Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Raebeth McGee-Buda

Today’s author is Raebeth McGee-Buda.  Welcome to the spotlight!  Thanks for participating!

author photo

Blurb: Amber Brown spent her entire existence believing Dave was her father. When her mother reveals this is untrue, she goes through an emotional spiral with depression. It’s hard for her to believe her mother had lied to her all this time.

A move to a new home and town causes Amber to be consumed by her “darkness” and reverts to cutting to free herself from her pain.

When Casey, her new friend enters her life, she introduces Amber to parties, drugs, and Amber’s new boyfriend Landon. The secret of cutting begins to take affect on Amber as she tries to hide it from her friends and family. In the midst of everything, Amber has the desire to find out who her biological father is.

Follow Amber through her trials of depression and cutting, along with the discovery of love.

 Author Facebook Page Linkhttps://www.facebook.com/raebethbuda

Email: raebeth.buda@gmail.com

Blog link: http://raebethmcgeeswriting.blogspot.com/

Twitter ID: https://twitter.com/raebethmcgee

Website: http://raebethmcgee.weebly.com/index.html

 

Each book(s) Amazon page links

Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Silenced-Volume-1-RaeBeth-McGee/dp/1480254665/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1355696968&sr=1-1

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Silenced-Series-ebook/dp/B00ANRBNDS/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1355696968&sr=1-1&keywords=Silenced+by+raebeth+mcgee

Link on Barnes and Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/silenced-rae-beth-mcgee/1022945794?ean=2940015999945

Additional information

Here is my author page on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/RaeBeth-McGee/e/B00ANXH6PG/ref=la_B00ANXH6PG_rf_p_n_feature_browse-b_0?rh=n%3A283155%2Cp_82%3AB00ANXH6PG%2Cp_n_feature_browse-bin%3A2656022011&bbn=283155&ie=UTF8&qid=1355839606&rnid=618072011

 

Event that changed my lifeTitle: Silenced
Author: Raebeth McGee-Buda

Genre: Young Adult/Suspense
Website: http://raebethmcgee.weebly.com/index.html

Blog: http://raebethmcgeeswriting.blogspot.com/

 

Social Media connections:

Twitter: @raebethmcgee

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/raebethbuda

Libboo: https://www.libboo.com/network/raebethbuda

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5095502.RaeBeth_McGee_Buda

Release Date: December 13, 2012
Where to buy:  Amazon and Barnes and Noble
Silenced Cover 2Reviews:

 

“For a debut novel to have this amount of depth and emotion is phenomenal. The characters are well developed and are both likeable and relatable. You feel as if they are someone you have known for a long time. The plot is deep, but flows well. It remained engaging throughout the entire novel. I was very attached to this story. I am curious to see where this goes in book two. It isn’t your everyday they lived happily ever after story. It deals with people with real problems and some that just don’t live happily ever after. I love that about this book. I would have to recommend this one for readers 14+ because of some sex references as well as the deep content. While it may be fiction and somewhat raw and controversial, this is a must read for parents, teens, and others out there. Great job!!!” –  Michelle McQueen

 

“Raebeth McGee has written a powerful story that is a MUST READ. Her descriptive words, and the flow of the story, carried me on a rollercoaster of emotions. I shed more than a few tears, so a tissue may come in handy! I highly recommend this book to the older YA age range (15+) and adults alike.” – Lynn Worton

“I had no idea what I would be reading and wow! The subject matter was very detailed and heartbreaking. The overall story was extremely telling and I didn’t want to stop reading until I was done. The main character was well written and you just felt the overwhelming amount of stress that she was feeling. There were times as a mother I felt defeated, that so many things were missed, so what I am saying is that it sucked me in. It was a good learning read that many parents could learn from.” –  Tonya Rupell

 

Other Work:

Silenced is my first and only works I have published at this time.

 

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

I grab the razor blade I took from my dad’s garage. It’s tiny, but sharp. I turn it over in my hands, nicking my palm. The blood trickles down my wrist and I smile with grim satisfaction. Yes, this will do the job. I catch one last look in the mirror; the pain makes me want to explode. I can’t take it anymore. I press it lightly against my wrist, tracing a blue vein under my skin. The razor is cold, smooth, and comforting. I press harder, dragging it across my wrist over and over like I’m going to saw it off. Pain comes rushing out. Free at last.

The intensity is too much and I sink to the floor, leaning against the bathroom door while trying to catch my breath. I stay like this for a while, dripping blood onto the tile. Unexpectedly, the front door slams closed. I jump. I scramble for some toilet paper and press it to the wound.

