Spring Fever Blog feature: Elizabeth James

Today’s blog will feature Elizabeth James.  Another talented author, you can find her on Facebook as well as Twitter.  Thank you Elizabeth for participating in this two-month-long event.

Enjoy the blog everyone!

final cover elizabeth jamesTitle: Love by Design
Author: Elizabeth James

Genre: contemporary romance
Blog:  eajames2013.wordpress.com

Social Media connections:  www.facebook.com/elizabethjamesauthor

    Twitter @ejamesauthor

   

Release Date:  1/24/2013
Where to buy:   Amazon, B&N, Smashwords  Paperback available on Amazon and Createspace
Reviews:  LOVE BY DESIGN was the perfect, curl up on your couch with a blanket on a rainy day read. I read it in less than 24 hours and truely enjoyed it. Being the first book by a new author always makes me cautious but I was pleasantly surprised. I loved the character build. Enjoyed the relationship Callie had with her mother, her optimism was refreshing and made you want to know her personally. The support characters in the book made you want to know more about them and it laid a great foundation for group of people in Asheville that I would love to hang out and sing Happy Birthday with =) I would definitely recommend it to others. I am definitely going to be reading the next book and am looking forward to more by this new author. Melanie Codina on goodreads

First book by this author and let me tell you, she did a great job! LOVE BY DESIGN is a fun and entertainingly touching book. I love Justin & Callie as a couple. Justin is soooo romantic & witty & fun to be with. Hope book 2’s release date is not so far away. Diana Tran on goodreads

LOVE BY DESIGN Really enjoyed this book – the dialogue between Callie & Justin had me reading with a smile on my face throughout most of the book! Great story from this first time author, lighthearted and relaxing with few laugh out loud moments. Looking forward to see what Ms James has for us next! Jodi Negri on amazon

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.  Love by Design (Design #1)

I walked down the hallway and as I approached Justin’s room, the door opened and he was there.  He was dressed in a pair of slacks and a snug soft grey sweater, which only emphasized his gorgeous physique.  He gave me a sexy smile as he took my hand and pulled me inside.

“Wow, Callie…you look absolutely incredible.” He flashed that smile and I melted.

I stood there praying my hand wasn’t sweaty.  “Well, Justin, you look…nice.”

He laughed and I saw those dimples again.

“Ok…nice is good.” He said still laughing.

Now, I felt stupid. “I mean, you look REALLY nice.” I managed to say while looking away.  I was such a dork.

I felt his other hand touch my chin and he pulled my gaze back toward him.  His eyes were mesmerizing.

“I know what you are thinking, and stop it.  You made me laugh and that’s something that rarely happens.  I didn’t expect you to say I looked incredible too but if you still want to say I look incredible, you can.”

I couldn’t help it, I found myself laughing along with him.

“That’s much better, I like seeing you smile.” He said as he led me onto the huge balcony that took up the entire wall of his suite.

A table set with dinner and candles was the first thing I noticed, but I found myself drawn toward the railing, unaware that I was pulling him with me.

“OH!” was all I could manage to say as I gazed upon the night skyline of Charlotte.  “This is absolutely breathtaking!” I finally gasped.

“I thought we’d be more comfortable out here and I’m glad you like the view, because I find it breathtaking as well.”   He said leaning against the railing right next to me.

Smiling, I turned to him and noticed he wasn’t looking at the view.  He was looking at me.  This man was going to be the death of me!

 

Jean profileMini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing? I actually started writing when I was 15 years old.  My father was in the military and we were stationed in Spain.  I felt really isolated due to living off base without any friends in the same area so I retreated to my bedroom with a notepad and pen and started writing a book.  I never finished it but my mother, who’d read it, said why not try again so here I am.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? I guess in my heart I always wanted to be a writer but that was a dream way out of reach.  I’d wanted to be a lawyer when I was in school but when I graduated and started college, I found I liked business administration better.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up?    I like contemporary romance and that’s where I’m focused right now.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from? I really can’t explain where this story came from except to say, it’s what rolled out of my mind like a movie…the characters names, the places, everything, came out like that.

5      What has your publishing experience been like?  I’m an indie publisher and was really surprised at how simple it is compared to years ago when the only way you got a book published was after rejection after rejection from a big publisher.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?  I sit on my chaise couch with my laptop and I prefer silence.  I want the story to speak to me and it can’t if there is background noise.  I know some writers like music playing but that is distracting to me.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? My husband and I travel a lot and in Love by Design, I write about Charlotte and Asheville NC, both places I’ve been and fell in love with.  The characters names just popped in my head but later I realized I had a lot of “J” names and was advised to change them but I couldn’t because they were the names that I wanted.  My husband and I have the same initials and I know many families the same way, why not?

 

Life by design Final cover8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why? My favorite character in Love by Design is Callie.  She is most like my personality and I love that she’s an independent woman who really isn’t looking for love but it found her.  In Life by Design, Jane is my hero because she’s a single mom trying to raise her child on her own…another strong woman.

 

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?  I learned that the most important thing is not to worry about “selling” anything, just to write to make myself happy.  I would have been happy to sell just one book but the response has been tremendous and more than I could have dreamed of.

 

10   How did you/do you market your work?  I use twitter and facebook to market my book plus the most important thing of all, word of mouth.  I’ve purchased bookmarks and had giveaways all to stir up interest and it seems to be working.

 11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

I honestly cried.  When I published on Amazon as an e-book, my hands were shaking when I clicked the publish button and when I got my first box of paperbacks, I shed a tear or two.  It’s been such an honor to sign my books for my fans.  It’ll never get old.

12   Favorite authors? 

I have several and I consider them as friends.  Stephanie Rowe, Gina Maxwell, Laura Kaye, R.L. Mathewson, J.R. Rain, the list goes on and on…I’m actually on the street teams for 4 of the authors (only exception J.R. Rain) and that’s how I’ve gotten to know them so well.

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

Not so far.  I’m sure that day will come but the ideas are fresh in my mind right now and I’ve already got another series in my head as a follow-up to the Design series.

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? Write but be willing to take the good reviews with the bad.  You can’t please everyone, please yourself first.

 

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it? I just released Life by Design and am working on the final book in the Design series Forever by Design.  This book will wrap up the lives of my characters from the first two books and it is due out summer 2013.  All the favorite characters from the series will be included.

Leave a Reply

