Marketing Your Book: Advice for Any New Author

Image

Promoting a book is not a small thing.  I didn’t realize how in-depth and time consuming it would be.  From purchasing my own domain to constructing my own website, to creating my own blog and making my book trailer, I’ve learned more about technology in the last two weeks than I have since I purchased my first computer!  Moreover, I’ve learned more about sales and marketing in the last couple of weeks than I ever did in undergraduate economics.  If it weren’t for the book that http://www.BookLocker.com provided to me, I would have had no idea where to even start.

90 Days of Promoting Your Book Online:  Your Book’s Daily Marketing Plan (2012) by Angela Hoy and Richard Hoy is an excellent resource for new authors.  It provides a step by step outline of how to get your book out there and into the hands of your readers.  Luckily, BookLocker helps promote their own authors through their website.  I haven’t yet become a resident of the their website because I’m waiting to do final approvals on my novel, but BookLocker provides your book to all of the major distributors.  This actually takes care of one entire section of their marketing strategies.  I don’t have to worry about posting to Amazon or Apple.  All of that will be taken care of for me.

My latest adventure has been learning to navigate YouTube and Twitter.  The book talks about how important book trailers and social networking can be for a book to find success in the market.  One of the things I liked most about the book was that each day there was an activity.  That is the way I learn.  I like things spelled out and put on a schedule.  Granted, it’s been less than 90 days since I started this journey, but if you are dedicated to marketing your book, you will sail through the daily activities and end up getting things done much faster.

In addition to some of the suggestions made by Angela and Richard, I feel like an author needs to consider their local market.  I have reached out to local libraries (for a possible venue for book signings as well as a place to house my novel), radio stations, newspapers (for possible interviews and features), and local stores (to act as distributors).  I realized after talking to my husband the other night that I’m actually a small business owner now and with that being said, I feel it is extremely important for me to promote other small businesses in my local area.

Because I’m just getting started with reaching out to distributors and local media, I have not yet seen results.  And I am working around a holiday, which isn’t going to yeild many results right away.  I suggest that you give yourself about a week to two weeks and then follow up with the initial inquiries you made.  That’s my plan.

On the other hand, I have heard from one local pharmacy that sells books.  More information about the book was requested as well as the cost of the book.   Hopefully, this inquiry will bring about some business.

The important thing to remember is that the learning curve with marketing and technology can be quickly overcome with the right handbook and the right attitude.  So, thanks to Angela and Richard, I’m about to see if all of the marketing efforts with The Fine Line will pay off.

I'm part of Post A Day 2013

One response to “Marketing Your Book: Advice for Any New Author

  1. I’m impressed of traceeford.wordpress.com , I need to say. Really not often do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you have got hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not sufficient people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very blissful that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for something regarding this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

