Sloat, Katherine Pollilo, Elizabeth Kirke, Monika pardon, Dawn Grey, Karen Swart, Helen Daly, Whitney DeBoe, Emily Fogle, Karen Toz, Jodi Stone, Wendy Nystrom, Cindy Springsteen, Richelle Mead… there’s a lot of good ones!!

 

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? I do sometimes. I take a break from the book. Read for a little while or start a new book!

 

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? Keep writing is the first. Find a publisher you really love. Don’t give up!

 

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it? I am working on a new novella series called The Princess of Tontine. It’s about a girl who discovers her “powers” come from an alien planet that she has to try and save! I’m really loving the characters and building the world of the Zar Galaxy.

Leave a Reply