“Amber?” my mother yells up the stairs, “We’re home.”

Yet I can’t move. I’m numb. I can’t even answer her back to tell her something, anything, to make sure she doesn’t come up here and see me like this.

“Do you hear me?” she yells again.

I gather up the energy to fight through the lack of feeling. “I hear you. Sorry. I’ll be down in a minute,” I reply hastily, hoping deep down inside she can’t hear my shaking voice. I hear her shoes tapping on the hardwood floors in the kitchen and I know I’m safe for a short time.

I need to get off the floor, even though the numbness still lingers throughout my body. I search deep inside for whatever strength I have left and push myself up. My arms are shaking but they’re able to hold me for a brief moment. Standing is a bit harder. I use the bathroom counter for support as I reach for the medicine cabinet to get the first aid kit.

I find the gauze and tape on the top shelf. Then sit back down. Resting on the toilet, I gently wrap my arm where my mom won’t notice, and tape it down. After the tape, I slide the sports band on. Another job well done.

 

 Silencedgraphic

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

 

I figured it out with the help of my younger sister. She was looking through the shorten version of Silenced and suggested I add to it. She said it’d make a very good book to help spread awareness for self harm and depression.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

No actually I wanted to be a psychologist. I have my associates degree for the start towards my PhD but when I found the love of being a writer, my goal in life changed.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? 

I like to mix it up. I think it keeps things fresh and it also shows me which genre I enjoy writing in the most. One won’t find out if they don’t give it a try.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

The inspiration for Silenced came from my own experiences and from those I’ve talked with. We felt that at times others have made us feel like we were making it up in our heads or like the problem just doesn’t exist. After talking with my therapist, I came to realize that depression and self harm are often looked at in this way. I wanted to make a difference and try to help to change that. Therefore, Silenced was born.

5      What has your publishing experience been like? 

It’s been an eventful one to say the least. I’ve had setbacks with publishing Silenced in the past and this caused it to take me longer to get it out there. I’ve tried to go through small publishing houses and ended up not agreeing with them. Afterward I had to fight to get my rights back for Silenced. Once this happened I decided to self publish. Since doing it myself.. I’ve enjoyed each step along the way because each was a learning process for me.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I don’t. The words flow where ever I am and it doesn’t matter what is around me. As long as I focus and keep my attention on my work in progress… everything works great.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I try to use names with meanings that are relevant to the story. There are times when I’m basing a character off of someone and use their name when given permission. The places it depends on the type of book and where I want it to take place. Then I do research to see if the world within my book matches any cities or countries around the world. If not, I create my own world.

8      In your most recent work, who is your favourite character and why?

Amber Brown is my favourite character. I based her off of a few people I know and she’s all of them mixed into one. She’s the outcast in school and finds her one true friend in Casey. This was me in high school. It was hard to find where I fit in. Her outlook comes from a mixture of people I met and based her off of.

 9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

I did. I learned that the indie world is very supportive and more than helpful to aspiring authors. Sometimes all you have to do is ask. I’ve learned so much about depression and self harm as well. I did a lot of interviews and research to make sure any facts I say within the book is true.

 10   How did you/do you market your work?

There’s several ways I do it. But the one of the main ways is through social media.

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

I was very nervous and scared. I was afraid of what others would say about Silenced because of the basic subject. Depression and self harm are subjects no one likes to talk about and it’s even harder to read about it. Therefore, I was afraid my book would be too hard to read.

12   Favourite authors? 

Edgar Allen Poe and Stephen King

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I have. As a matter of fact I’m going through it now. I think it’s mainly because of my pregnancy. For some reason I’m always tired. A tired mind doesn’t want to be creative. As soon as I figure out how to get past this… I’ll let you know.

 14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Two big things to be a writer would be to write everyday and read. The main bit of advice that I would give would be to NEVER GIVE UP. Don’t let that little voice in your head win. Believe me.. I’m still hearing it but I shove a cookie in her mouth and write.

 15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?

 Oh I have so many different works in progress that I’m working on. I’m writing a paranormal that has witches, wizards, and demons. I’m writing a crime book which is based off of a true event. I’m writing the second part of Silenced. The list actually goes on but the others are top secret for now.

5 responses to “Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Raebeth McGee-Buda

  1. Great interview, ladies. I must say, RaeBeth, your excerpt to your book sent chills up my arms. Excellent part to use. It has me very interested. I enjoyed your answers A younger sister makes a fantastic influence. Keep on writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

