Spring Fever Blog Tour featured Author: Lauren Dawes

Today’s author is Lauren Dawes.  She is kicking off day 2 of this two-month long event.  I want to take a moment to thank her for her participation!

Enjoy!

AUTHOR BIO

photo of lauren for blogLauren Dawes is an urban fantasy/paranormal romance writer and the author of the Half Blood Trilogy. You won’t find any friendly vampires in between the pages of her books; just blood, teeth and violence. When she’s not writing, she’s reading or teaching. She currently lives in Victoria, Australia with her husband and cat.

 

Half Blood COVER

Title: Half Blood
Author: Lauren Dawes

Genre: urban fantasy/paranormal romance
Website: http://authorlaurendawes.wix.com/laurendawes

Blog: http://laurendawes.blogspot.com

Social Media connections:

Release Date:  8th April 2012
Where to buy: amazon.com
Reviews:

Other Work: Half Truths (#2) and Half Life (#3)

Please provide a snippet from your most recently released book.

When Ivy opened the door, Sabel stopped pacing. In his hand was a blade the length of her forearm. He flipped it end over end, staring at her with his wolf’s piercing green eyes. Ivy couldn’t suppress the shiver. Whether it was it from fear or desire, she didn’t know. All she knew was this male was affecting her like Ulf was never able to.

Tilting her chin towards the weapon, she asked, ‘Do I get one of those?’

Sabel flipped the blade twice more before answering, staring at her the whole time. What she would have given to crack open his skull and find out what he was thinking. ‘No,’ he replied curtly.

That was it? No? Just no? ‘What if we get into a fight?’

You won’t.’

‘But what if we do?’ she countered, propping her hands onto her hips. Sabel’s gaze raked down her body like he was mentally undressing her. Ivy’s body responded to him instantly; her heart rate increasing and moisture pooling between her thighs. Ulf had never been able to give her that reaction just by looking at her.

Sabel’s nostrils flared suddenly. ‘Then I will protect you.’ His voice had taken on a husky edge that spoke to her wolf.

Ivy cocked her head to the side. ‘Are you always this black and white, this rigid?’

‘I don’t understand what you mean,’ he replied, the blade still flipping through the air.

She huffed impatiently. ‘Just because I’m female, doesn’t mean I can’t fight.’

A shadow of a smile brushed his lush lips. ‘You don’t need to fight because you are female.’

She growled. ‘You are so frustrating!’

‘So I’ve been told,’ he replied dryly. The knife went end over end once more.

‘Can you at least stop doing that?’

He cocked his head to the side this time. ‘Why?’

‘Because it’s annoying me,’ she snipped.

 

Half Truths COVERMini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

I started properly writing in 2009, and it got so serious that I actually quit my job as an ESL teacher so that I could write full-time in August 2010. I was just really lucky to have my (now) husband be so supportive when it came to the financial side of things.

 

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I didn’t. At one stage I wanted to be a vet, then a chef. Eventually I fell into ESL teaching.

 

3      What genre do you prefer to work within? Or do you mix it up? 

My heart will forever be with urban fantasy/paranormal romance; however, the first full-length novel I ever wrote was a romantic drama.

 

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories (this story) come from?

I was inspired by other author’s twists on the typical vampire and werewolf stories. I began creating my own alternate universe in my head which eventually gave way to Indi and the Helheim wolf pack.

 

5      What has your publishing experience been like? 

Disastrous. I once came close to being picked up by an agency, but the pitch was all wrong. Once I shifted my focus to self-publishing, I stumbled and made mistakes, but learned from them, too. I don’t have any regrets going the indie route.

 

6      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I listen to music, although the type of music then dictates the tone of my writing. If I’m writing a love scene, I need softer music. But if there’s death and blood in the scene, the angrier and harder the better.

 

7      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I like to look up the meaning of names for most of my characters although sometimes it’s like they start screaming their names at me even before I’ve started to think about them.

Half Life COVER8      In your most recent work, who is your favorite character and why?

A werewolf named Brax. He’s the protagonist’s best friend, and his loyalty is rock solid. He always puts his boy first even if that means sacrificing something of himself.

 

9. Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

Never underestimate loyalty.

10. How did you/do you market your work?

Through social media (Facebook, Twitter) and my blog.

 

11. Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

 

12. Favorite authors? 

J.R. Ward, Rachel Vincent, Gena Showalter.

13. Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

Always. I usually talk to my brother about it. He starts asking me questions that I’m forced to answer then all the problems I’ve been having suddenly have solutions. A change of music sometimes helps, a walk or even just taking some time away from the computer will help.

 

14. What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Don’t stop writing. Even if you think what you’ve written is terrible—you’ve still written something down which is more than most people who have the same dream will be able to do.

 

15. Are you working on anything new?  If so, can you tell me about it?

Yes, but if I tell you, I would have to kill you J

Leave a Reply

