Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Cyndi Harris

Today’s blog features Cyndi Harris, writer of Heart of a Stripper.  Thank you so much Cyndi for participating in the blog tour!

Enjoy the read everyone!

AUTHOR BIO

me2Cyndi Harris is a rising author who loves to read and write Paranormal Romance, as well as ordinary Romance. She already released her debut Paranormal Romance novel. Her second, and forth coming books will released soon. Look out for more starting February 14th, 2013! Here are a few words from her:

A mother of two and author of too many haha. I love reading and writing Paranormal Romance. When I pick up a book that’s published and see an idea I have started working on I smile because I know I’m in the right line of business. My goal is to tickle the fancy of all those who love to read, but most of all it’s for me. I can’t put a pen or laptop down because my brain is always brewing up a new character or scenario. So if you’re like me and love to read and even write indulge into my world.

Heart of a StripperTitle: Heart of a Stripper
Author: Cyndi Harris

Genre: New Adult
Website: http://angryprincess.weebly.com/

Blog: http://romanceauthorcyndiharris.blogspot.com/

Social Media connections:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/angryprincess23

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6552229.Cyndi_Harris

Twitter: https://twitter.com/YourFantasy

Release Date: February 14th 2013
Where to buy: 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_12?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=cyndi%20harris
Smashwords:

Reviews:

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/508039699

 

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/545103531

 

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/526422498

Other Work: A Kiss from the Grave (Kiss Series: Book One) To Be Released soon!

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

Nevaeh walked into the apartment she shared with her dad, and saw him staring at the TV. They locked eyes briefly as she stood by the door, before closing it. She was surprised to find him awake that time of day, in the afternoon. Sucking in a breath, she started to walk past him to her room. He was wearing a white tank top and blue shorts with white socks. His hair was rough and he had a beard to match. Of course, there was a can of beer in his hand, and she was sure he was drunk.

“Where the hell you been?” he grumbled, in a husky voice.

“School.” She said, sarcastically as she slipped between him and the TV.

“You’re in my way!” he shouted throwing the beer can at her.

She dodged it, and it hit the flat screen TV that she brought a few days ago. On impact, the beer splattered all over the screen. That enraged him and he shot to his feet.

“Look what you did, bitch!!” he shouted.

“Sorry, I didn’t let it hit me.” She said cynically, yet hurt by his words.

“Clean that shit up now! And after that, cook me dinner.” He ordered staring over at her.

“I’m not your wife dad.” She Cyndied.

“What did you say to me?” he asked, narrowing his eyes at her.

Swallowing hard, she shook her head.

“Nothing, dad.” She sighed walking towards her room.

“Get back here and clean my damn TV!” he shouted.

“I have homework!” she shouted back, as she sat her book bag on her bed.

Her room was tiny, but she was working on making it look cozy. So far, she had a twin sized bed and had decorated her walls somewhat. Closing her room door, she pulled out her text and notebooks before sitting down. Not too soon after, he door swung open and her dad was standing there, more than irate.

“Don’t sit there and act like you’re smart.” He barked. “You’re not good for anything but lying on your back.”

Nevaeh looked up to him as she gripped the pen she had in her hand. She fought back tears as he kept tearing into her, chipping away more and more of her soul.

“You’re a whore just like your mother. Don’t think I don’t know that you sneak out of the house. You’re never going to amount to anything but a slut.” He bit.

“You don’t know anything about me.” She whispered.

“I know plenty.” He insisted. “You think making a little money from selling your body is going to help you? You’ll never amount to anything just like your mother.” He growled.

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

I began writing seriously in the 6th grade.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

At an early age, I wanted to be a teacher, but that quickly changed to a writer by the time I was around 12.

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? 

I prefer to work with Paranormal Romance the most because anything can happen, but I also like to mix it up. I don’t want to get stuck in a certain genre. The book I just released is a New Adult Romance.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

Honestly, I love horror movies. Growing up, I also loved vampires so I’ve always steered towards that. Goosebumps was my favourite series to read growing up.

5      What has your publishing experience been like? 

At first, it was rocky, but since I branched off and self-published (something I was really afraid to dive into), but I felt it was time e to try. Turns out, I actually love it. It is harder though advertising for yourself, but the reward is when you see your book selling well.

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

Yes! I listen to a certain playlist entitled ‘Writing’ that I whipped together. It helps when I get into certain scenes of every book. I have everything from pop rock, to love songs.

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I often jot names down. Especially when I hear one that’s really pretty (for a girl) Or I Google lol

8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

I’ll have to go for the character in my next release named Marshall. I love him because he goes from being so adorably innocent to ruthless in some aspects. You want to just console him after the things he’s put through.

9      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

Yes, I learned not to let others dictate your work. They’ll always be those who hate it as well as love it. If you feel it’s right for you, then go with it.

10   How did you/do you market your work?

Yes, I do as many blogs as I can (including my own). I advertise on twitter and Facebook. I have my own author page and website. This is new to me, so I’m working on venturing out. Selling in independent stores and doing conventions soon.

11   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Omg, the smile I had was uncontainable. My heart swelled with pride and joy. To know I did all the work and have the finished product in my own hand was rewarding in itself.

12   Favorite authors? 

Michelle Rowen, Gena Showalter, Larissa Ione, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Sherrilyn Kenyon

13   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

Yes, usually when a character’s name hangs me up, or when I want an action scene to be “perfect”. After about a few hours of stammering and brainstorming, I just WRITE. I’ve learned writing something is better than wasting time looking at a blank screen. Rereading it, it always turns out right.

14   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Do not let anyone stop you. There are so many ways to break into the literacy world now, that it’s amazing. So, find what works for you. Also, don’t let anyone change what you love about YOUR work. If they’re trying to better it in certain aspects, fine. But stay true to what you love about it. Remember not everyone will agree nor love what you do, so don’t expect them to.

15   Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?

Yes, as I mentioned it’s a series I’ve had sitting on the shelf for a few years. The first is slated to be released in late March or Early April. (Fingers crossed) The first book is entitled, “A Kiss from the Grave”. Here’s a blurb:

Telling your best friend that you’ve always been secretly in love with her should be easy right? That’s what Marshall Lockhart thought the night his best friend Caydence Williams planted a big one on him.

Marshall Lockhart may not have it all, but there’s one thing he can’t live without.

Caydence Williams, his beautiful best friend, and the girl he is madly in love with.

Today he’s gonna muster up the courage to tell her that. That was until the unthinkable happened.

Being murdered could really put a pin in your plans.

Caydence is devastated after losing the piece of her heart that fit perfectly. Finding Marshall alive in a place she’d least expect turns her life upside down, especially since she’d watched him and he had definitely been dead and buried. Without questioning the obvious–rescuing him from the unknown, she gets mixed up in a tailspin of trouble. Waking from the unknown, and coming to his senses, Marshall feels hollow, furious & hungry…very hungry. Fighting to stay in control of the unfamiliar beast inside of him, he finds his own dilemma. Little does Caydence know, the boy she once knew was buried deep inside & the monster inside of him was way too far on the surface—clawing its way out. But the bond and flourishing love of the two together may prove to be stronger than the obstacles thrown their way.

Leave a Reply

